India's extremist elements don’t want improved ties with Pakistan: Basit

There can be no doubt about that.

Just to satisfy my curiousity: why did you add the superfluous word 'diplomat' in your elegantly worded post above?
To put you in some thoughts:tup: and you did;)
Btw you think that we each need diplomatic relations? The embassies ( high commission) isn't only for issuing visas.

To put you in some thoughts:tup: and you did;)
Btw you think that we each need diplomatic relations? The embassies ( high commission) isn't only for issuing visas.

Hmm.

Thought is an unfamiliar state of being. Thank you for introducing me to it.

I think we need diplomatic relations, but who am I to speak against the majority of the people posting here?

Pakistan High Commissioner to India Abdul Basit says extremist elements in India were opposed to improvement in their country's ties with Pakistan, Radio Pakistan reported.
Speaking during a television programme, Basit said these extremist elements had disrupted a scheduled meeting between the heads of the Indian and Pakistani cricket boards.
The envoy's statement comes a day after members of India's far-right political group Shiv Sena stormed the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) headquarters just before Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman Shaharyar Khan was to meet with BCCI chief Shashank Manohar to discuss a bilateral series for December this year.
The protesters demanded that Manohar cancel talks with the PCB chairman that were scheduled to take place in Mumbai on Monday.

Also read: Poison runs deep in system

Earlier this month, Shiv Sena activists had also attacked Sudheendra Kulkarni, the organiser of former Pakistani foreign minister Khurshid Mahmud Kasuri's book launch to protest the event which was being held in Mumbai.
Basit, speaking on the programme, also said that Pakistan wished to hold a dialogue with India over a range of issues, including terrorism and Kashmir.
The Pakistani envoy to India also expressed regret over the rise of violence in Maharashtra state, and said the attacks of Hindu extremists on Muslims in India were a cause for concern.

More on this: Now that a prairie fire is lit

In March this year, the state of Maharashtra, where the consumption of beef is banned, made even possessing beef illegal, a move seen by religious minorities as a sign of the growing power of hardline Hindus since Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi came to power.
Tensions fuelled by the beef ban have been on the rise in India despite Modi's call for religious harmony as cows are considered sacred by most Hindus in the country, whose millions of Muslims and other minorities eat beef as a source of protein.
Commentators have warned of an emboldening of Hindu hardliners since Modi came to power, with vigilante gangs increasingly campaigning against Muslims.

India's extremist elements don’t want improved ties with Pakistan: Basit - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

Which Pakistan are they talking about???

Is that the Pakistan of Nawaz Sharif or The Pakistan of Rahil sharif?

thing is they played a game and thought it will be buisness as usual but things went into opposite direction both in long and short term and since they are internalli very weak and unstabkle they are in no position to talk sense ..... ek kamzor insaan apne taqatwar fareek ko gaali dene aur shor machanne ke ilaawa ker bhi kya sakta hai

point is NaMo sarkar has made them very clear

1.that if they want normal working relations they will have to play by indian rules as they have wasted too many initiatives and now no one trust them

2. they are in no postion to impose there rules on us

3. what they are offerring for peace is of no value to us but what they want in return of peace in not on offer

take it or leave it :coffee:

Far too long did previous Govts pussy foot & soft pedal its foreign policy with its immediate neighbour.

This was taken as a norm / weakness.

The assertiveness of the new Govt is rankling to those who are used to being molly cuddled.

They cannot talk to hurriyat when it was told that its not appreciated & hope to get away with it.

Dont we all change our food habits & type of clothing when the weather changes ?

Pak does not want to do so.

There has NEVER EVER been Pakistani/indian brotherhood and there NEVER EVER will be.
thats right as they say friendship and enemosity only can be between equals and there is no equality in any sense between hardworking & progressive people of india and pakistanies :sarcastic:

I don't know who you are, or who your batch was. All I know is that from your own descriptions, you acted like a bunch of apes raiding an orchard.
We were compelled to act as such,otherwise,we had to relocate or go back home.So, in that situation we did what was best and when the dust settled,it was evident to the other side we were more stronger than them and thus later became friends when they understood they will get beaten badly if they continued same antics.

Okay, let me try to understand this Basit character's rantings. The 'peace' between India and Pakistan is threatened by a gang of men who throw ink. But it is not threatened by any of the following:
  • A gang of Pakistanis who sail into Mumbai and carry out a murderous attack on civilians.
  • The master-planner of this Mumbai attack and a UN declared terrorist openly moving around in Pakistan and making threats against India
  • Pakistan's support to an insurgency in an Indian state. Imagine for a moment the Indian envoy to Pakistan meeting 'separatist' leaders in Balochistan and other Pakistani provinces. Its a tribute to Indian tolerance that separatist leaders of Hurriyat are still around - and haven't joined the ranks of the thousands of missing Baloch.
  • Pakistani backed terrorists attacking the Indian parliament, or so many other targets in India.
  • Pakistani army trying to start a war by sheer adventurism in Kargil. Another matter that regular soldiers disguised themselves as terrorists and their army refused to reclaim the dead-bodies.
I don't know what weed this Basit smokes, but it seems like some really strong stuff. I guess this must be the dope that ISI sells to fund its illegal operations in Afghanistan, India and elsewhere.

I dont remember that bullshit; what i do remember was that India constantly talked shit about delcaring war on Pakistan, the first mobilization lead to 2000 Indian soldiers dead trying to reach the border, the second mobilization proved that India could not backup their statements for shit. You guys handed over your balls to us twice and now you are going to repeat your actions.

Just uttering bullshit does not take you anywhere or gain you anything. The thing that 2000 soldiers died en route to the border is jackshit. Typical talk of a brainwashed respectable kid. I give you that. You can only give those empty statements which we Indians will not even care to listen or think about. The ground reality is totally different than what your countrymen have told you. Pakistan's balls were stamped like grapes by the Indian army and India diplomacy four times. You can find many articles and reports from neutral sources. Don't just read and soak on with Pakistani sources alone. Any future conflict will also continue to be the same because of the widening the gap. So stop threatening and start handshaking.

action speak louder than words dear
Well there is a lot of action this side of the border sir.
Just read Indian and neutral news sources too.

Likewise...........those individuals live in a bubble and not in reality. Whether they like it or not, the only brotherhood Pakistanis and Pakistan has is that with China, Turkey, North African Muslims, Jordan, Syria, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Lebanon and Palestinians. In the coming years, Pakistan and india will completely disconnect from each other at all levels. This is good as it reduces the chance of war. Pakistan's future lies with China and the Muslim world.

Completely disconnect...at all levels?? The national language of Pakistan is from today's Bharat. Unfortunately our forefathers did not have the sense of choosing a different national language such as Dari.

It is fast becoming plain and clear that those who have increasing power in Bharati society are no friends to Muslims and other minorites. Even no friends to Hindus who don't share their views. Pakistan will feel the heat even more so but the minorities inside Bharat will feel it worse.

Likewise...........those individuals live in a bubble and not in reality. Whether they like it or not, the only brotherhood Pakistanis and Pakistan has is that with China, Turkey, North African Muslims, Jordan, Syria, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Lebanon and Palestinians. In the coming years, Pakistan and india will completely disconnect from each other at all levels. This is good as it reduces the chance of war. Pakistan's future lies with China and the Muslim world.

To the incurably stupid and pretentious (not you; that was addressed to the wall), it needs pointing out that parts of Pakistan's so-called Northern Territories, occupied Kashmir to an Indian, used to pay tribute to China as recently as the Lahore Durbar's existence. Its inhabitants were enslaved and sold to Chinese entrepreneurs. The successor state to that China suppresses Muslims throughout its territories, but with a special elan and enthusiasm in Xinjiang, the erstwhile Turkestan.