India's Ballistic Missile Interceptor Fail....!

tahir195

Bhubaneswar: India's ballistic missile interceptor failed on its tenth test on Monday, being unable to reach its target, a senior defence official said.

The indigenous Advanced Air Defence (AAD) interceptor missile was fired from Wheeler Island off the coast in Odisha's Bhadrak district, about 170 km from here, but plummeted into the Bay of Bengal seconds after lift-off.

"It took off as planned but did not reach the target. We are analysing the data," test range director MVKV Prasad told IANS.

Developed by the Defence Research and Development Organisation, the AAD missile is 7.5 metres tall and weighs around 1.2 tonnes.

The Monday test was against an electronic target to validate the missile capability. With the latest mission, the DRDO has tested the missile interceptor 10 times with eight of the tests being successful.

The missile had last failed to hit the target missile during a similar test from the same defence base on July 26, 2010.

in 1992 india told Russia "we will develop our own missile with out your help"
Then india start working..
Still working.
ei10rc.png

Failed in 10th test !!not much of a failure.

old news

failure is the key to success.... (specially when you are making it indigenously)

Bhubaneswar: India's ballistic missile interceptor failed on its tenth test on Monday, being unable to reach its target, a senior defence official said.

The indigenous Advanced Air Defence (AAD) interceptor missile was fired from Wheeler Island off the coast in Odisha's Bhadrak district, about 170 km from here, but plummeted into the Bay of Bengal seconds after lift-off.

"It took off as planned but did not reach the target. We are analysing the data," test range director MVKV Prasad told IANS.

Developed by the Defence Research and Development Organisation, the AAD missile is 7.5 metres tall and weighs around 1.2 tonnes.

The Monday test was against an electronic target to validate the missile capability. With the latest mission, the DRDO has tested the missile interceptor 10 times with eight of the tests being successful.

The missile had last failed to hit the target missile during a similar test from the same defence base on July 26, 2010.

Still working.
ei10rc.png
Old news.. India will test again in couple of months..

Still working.
ei10rc.png

That's the beauty of it...you try..you fail...and you try again... till you succeed...But I believe for you guys that not the case... Remember who reached mars in very first attempt....
Bhai wapsi ma 2 kg aluu leta howa ana
briyani ma dalne hai

Still working.
ei10rc.png

Old news.

Still working.
ei10rc.png

So did our PSLV once fail. But it did send a spacecraft to Mars didnt it. Same with GSLV. This interceptor is no different. When Pakistan tries developing something, you will also see that there are failures along the way.

You all love celebrating our failures but hate our success.

Hamare yahan to Biryani main...murge aur bakre hi padte hain... Aloo pehli bar suna hai.
to bhai hum konse kutta aur billi ki banate hai yaha bhi murgi bakri aur gaii ki banti hai bus aluu se maza aur acha ho jata hai kabhi try karna

The Monday test was against an electronic target to validate the missile capability.
Not sure what the 'electronic target' mean. If there is something lost in translation, maybe an Indian can help.

But am willing to guess that it mean the target was EM active, meaning it was sending out a live signal designed to attract attention. This is NOT a bad thing. In fact, it is a valid test configuration. We want to know if the interceptor can acquire a certain degree of EM activity, then either gradually weaken or eliminate it completely to see if the interceptor can acquire the target in its own. I have designed and conducted this kind of testings before.

If the interceptor failed to acquire the EM active target, the interceptor's ability to detect and distinguish said signals maybe at fault. Or perhaps the target's signal was too weak at this stage of testing. Or maybe the interceptor's antenna field of view was too narrow. I can think of several other failure points.