Indian surgeon warns subcontinent to watch out for obesity epidemic

Neo

RETIRED

New Recruit

Indian surgeon warns subcontinent to watch out for obesity epidemic
South East Asia News.Net
Wednesday 28th February, 2007 (ANI)

Karachi, Feb.28 : An Indian surgeon who has been championing the use of bariatric surgery, has warned that the Indian subcontinent faces the problem of an obesity epidemic if corrective steps are not taken immediately.

Addressing the 23rd annual Congress of the Pakistan Society of Gastroenterology and Gastro-Intestinal Endoscopy here, Dr. Pradeep Chowbey said that the number of overweight people in India, 2.1 billion, was equal to the number of underweight people.

"Morbid obesity is the mother of many other ailments such as Type-II diabetes, gall stones, coronary heart disease, hypertension, cancer and arthritis," the Daily Times quoted Chowbey as saying.

According to the World Health Organisation, the number of obese people in developing countries is about 1.15 billion.

The WHO also says in its latest press release, that the number of overweight children has doubled and overweight adolescents have trebled over the last two decades. Recent surveys conducted in schools of Delhi found as much as 30 percent of children to be overweight. Over 70 percent of these children if not treated will grow into obese adults.

Dr. Chowbey also warned that people with morbid obesity don't respond to medicines, can't exercise due to excessive weight and find it difficult to cut their quantity of food, and therefore bariatric surgery is seen as the only viable option for these patients.

Through bariatric surgery, the patient reduces about 8-10 kg every month and can reach a normal weight within 1-2 years with most of the diseases either disappearing or significantly improving, Dr.Chowbey claimed.

There are three types of surgical procedures routinely performed for treating Morbid Obesity: Restrictive - LAGB (Laparoscopic Adjustable Gastric Band), VBG (Vertical Banded Gastroplasty); Combined - Roux-en-Y Gastric Bypass; Malabsorptive - BPD ( Bilio-Pancreatic Diversion ), BPD and DS (Duodenal Switch) and Restrictive with an Adjustable Gastric Band.

The last one is the least invasive procedure possible amongst all bariatric surgeries. It is accomplished by placing a silastic band around the upper part of the stomach to create a tiny stomach pouch. Hence early satiety is attained. The band is adjustable, that is, it can be inflated or deflated with saline via the access port placed subcutaneously and fixed to the rectus sheath. It is preferred in less obese patient.

Chowbey, who is the chairman of the Minimal Access and Bariatric Surgery Centre at the Sir Ganga Ram Hospital, New Delhi, is in the Guinness Book of Records 1997 for performing the maximum number of minimal access surgeries. He was awarded the Padma Shri in 2002.

http://www.southeastasianews.net/story/231015

tell me about it, I am 8 kgs over weight,...and Increasing....****

:rofl: :lol1: There's nothing to tell, ur gonna progress more mate,:D

U need some seriouse dieting and more healthy food thats it. A bit of excercise will be better for you to keep ur self fit, which i think is unlikely to happen.........because i know its hard, everyday i make different kind of commitements to do bit of excercise, but too lazy to say in the end, "not today tommorrow surely"

:rofl: :lol1: There's nothing to tell, ur gonna progress more mate,:D

U need some seriouse dieting and more healthy food thats it. A bit of excercise will be better for you to keep ur self fit, which i think is unlikely to happen.........because i know its hard, everyday i make different kind of commitements to do bit of excercise, but too lazy to say in the end, "not today tommorrow surely"

I think we both are seperated at birth

KARAN- ARJUN bullshit...lol

Bhai, even i have a tatoo on my a s s

im underweight...lol how can i take calories with less sugar food...
no oil,sugar and tension means no cholestrol,diabetes and blood pressure..can some army men give me advice pakistan army is very good at maintaining their solidiers physically...
i heard mushy has blood pressure too...

. . . . .
is the obesity coming from the west to the east?

If ypu mean junk food then yes its definately coming from the west.
But imho our own cusine and eating habbits are equally to blame. Desi food is way to greasy and spicy, specially the dinner which is served late in the evening in Pakistan is hard to digest.

No more idly dosa or dosa massala for you anymore! :lol:

Bhai the problem is not Idly or dosa Masala, but the fact that we now eat three or four as against one or two, and drive around in a car all day,while in the old days the people used to burn it off with hard work. If you had a problem, you died so the average life expectancy was not all that great. It is certainly better than before. So my advice is eat all that is allowed but a little bit less,ie eat to live and not the other way round. If you have some spare time go for a brisk walk.
WaSalam
Araz

Mishraji,

You back in Delhi now??????? Bangalore trip went well for you I hope.

Are, super trip yar!!
I got so ill there that i could not stand in teh bus for 10 mins, i actually had to sit on the floor of the bus because i could not stand.

Aur haan, idli dosa thoda kam khao!
I found that North Indian food is TOOO popular in Bangalore, and that a single roti costs Rs 5 there, everywhere in bangalore...WTF? 5 Rs for a single roti!!

Bangalore is also verry neat and clean, not like Delhi. Its waaayyy too dirty.
But the infrastructure here is the BEST in the country. No comparison there. The amount of roads, flyovers, underpases, the entire shabang.

Bangalore girls, wayy too ugly. The girls from north in Bangalore, wayy too Hot!

Good non veg, avaiable in bangalore, went to some Ali Baba's dhaba for some seriously good chicken rolls, though it was called something different, and it was different from the regular chicken roll.

Transportation, quite good actually, buy a 25 Rs pass and go on any bus for the day. Good for tourists, bad for locals, expensive if you have to buy it daily.