Indian Political Corner | All Updates & Discussions.

@magudi @Echo_419 @Tridibans @rainman @IndoCarib Regarding RTE

One thing UPA can NEVER be forgiven for is implementing RTE!! RTE is an act that instead of helping has the potential to destroy education in India!

Read the act carefully & please follow Reality Check India (@realitycheckind) | Twitter
who tells you what a disaster this act is.

One thing I applaud Raje is the good work she has done to make sure the act won't cause that much damage :) Many people don't realise the good work she is doing ..

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ministry Plans to Strengthen Government Schools, Slash RTE Cost -The New Indian Express
The Union Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) is working on improving government schools in the backdrop of state governments having to reimburse several crores to private schools under the RTE Act.

According to the Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education Act (2009), 25 per cent of the seats in private schools are reserved for students from economically backward sections. While the students admitted under the Act get free education, the state government pays a stipulated amount as reimbursement to the schools.

The ministry has started discussions in this regard following representations made by several states, including Karnataka. Replying to an MLC’s question at the ongoing session, Primary and Secondary Education Minister Kimmane Rathnakar said, “The HRD ministry has formed a committee and three rounds of meetings at high levels have been held. A decision will be out by the first week of January.”

Ministry.JPG

Sources said, along with Karnataka, Rajasthan and Maharashtra have also raised the issue. “We have proposed strengthening of government schools instead of paying crores to private schools in the name of reimbursing RTE fees,” said an official.
[Darmashkian Says:- So Siddaramiah is complaining against the act which his party considers a landmark & an achievement.. interesting]

According to the Primary and Secondary Education Department, ever since the RTE Act was implemented in the state, they have paid `368 crore to private schools towards reimbursement. This amount is expected to double in the coming years.

As per the statement of the minister himself, Karnataka will have to pay `1,200 crore in the coming years. “This will be a financial burden on the state government,” said Rathnakar.

Commenting on the state goverment’s move, educationist V P Niranjanaradya said, “Private schools must not expect money from the government. They must provide 25 per cent seats to RTE students as part of their social responsibility."
[Darmashkian Says:--Better, why don't YOU show some social responsibility & pay for some of those RTE students?? Socialist imbeciles. Many Private schools already don't have enough money & they want the govt. to force them to give free edu. to the poor]

D Shashikumar, General Secretary, Karnataka Associated Management of English Medium Schools said, “Though the state government is giving out reimbursement figures, the schools have not received it properly. Let them strengthen government schools. I feel RTE will face a natural death over the years.” [:lol:]

No Drop in Kerala, Tamil Nadu

The situation in Kerala and Tamil Nadu is not the same as Karnataka, as they state governments focus on filling all the seats in government schools before recommending students to private schools. They also do not insist about students getting admitted in any particular school in the village or area.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

RTE reforms in rajasthan
More drop-outs, less learning with RTE, no-detention – Rajasthan’s changing this: Rajasthan’s chief secretary C S Rajan - TOI Blogs

Rajasthan has created an amended version of crucial provisions within the Right to Education (RTE) Act. Rajasthan’s chief secretary C S Rajan spoke with Pratigyan Dasabout why these were needed, how detaining children in class impacts morale – and whether RTE is about universal access to school or more:

Why did Rajasthan choose an amended RTE?

Well, though RTE Act provides universalisation of education, when it came to quality of education, we found deterioration setting in. Independent studies suggested increases in drop-out rates. Learning levels had started declining too. So, it was felt there’s a requirement not only to give children access to education but also to ensure class-appropriate learning levels. Therefore, we considered an amended version of RTE.

What is a class appropriate learning level?

It’s expected a seven-year-old is entitled to study in class II – however, if the child is not able to cope with the syllabus, the child lags behind. In the policy of non-detaining a student, a child keeps moving up without being able to keep pace with syllabus or peers – this affects morale and psyche. The kid starts falling behind – and ultimately drops out.

There’s been an increase in drop-out rates since RTE came into effect and the policy of no detention set in. In 2012-13, in the primary level, the drop-out rate was 4.72%. In 2014-15, it went up to 8.40%. In upper primary, the drop-out rate in 2012-13 was 2.01% – in 2014-15 it’s around 6.05%.

What are you changing?

We’ve brought several amendments. These rise from RTE Act’s philosophy. This envisages continuous and comprehensive evaluation – but mechanisms weren’t in place. Therefore, we found inadequate evaluation. Besides, no-detention led to many children not attaining minimum levels of appropriate class learning.

So, we took amendments like casting responsibility on state government to ensure achievement of class appropriate learning level by every child from six to 14 years. Secondly, we made amendments for laying down curricula for class appropriate learning and evaluation. The third was casting responsibility on teachers for the first time to assess children’s learning ability. The fourth empowered school management committees, again for the first time, to ensure that teachers perform their duties.

We brought an amendment on detention policy too – children will not be promoted to higher classes unless they acquire class appropriate learning levels now.

Critics feel rolling back nodetention policy damages the fundamental right to education.

I totally disagree. I think the fundamental right to education doesn’t include only access or completion of education – it also includes fundamental right to learning. It’s not just the right to join school and complete schooling. We’d be diluting RTE’s objectives if we take a very limited view that the Act only provides universalisation of education, irrespective of quality.

What’s the point of promoting a child till class VIII after which he flunks? We might harm a child because if not assessed properly, the child may flunk the board exam – then, it would be back to square one.

Wouldn’t we rather have continuous, comprehensive evaluations, where deficiencies are rectified – and emphasis given to quality education?

DISCLAIMER : Views expressed above are the author's own.

Rajastan bypasses RTE Act, exam to clear Class VIII now mandatory - The Times of India

He is a brand ambassador for the "athithi devo bhava" campaign too... how ironic -_-

How about a open letter to Irani

Won't work, the ignorant, socialist,imbecilc Indian on ground will oppose it because this act is supposed to be "pro-poor".

No matter how much we tell him/her how bad this act is, it is pro-poo & that is what matters to him. Also most Indians see school as the key to college & then to money. People go to school & college to get good marks to get good spouses & money for their families & not for learning which should be the actual aim.

The less said about our "intellectuals" the better.

The same way reservation can't be removed, the exact same way this act can't be removed.. because the people won't allow it too.

Thanks to all our netas for voting this into power & thanks to every [ignorant] Indian who out there who thinks this act is good for India & supports it & will violently oppose removing it.

@The Huskar Assami vs Bahari repeating in Assam??

@magudi @Echo_419 @Tridibans @rainman @IndoCarib Regarding RTE

One thing UPA can NEVER be forgiven for is implementing RTE!! RTE is an act that instead of helping has the potential to destroy education in India!

Read the act carefully & please follow Reality Check India (@realitycheckind) | Twitter
who tells you what a disaster this act is.

One thing I applaud Raje is the good work she has done to make sure the act won't cause that much damage :) Many people don't realise the good work she is doing ..

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ministry Plans to Strengthen Government Schools, Slash RTE Cost -The New Indian Express
The Union Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) is working on improving government schools in the backdrop of state governments having to reimburse several crores to private schools under the RTE Act.

According to the Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education Act (2009), 25 per cent of the seats in private schools are reserved for students from economically backward sections. While the students admitted under the Act get free education, the state government pays a stipulated amount as reimbursement to the schools.

The ministry has started discussions in this regard following representations made by several states, including Karnataka. Replying to an MLC’s question at the ongoing session, Primary and Secondary Education Minister Kimmane Rathnakar said, “The HRD ministry has formed a committee and three rounds of meetings at high levels have been held. A decision will be out by the first week of January.”

Ministry.JPG

Sources said, along with Karnataka, Rajasthan and Maharashtra have also raised the issue. “We have proposed strengthening of government schools instead of paying crores to private schools in the name of reimbursing RTE fees,” said an official.
[Darmashkian Says:- So Siddaramiah is complaining against the act which his party considers a landmark & an achievement.. interesting]

According to the Primary and Secondary Education Department, ever since the RTE Act was implemented in the state, they have paid `368 crore to private schools towards reimbursement. This amount is expected to double in the coming years.

As per the statement of the minister himself, Karnataka will have to pay `1,200 crore in the coming years. “This will be a financial burden on the state government,” said Rathnakar.

Commenting on the state goverment’s move, educationist V P Niranjanaradya said, “Private schools must not expect money from the government. They must provide 25 per cent seats to RTE students as part of their social responsibility."
[Darmashkian Says:--Better, why don't YOU show some social responsibility & pay for some of those RTE students?? Socialist imbeciles. Many Private schools already don't have enough money & they want the govt. to force them to give free edu. to the poor]

D Shashikumar, General Secretary, Karnataka Associated Management of English Medium Schools said, “Though the state government is giving out reimbursement figures, the schools have not received it properly. Let them strengthen government schools. I feel RTE will face a natural death over the years.” [:lol:]

No Drop in Kerala, Tamil Nadu

The situation in Kerala and Tamil Nadu is not the same as Karnataka, as they state governments focus on filling all the seats in government schools before recommending students to private schools. They also do not insist about students getting admitted in any particular school in the village or area.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

RTE reforms in rajasthan
More drop-outs, less learning with RTE, no-detention – Rajasthan’s changing this: Rajasthan’s chief secretary C S Rajan - TOI Blogs

Rajasthan has created an amended version of crucial provisions within the Right to Education (RTE) Act. Rajasthan’s chief secretary C S Rajan spoke with Pratigyan Dasabout why these were needed, how detaining children in class impacts morale – and whether RTE is about universal access to school or more:

Why did Rajasthan choose an amended RTE?

Well, though RTE Act provides universalisation of education, when it came to quality of education, we found deterioration setting in. Independent studies suggested increases in drop-out rates. Learning levels had started declining too. So, it was felt there’s a requirement not only to give children access to education but also to ensure class-appropriate learning levels. Therefore, we considered an amended version of RTE.

What is a class appropriate learning level?

It’s expected a seven-year-old is entitled to study in class II – however, if the child is not able to cope with the syllabus, the child lags behind. In the policy of non-detaining a student, a child keeps moving up without being able to keep pace with syllabus or peers – this affects morale and psyche. The kid starts falling behind – and ultimately drops out.

There’s been an increase in drop-out rates since RTE came into effect and the policy of no detention set in. In 2012-13, in the primary level, the drop-out rate was 4.72%. In 2014-15, it went up to 8.40%. In upper primary, the drop-out rate in 2012-13 was 2.01% – in 2014-15 it’s around 6.05%.

What are you changing?

We’ve brought several amendments. These rise from RTE Act’s philosophy. This envisages continuous and comprehensive evaluation – but mechanisms weren’t in place. Therefore, we found inadequate evaluation. Besides, no-detention led to many children not attaining minimum levels of appropriate class learning.

So, we took amendments like casting responsibility on state government to ensure achievement of class appropriate learning level by every child from six to 14 years. Secondly, we made amendments for laying down curricula for class appropriate learning and evaluation. The third was casting responsibility on teachers for the first time to assess children’s learning ability. The fourth empowered school management committees, again for the first time, to ensure that teachers perform their duties.

We brought an amendment on detention policy too – children will not be promoted to higher classes unless they acquire class appropriate learning levels now.

Critics feel rolling back nodetention policy damages the fundamental right to education.

I totally disagree. I think the fundamental right to education doesn’t include only access or completion of education – it also includes fundamental right to learning. It’s not just the right to join school and complete schooling. We’d be diluting RTE’s objectives if we take a very limited view that the Act only provides universalisation of education, irrespective of quality.

What’s the point of promoting a child till class VIII after which he flunks? We might harm a child because if not assessed properly, the child may flunk the board exam – then, it would be back to square one.

Wouldn’t we rather have continuous, comprehensive evaluations, where deficiencies are rectified – and emphasis given to quality education?

DISCLAIMER : Views expressed above are the author's own.

Rajastan bypasses RTE Act, exam to clear Class VIII now mandatory - The Times of India

He is a brand ambassador for the "athithi devo bhava" campaign too... how ironic -_-

I have come across many right wingers (let alone intellectuals) who go on and on about how impotent Irani's tenure has been and how lacklustre she is been.... But tell me one thing, how can she change a 60 years old communist/ pseudo-secular legacy in 1 year? Even with no sup[port from any eminent intellectuals/ thinkers, etc she is doing her best. In fact, she has reduced nepotism, sifarishi culture in India's educasion system by many folds.

Have I spoken against Irani??
I know she has done some work, but I feel she can & should do much,much better. HRD ministry shouldn't have been given to someone so young. I & B would have been more appropriate given her combative nature

Can you provide sources on the bolded part, please??

@magudi can discuss her work with you further. He too opposes her.

Have I spoken against Irani??
I know she has done some work, but I feel she can & should do much,much better. HRD ministry shouldn't have been given to someone so young. I & B would have been more appropriate given her combative nature

Can you provide sources on the bolded part, please??

@magudi can discuss her work with you further. He too opposes her.

Even I do. But not because she is not working/ Lax or anything. Tell me frankly.... you really expect the 60 years rot to go away that easily?

PS: Will post the links when I get home. At office now... so posting from mobile

Even I do. But not because she is not working/ Lax or anything. Tell me frankly.... you really expect the 60 years rot to go away that easily?

PS: Will post the links when I get home. At office now... so posting from mobile

One example: In Central public schools (KVs and other universities recieving grants..... Do you guys know there are quotas for almost all kinds of poverty stricken/children of defence personnel (martyred or injured)/ extraordinary meritorious from backward classes etc? All these quotas are a mere 2-3 % as compared tpo 29-30% based simply on castes. For the past 1 year, the admissions under the earlier quota almost always exhaust and is utilised fully.

Till 2014, this quota used remain vacant mostly and was later used by netas/ babus/ politicians to give at their discretion. Since 2014, almost all the recommendations for filling vacancies under these quotas has come directly from HRD ministry unlike earlier when it was mostly local level with HRD authorisation. So whats the big deal? Any recommendation from HRD is well documented and strict guidelines have to be followed:

1) This decreases fraud almost entirely
2) All the admissions are centralised and can be reviewed in its entirety by the ministry
3) Reduces local level interference

The recent BIHAR Elections have shown one thing: EDUCATION IS NOT EVERYTHING IN LIFE.
A Look at the Bihar CABINET and the EDUCATIONAL QUALIFICATIONS of the MINISTERS.......

4) Abdul Bari Siddiqui - FINANCE - (Twelfth)

10) Ashok Choudhary - EDUCATION & IT ("TENTH" Std)

15) Abdul Jaleel Masthaan - Programme Implementation - (Eighth Std)

20) Jaykumar singh - Industries And Science and Technology - (Tenth Std
)✈⚓

HAIL DEMO CRAZY

Finance is under a 12th class person.
When it usually requires someone who is experienced & knows something about finance.[Of course exceptions exist for the very smart or the unique who I doubt are allowed in the RJD, ]
Education & IT is under a person
who hasn't even completed his education. Can he write down the full form of IT?
8th Standard guy will be responsible for overseeing program & scheme implementation of this govt.
Won't comment.
Industry,Science & Technology will be handled by a Tenth pass.
My head is aching.... By the way are there any Science & Technology institutes in Bihar?

Brilliant.
Biharis better start learning languages other than their mother-tongue if they wish to come & work in our states

I don't expect the rot to go away so easily.. which is why I expect someone more capable & experienced.
We don't just need someone who is honest & works towards transparency. but someone who has domain knowledge & expertise+a good idea of policy & how it works & how to change it.

Smriti is good & has potential, but she should have been assigned elsewhere for starters. I feel she is too young & lacks experience in the domain & as a minister.
--
& if you are typing from office, I recommend that you log out now before anyone sees you.

It seems that the BJP has a good chance at expanding in Manipur in the future.
---------------------------------------------------------------
Manipur Election Results:-
BJP opens account in Manipur assembly - The Morung Express | The Morung Express
BJP nominee Thongam Biswajit got a total of 14,605 votes defeating his closest ruling Congress candidate and former minister Bijoy Koijam who secured 11,393. Manipur Democratic People’s Front (MDPF) candidate Dr Gurumayum Tonsana Sharma managed to get only 54 votes.

In Thangmeiband, BJP candidate Khukmucham Joykishan won the seat securing 12,104 votes while INC nominee Jyotin Waikhom got 10,197. MDPF fielded Dr Gurumayum Tonsana Sharma as party’s candidate in both the constituencies. He secured only 55 votes in the constituency.

Cong retains seat in Mizoram, loses in Meghalaya

Surprise BJP win in Manipur bypolls may spur more Congress defections | The Indian Express

Surprise BJP win in Manipur bypolls may spur more Congress defections
What is likely to happen over the next year before the 2017 elections is the defection of Congress leaders to the BJP – as has happened in Assam.

Despite the commonly known fact that the BJP in Manipur has been growing slowly and steadily in numbers since the last Lok Sabha elections, Tuesday’s results in assembly by-elections that saw the party capture both seats that went to the polls– that is Thangmeiband in the heart of Imphal city and Thongju – have caught many by surprise. Analysts believe that if this trend continues then the stage is set for a BJP victory in the assembly elections due in Manipur in 2017.

While the elections by themselves were not meant to be significant, the results are telling. Elections in Manipur, as is the case in many of the states in the north east, are more often than not based on money than on ideology. The north-eastern states have been known in the past to vote into power whichever party is in power at the Centre. The idea is that if the ruling party in the state is the same as the ruling party in New Delhi, then it becomes easier for the state to receive monetary benefits.

Having said this, the Manipur state BJP has been riddled with a number of issues – allegations of corruption hurled at the senior BJP leaders by various civil society organisations, internal strife and the lack of strong popular leaders. So the results have come as a shock to many, especially the ruling Manipur Congress. Congress insiders say that the Congress party in Manipur, like its rival BJP, is also a victim of internal strife amongst its leaders. With the incumbent chief minister and the Congress’s strongest leader Okram Ibobi Singh suffering from ill health for some time now, it is uncertain whether he will contest the next elections. In case he doesn’t contest, it’ll leave the
Congress virtually rudderless.

What is likely to happen over the next year before the 2017 elections is the defection of Congress leaders to the BJP – as has happened in Assam. While a number of Congress leaders have already shifted, these defections have so far been restricted to disgruntled leaders who were not given tickets in the last election. This time, it is believed that even leaders with victories tucked under the belts, and sitting MLAs will start to move out of the party unless the Congress is able to resolve its internal issues quickly.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
90 Percent Turnout Recorded in Manipur Bye-Election » Northeast Today

Shekhar Gupta: Narendra Modi - candidate to PM

Why the prime minister's legacy will depend on how he governs, not the number of state elections he fights as personality contests

Shekhar Gupta

shekhar-gupta.jpg

Clear election verdicts push political analysts into over-simplification. Many of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s detractors, for example, are now extrapolating the Bihar verdict on the national mood, arguing that the magic of 2014 is over. This was said most succinctly this week to me by a senior leader of Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress who compared Mr Modi, at the end of 2015, with the then West Bengal Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee by 2008. He won a big mandate for industrialisation in 2006, said my interlocutor, and started believing that he could change the manner, style and ideological direction of his party. By 2008, the ideologues, in his party and to the Left of it, had struck back and he was a lame duck. This is what has happened to Mr Modi now, his story is over, he said.

The fact is, even if it is his personal view, he is not in a minority of one. This is the buzz among liberal intellectuals, the Congress party, and definitely among the small group of Modi-haters within the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). I would like to submit, however, that this is hasty and wishful.

The story that is over is Narendra Modi as an all-conquering political Chakravartin with his Aswamedha horse ticking off one state after another. But Mr Modi as the pre-eminent national leader is still intact, because Rahul Gandhi’s stature has not grown since 2014, it is very early days for Nitish Kumar who has to first find a modus vivendi with his youthful Yadav deputy. And though his critics lampoon him for his foreign visits as empty grandstanding, the fact is that it is helping enhance Mr Modi’s stature as a pan-national leader. It doesn’t cut much ice with the young Bihari voter who has an easy choice between Nitish Kumar and some unknown nobody, but at a time when nearly 250 million Indians (mostly young) are on Facebook, Mark Zuckerburg hugging Mr Modi at his headquarters has a great image rub-off. In a national election, Mr Modi would still come back with a majority.

That contradiction, of his party continuing to suffer humiliating defeats in state elections despite his leading the campaigns, and his still being a winner at the national level, is easy to explain. If he were to contest a national election, it would be a presidential-style contest. The choice for voters will be between Mr Modi, and either Rahul Gandhi or somebody as yet unknown. That choice will be easily made. At a national level, Brand Modi is still intact, though it is beginning to get frayed. There is no guarantee therefore that it will remain a market leader until 2019.

Why the fraying? First, as any marketer would tell you, the biggest danger to a brand comes from over-exposure. Speaking to big audiences overseas, in India as on Independence Day, or while launching major projects, is useful as it isn’t adversarial. But Mr Modi is erring by campaigning for each state as if his government and party’s future – and his izzat – depended on it. He is doing it without assessing his party’s real prospects. And he can’t expect his party to tell him that. For the BJP now, he is becoming what the Gandhis were to the Congress: a ticket to power.

It was one thing for the Congress to build its politics around one leader or family because it had no culture of letting others grow. But the BJP grew because it produced a team of national and state leaders. Even when the Atal Bihari Vajpayee-Lal Krishna Advani duo dominated it, there was a strong second line. Mr Vajpayee was the most persuasive campaigner; Mr Advani had a following and a mind of his own. Some tension over method, policy and ideology persisted between them and it was healthy for a party with much greater internal democracy than its rivals, particularly the Congress. The credit for victory or blame for defeat was also more widely shared. Today, the Narendra Modi-Amit Shah buddy-pair is different. The older two were equals; now, one is a leader and the other the lieutenant. Mr Advani used tougher, combative language while Mr Vajpayee took the high moral ground. Now Mr Modi is being made to charge like a one-man cavalry regiment and can’t be spared the blame for defeat. This is undermining Mr Modi’s aura and making him look beatable.

No prime minister wants this happening early in only his second year. This is the beginning of the “business” phase for elected governments. Most of the real work is done between year two, when the new government has settled down, and four, when it gets into election mode again. But the truth also is that Mr Modi is doing this to himself, by being constantly in this angry, forbidding, campaign mode. The method worked in 2014, when he needed to present a tough, aggressive counter to an electorate fed up of the United Progressive Alliance’s waffling and its prime minister’s lack of visibility. It has become a liability for him as prime minister. In a federalised India, the central government needs a working partnership with chief ministers. It will be wonderful for the ruling party at the Centre to have its own chief ministers all over the country. But if people won’t oblige, you cannot start treating their chief ministerial choices as hostile. Or worse, as friends of Pakistan. That is not prime ministerial.

Mr Modi hasn’t yet got rid of his campaigning mindset or the prickly defensiveness of Gujarat in response to what he saw as a ganging up of diverse forces, from political to civil society, against him. That issue was over in 2014. He was elected by a large number of India’s disillusioned youth who believed his promise of growth, development, jobs. He wasn’t elected to conquer the rest of the country for his party. He won’t be assessed in 2019 on the basis of how many new states he won or lost. He owes it to his voters now to focus back on governance, engaging and talking in Parliament instead of merely being seen talking overseas, or election campaigns.