Indian intelligence tried to influence Canada’s politicians with money, disinformation: report

pak-marine

Indian intelligence tried to influence Canada’s politicians with money, disinformation: report
Dawn.comApril 18, 2020

5e9abac386e93.jpg

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi (R) extends his hand for a handshake with his Canadian counterpart Justin Trudeau during a photo opportunity ahead of their meeting at Hyderabad House in New Delhi, India, February 23, 2018. – Reuters Photo
India used money and disinformation to secretly influence Canadian politicians into supporting its interests overseas, according a report published by the news arm of Canadian broadcaster Global Television Network.

The report, which has been based on federal court proceedings and a highly sensitive government document obtained by Global News, claims Canadian authorities suspect India's premier intelligence agencies – The Research and Analysis Wing (RAW) and Intelligence Bureau (IB) – of running an underground operation since 2009, allegedly to influence Canada's politicians.

The report claims Canadian intelligence authorities suspect Indian agencies of trying to use the chief editor of an unnamed Indian publication for this purpose. It adds that the wife and kids of that editor are Canadian nationals and a secret security investigation against him began when he applied to immigrate to Canada.

Details of alleged Indian involvement were first revealed in a Canadian federal court, where Canadian authorities have accused the said editor – referred to as AB in the document seen by Global News – of espionage.

The report claims that the accused Indian national allegedly met Indian intelligence officials more than two dozens times over a period of six years.

Among the allegations brought on against him by Canadian authorities, one of his assigned tasks was “to convince politicians that funding from Canada was being sent to Pakistan to support terrorism.”

“You stated that you were tasked by RAW to covertly influence Canadian government representatives and agencies on behalf of the Indian government,” read a letter sent to him by an immigration official, seen by Global News.

“You stated that you were told to identify random Caucasian politicians and attempt to direct them into supporting issues that impacted India,” the letter continued.

“You stated that the guidance from RAW included that you were to provide financial assistance and propaganda material to politicians in order to exert influence over them.”

Denying allegations he was working for Indian intelligence to influence Canadian politicians, the accused claimed he only met the officials in his capacity as an editor, the report said.

But according to court documents seen by Global News, the man did acknowledge that he was asked by Indian intelligence agencies to “perform various functions” as an “unofficial lobbyist or diplomat” even as he claimed he had refused to work for them.

The report claims Canadian intelligence authorities suspect Indian agencies of trying to use the chief editor of an unnamed Indian publication for this purpose.

Key word here "suspect". Nothing to see here... move on

I am sure Canadian intelligence is far more capable to keep an eye on what is happening inside their country. They do not need India's help.

If Canadian intelligence agency confirms the allegations then two deductions follows :

1. Indian RaW has capabilities which it should have.

2. Canadian Politians are no better than their sub-continent counterparts.

The report claims Canadian intelligence authorities suspect Indian agencies of trying to use the chief editor of an unnamed Indian publication for this purpose.

Abey! Canadian Security agencies already make allow this newj to let you guys know, we are different than Mossad.

Angrezi nahin aati to Urdu mein boley bhai. Kyun itna zor laga raha hai.

Kuch samajh nahin aaya kya bola.

It is a naked violation of a sovereign nation's sovereignty. It shouldn't be taken lightly and there should be retaliation against this gross violation of geneva conventions.

Angrezi nahin aati to Urdu mein boley bhai. Kyun itna zor laga raha hai.

Kuch samajh nahin aaya kya bola.
Abey Ghandi, Kei pachwar mein ag kiyun Lagi ahe . Burnol chai hei Kiya
This is not a new case that RAW was not involved in Canada to keep eye on peacful 2020 khalestan movement. Look at your dirty plan report , you bombed your own people in your own aircraft just to blame Pakistan involvment with Sikh community .

https://www.theglobeandmail.com/new...lleged-in-air-india-bomb-plot/article1016717/

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CRECB-2005-pt4/html/CRECB-2005-pt4-Pg5423-4.htm

Or read this book to remind your dirty history , how raw was operative in Canada
https://books.google.ca/books?id=4n...l surinder malik deported from canada&f=false

One more info please pass to RAW . Next PM of Canada may become from Sikh community and will be strong bondness between khalestan and Pakistan realtio ship
We will beat your nexus of raw and Mossad here in Canada

What do you mean nothing to see here? This isn't the first time, and it's no secret that India has bitter animosity towards Ottawa, because of the big Sikh population in Canada that supports Sikh independence, which Canada supposedly tolerates.

((Multiculturlalism)) always has dual loyalties which is why its such a failed concept

Wow - Gangu Brahmins and their dirty tricks.

They can't even hold India together, and trying to influence Canada. :o:

India is following Israeli model. They have very strong lobby in United States too. Sites like national interests etc are recieving indirect pay from India. After recent occupied Kashmir move they paid tons to improve their image and paint Kashmiris with terrorism brush. India got very very lucky after American War in Afghanistan. While pakistan economy and security was shattered, India used that opportunity to paint Pakistan and Kashmir as terrorists.