Indian Independance Day Preparations

Army To Lead India's 65th I-Day Celebrations

1S2W0232.JPG

From An MoD Statement: This year, India's Independence Day celebrations will be coordinated by the Army. The Guard of Honour tomorrow will be commanded by Lt Col N Seshagiri Rao of the Madras Regiment. The Army contingent will be commanded by Captain Ashwani Kumar Jha, Naval Contingent by Lt Cdr Vikram Singh, Air Force contingent by Sq Ldr Y Ananth Narayan and the Delhi Police contingent by ACP Rajnish Garg.

The Army contingent for PM’s Guard is drawn from the 28th Battalion of the Madras Regiment. The battalion was raised on 01 July 1976 Guava Hill near Wellington (Ooty) and has completed 35 glorious years of service. It has served with distinction in all kinds of operational environment including high altitude, Line of Control and counter insurgency/terrorism operations. The unit was awarded the General Officer Commanding-in-Chief, Northern Command, Unit Appreciation for its commendable performance in Op RAKSHAK and Op VIJAY (J&K) during 1998-99.

In 35 years, personnel of the unit have been awarded one Vir Chakra, one AVSM, three Shaurya Chakras, 15 Sena Medals and three Vishist Seva Medals. The Battalion has arrived in New Delhi after a very successful deployment on the Line of Control in the Rajouri Sector of J&K and is responsible for conducting various ceremonial duties at the Rashtrapati Bhawan, India Gate, Red Fort and other important ceremonial functions organized by HQ Delhi Area.

After inspecting the Guard of Honour tomorrow morning, the Prime Minister will proceed to the ramparts of the Red Fort where he will be greeted by Defence Minister, Minister of State for Defence, Chief of Army Staff General VK Singh, Chief of Naval Staff Admiral Nirmal Verma and Chief of Air Staff Air Chief Marshal NAK Browne. The GOC Delhi area will conduct the Prime Minister to the dais to unfurl the National Flag. The unfurling of the tri-colour will synchronize with the 21 Gun Salute fired by the valiant gunners of the elite 299 Field Regiment. The ceremonial battery will be commanded by Maj Vijay Kumar Shah and the Gun Position Officer will be Sub (AIG) Gurappadu R.

The Army contingent for the National Flag Guard is from the 2nd Battalion of the Rajput Regiment. Raised on November 30, 1798 at Badgaon, the Battalion designation has been changed eight times since its inception. Now known as the 2nd Battalion of the Rajput Regiment (Kalichindi), it has bagged nine battle honours and one theatre honour and has taken part in 1947, 1962 and 1971 operations, where its officers and men have exhibited extraordinary courage and valour. The battalion has been awarded with one Mahaveer Chakra, ten Vir Chakra, three Sena Medal (Gallantry), two Param Vishist Sewa Medal, two Ati Vishist Sewa Medal, one Yudh Seva Medal, two Vishist Seva Medal and eleven Sena Medal. The Battalion has the honour of having served in Sudan as part of the United Nation Peace Keeping Mission during 2007-08. The 2nd Battalion, Rajput Regiment also has the privilege of having given us the present Chief of Army Staff General VK Singh, who is also the Colonel of the Rajput Regiment.

I have taken part in this ceremony when i was in NCC air wing... but the bad thing is we had to reach there at 4 am and remain their till 2 pm in sun. The worst thing is the refreshment( milk and fruit and smosa ) allotted to children was consumed by the officers itself and till 2 PM we had to remain without water and any eatables. and the best thing was there used to be many girls :P . No offences. Those who used to come late were asked to load the cannons during anthem.

Defence Minister’s Message to the Armed Forces on the Eve of Independence Day

“Tomorrow, we will be celebrating our 65th Independence Day. I extend my heartiest congratulations and best wishes to all the members of our Armed Forces – uniformed and civilian. On this occasion, I pay my tributes to all the martyrs who gave the supreme sacrifice for the nation.

Our Armed Forces guard our land, sea and air borders. They perform their duties living away from their families, braving inclement weather and other challenges.

I have visited the frontiers in the North-East, Jammu & Kashmir, seen the preparation in the desert and other areas. On these visits, I have come to know about the challenges that troops have to face. Keeping such challenges in mind, the Government has taken several steps to improve the facilities. An improvement in the quantity and the quality of rations, clothing and equipment has been brought about. Till now, our JCO brethren used to be given fruits three days in a week. We have now issued instructions to ensure that the quantity and quality of fruits being given to officers and Jawans is now the same. The Government is committed to the all-round welfare of our jawans and will continue to provide them the best facilities and living conditions, especially for those living in inhospitable and difficult conditions.

Along with this, we have issued instructions to accelerate work on Married Accommodation Project. Looking at the high altitudes where deployment is required, insulated shelters are being constructed at some places.

Our Government wants all-round development of the defence forces and Jawans. But we need help and cooperation from all of you. Recently, a few corruption related cases have come to light. This has created a poor image and a somewhat negative impact on the image of our Armed Forces in the public eye. Today, I want to say to all of you that it is the responsibility of each one of you to do your work with complete devotion, fairness, honesty and truthfulness. All of you have to keep the trust placed by the people of the nation in our Armed Forces.

We have taken several steps for the welfare of our ex-servicemen. 199 new polyclinics and 15 new regional health centres have been started to provide better health care facilities to ex-servicemen. Besides, a pilot online automation scheme has been started to address pension related problems.

Whereas on the one hand, bravery is required to deal with terrorists, at the same time, our Armed Forces must perform their duties with utmost caution. Armed Forces personnel must take special care of human rights in Jammu and Kashmir and North-east and other places.

The modernization of our Armed Forces has always been on the top of our priority. We will continue to provide our Armed Forces with the latest and the most modern weapon systems and equipment to help them discharge their duties and rank among the best fighting forces in the world.

We have taken some steps to increase the capacity of our Armed Forces. A new Officers Training Academy (O.T.A) has been set up at Gaya. Similarly, an Indian Coast Guard Academy has been set up at Azzhikkal in Kerala. We hope that in the years to come, this will lead to some increase in the number of officers in the Armed Forces.

Ex-servicemen constitute an important component of our Armed Forces. Recently, I have appealed to all the states to provide more employment opportunities to ex-servicemen at all levels.

Our Armed Forces provide assistance not only within the country, but also to other countries. In recent years, relief material was sent to Sri Lanka and to Kyrgyzstan. Our Armed Forces received widespread praise for these efforts.

The Armed Forces personnel have also performed admirably in the sporting arena. Our defence forces did the nation proud at the XIX Commonwealth Games in Delhi in 2010. We awarded Rs. 12 lakh to every gold medal winner, Rs. 7 lakh to silver medal winner and Rs. 5 lakh to bronze medal winner.

Similarly, by unfurling the national flag atop Mt. Everest, three women of our Armed Forces proved that they are in no way inferior to men in any manner. We will try our best to open up more and more avenues for women in Armed Forces to provide them more opportunities.

In the end, I once again congratulate all of you on the 65th Independence Day. I am confident that our Armed Forces will leave nothing to chance in defending our land, air and sea borders. Your vigil on the borders and commitment to the nation will enhance the prestige of the Forces and do the nation proud.”
Press Information Bureau English Releases

WOW Amazing I am proud to be an Indian. Dil Diya Hai Jaan Bhi Denge Ae Watan Tere Liye. Jai Hind.

indian.jpg

I salute all martyrs and remember them on the eve of 65 Independence day.
Lets all work hard to make India an economic power.
Happy Independence Day-Jai Hind
Almost five hours left for celebrations to begin!:)

i have a question regarding indian independence, why did Pakistan get their independence one day before India?

Independence was granted by the British at midnight on 15 August 1947 although Pakistan officially announced it on 14th August 1947. It is so I believe. Is debatable.

so both countries got their independence the same day?

and one more question, what is that brown house tingie that you show on almost every photo?

so both countries got their independence the same day?

and one more question, what is that brown house tingie that you show on almost every photo?

I am not sure if you are referring to Red Fort?It was taken over by the Indian Army in 1947. This is from where Prime Minister Address the nation on August 15th Every year.