Indian high cast students refuse to eat food cooked by low cast Hindus

in papers even cast system is abolished but in reality it prevails so as Bonded labour.

according to the report by National Human Rights Commission (inida) in January 2011, the bonded labour still prevails in India and the organisation had registered over 2,000 related cases so far.
Nope doesn't exist.give me the full report in particular

---------- Post added at 10:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:27 PM ----------

in pdf format.

Bonded labour – no end in sight

ISLAMABAD - Despite having relevant laws against the bonded labour, their implementation still seems a distant dream because of the Law Ministry's apathy. There are thousands of workers who face exploitation at the hands of those who subject them to forced and underpaid labour. Yasin, who is in his 40s and is a father of three, is one typical example of a bonded labour victim. Hailing from Faisalabad Yasin along with his family toiled for minimum or no wages for five years at a brick-kiln in Rawalpindi. For the first two years, he said, the bonded labourers at the kiln were given wages but then the owner stopped paying and made them work almost for 24 hours a day without a break.
Being lucky Yasin along with five other bonded labourers and their families managed to escape the kiln."The labourers who tried to resist forced labour would be made to suffer as their wives and children would be locked in a room and brutally tortured," said Yasin while requesting anonymity of his 'employer'. Yasin also shared his story with the representatives of an NGO, Society for the Protection of the Rights of the Child (SPARC).The forced labourers seems have been affecting generation of workers as Mian Khan, father of Yasin, died two years ago while undergoing the forced labour at the brick kiln where he contracted Hepatitis C.
Yasin a father of three, Liaquat 10, Nadeem 7 and Asma aged 4, said that he would be physically abused by the brick kiln. Some of the Yasin's relatives still remain in the illegal detention of the brick kiln owner. Talking about the anti-bonded labour laws, Maheen, a SPARC representative said the Constitution of Pakistan in Article 11 forbade slavery and forced labour and a Supreme Court decision too declared such system as unconstitutional and the Parliament had also passed the Bonded Labour System (Abolition) Act 1992. But despite these laws the illegal practise goes on.

Bonded labour - no end in sight | Pakistan Today | Latest news, Breaking news, Pakistan News, World news, business, sport and multimedia

just a question....how many "high class" kids go to primary schools run by govt with facility for mid day meals......the mid day meals scheme is there only in govt run schools as an incentive for poor children who come to study...i.e it is an incentive the govt provides so that the parents send their children to school instead of forcing them to work...... so in that case how many high class people do you expect to study in such schools?

Since you are an Indian hence you must be answering that question and not questioning others. so

can you give us statistics

1. How many high cast students are enrolled in state run schools ?

2. How many low cast students are there in these schools ?

as far as this particular case in the thread the Indian media said half or more half of the students in that school are from upper class hindu families

Since you are an Indian hence you must be answering that question and not questioning others. so

can you give us statistics

1. How many high cast students are enrolled in state run schools ?

2. How many low cast students are there in these schools ?

as far as this particular case in the thread the Indian media said half or more half of the students in that school are from upper class hindu families

Firstly kids are not enrolled in schools on basis of caste in India so it is difficult to assertain the figures ... The castism is only in the minds of the people so you can only have an assumption...

The caste system is slowly buy surely eroding and in few decades will automatically be non relevant in emerging India ... ground situation indicates so.

This problem cannot be sorted out like a mission but will sort out itself with time and literacy and education.. and as generation by generation passes by the castism will get depleted ...

Is the mid day meal scheme is for the entire school or just limited to the the under privileged kids.

Firstly kids are not enrolled in schools on basis of caste in India so it is difficult to assertain the figures ... The castism is only in the minds of the people so you can only have an assumption...

The caste system is slowly buy surely eroding and in few decades will automatically be non relevant in emerging India ... ground situation indicates so.

This problem cannot be sorted out like a mission but will sort out itself with time and literacy and education.. and as generation by generation passes by the castism will get depleted ...

1. Mr wise i know they are not enrolled on basis of cast but since your bharati fellow was questioning that how many high cast kids go to state run schools so the onus is on you to answer that question. since there are reports and data on low cast or SC or whatever you name them :) so there must be figures and statistics about how many low cast and high cast students are there in these schools.

2. surely the issue is with mentality of people and this mentality is at works since thousands of years viz a viz cast based inhuman division.

3. agreed it will take alot of time to change this mentality. may be thousands more years

---------- Post added at 10:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:43 PM ----------

Is the mid day meal scheme is for the entire school or just limited to the the under privileged kids.

FOR ENTIRE school

Indians should really come out of this casteism fast. These were generally used by British to divide us and rule. We are still prey to these tactics. Unless we see every other person in India as an Indian, nothing less nothing more, we have a serious issue at our hands. Why to divide ourselves, when collectively we can make a better India. I am sorry to say this but caste system does exist in India especially in villages. But I also think this is more economic. A SC or ST is respected if he is rich. May be all the designated low caste people should come out of victim-hood mentality already and work hard for their own betterment. They have all the provisions in our constitution. All they need is some strong will.

We need to first acknowledge that we have a problem at hand and work towards solving it. Collective denial would not change the reality. But one must also acknowledge that our society is changing currently for the better.

Caste system is still prevalent in many places. One would expect it to go away with education, but it is not the case. People still marry only within caste.

Thats because our elders insist on it. Just give it another generation you would see a difference. I might get married in the same caste because my parents insist on it. But I wouldn't care. See a change.

Although marrying in a same caste should not be considered discrimination rather it is being more communal which is also a problem but not to an extent that it is perceived to be.

shameful incident..! but the good thing is media is highlighting these issues and people are rising above caste. there is no place for caste based discrimination in this new india.

peoples outside India shake their heads and wonder,"why did anyone come up with such a bad idea as the caste system? It is interesting to note that it was Muhatma Gandhi who apparently said one could tell a country by the way it treats its animals. In the country of his birth, India, a cow is sacred while legions of Indians human beings still live in culturally-endorsed slavery to this day

oho kya dialogue maara hai bhai , fantastic . Maan gaye , dil ko chu gaya . Seriously

Caste system was meant for a society that existed thousands of years ago in India . There have been such discriminations in other societies as well . Its just that others got over it , we have not yet , thanks to out economic situation and some cultural reasons as well . It was never meant to be followed in the 21 st century.:hitwall:

but with education caste based discrimination is disappearing, which is the main problem. marriyng within the same caste is ok..! it is personal choise of people. and for your kind info inter-caste love marriages are in fashion now..! lol