Indian govt survives confidence vote

Flintlock

Indian govt survives confidence vote: state TV

1 hour ago

NEW DELHI (AFP) — India's government on Tuesday survived a parliamentary confidence vote that could have led to early polls and scuppered a nuclear energy deal with the United States, state television showed.

A total of 253 deputies backed the government, 232 voted against and two abstained, according to results from electronic voting displayed by the parliament's official channel.

Members of the government congratulated a smiling Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and the head of the governing Congress party, Sonia Gandhi, the footage showed.

The result came despite a furore in parliament surrounding opposition allegations that the ruling coalition paid out large sums of cash in bribes to ensure it won the vote.

The confidence vote was triggered by left-wing and communist parties, who withdrew their support for Singh earlier this month over their opposition to the civilian nuclear deal with Washington.

The deal with Washington -- which is still subject to several more stages of approval -- is designed to bring India into the global loop of nuclear commerce after decades of isolation.

It would allow India, which has nuclear weapons and refuses to sign the nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty, to be treated as a special case on condition it separates its civil and military programmes and allows some UN inspections.

Government officials gave an impassioned defence of the deal during two days of special parliamentary debate, arguing that the country's 1.1 billion people badly need alternative sources of energy to avert an impending fuel crunch.

But left-wingers and the main opposition Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) say the deal ties traditionally neutral India too closely with the United States, and would compromise the country's nuclear weapons programme.

The communists had also tried to widen the terms of the debate -- speaking out against rising food and fuel prices, and arguing that hundreds of millions of poor have been left behind in India's economic boom.

Good news that means Green signal to nuclear deal long live Manmohan Singh what a simple and straight forward man he is.

UPA scrapes through trust vote

July 22, 2008 19:35 IST
Last Updated: July 22, 2008 20:41 IST
The United Progressive Alliance has WON the historic confidence motion in Parliament.

The tally reads: 275-256. Abstentions: 10.

Details soon.

How this is going to effect future of Indian politics?

Trust vote always carries Tamasha, But soon all will be forgotten Manmohan Singh will go down in history as visionary Prime Minister.

sorry guys I mistakenly open a new thread in Indian defense section, mods kindly delete that.

Well that's a good news. But how it is going to effect the Indian politics. hope everybody has seen the tamasha.

Horse-trading during no-confidence motions has been prevalent for quite some time now. It was inevitable after the Congress began to lose its stranglehold.

However, this time, the ruling party has contested on principle, in order to defend its policies, and not just because the opposition managed to lure away their support.
This is a new development, and quite encouraging.

Frankly, I and many Indians have gained tremendous confidence in Manmohan Singh.

I am glad we did away with communists....who according to PM's reply wanted the Government as their bonded labor...!!!

At the same time, I am not sure how Manmohan Singh will rsepond to the new demands of the new allies.

Agree with you flintlock, but does this also push the controversial issues like setusamudram project in front. And does it help government to push the reforms further which were on hold due to communists?. But one thing for sure, prakash karat has been made a big fool :)

guys may be off topic, but just now my friend has called up, he is arranging for a party for us because of UPA winning the trust vote. So I am leaving for home now and going to have:cheers:

Q & A with Bipin Chandra (Taken from NDTV Website)

Spandita, Delhi: , Delhi: If the Left can side with the BJP which according to them is anti-secular, why can't they jettison their long held anti-imperialist stance against the US?

Vikram Chandra: Well, that's the question many are putting to them. They have a deep seated ideological animosity to America and are arguing that they are not really siding with the BJP. But the question of even appearing to be on the same side as the BJP has created some rift within the Left already.
Preeti, Mumbai: Mumbai: Is the coalition government inherently unsuited for giving a consistent and stable governance to the country?

Vikram Chandra: Naturally, coalition governments are inherently somewhat unstable because of the need to balance so many different points of view. Having said that, the NDA government lasted its full term, and the UPA may well do the same. So perhaps our politicians are learning to play the juggling game quite well. It may not be the best thing for efficient governance, but some would say the same about democracy itself!
Sukhm, Mumbai: Cutting across political parties, should we really be asking anyone of them if they have anything to say for the present and future generation of India?

Vikram Chandra: We have heard some leaders trying to send a message for the youth - in particular that was the constituency that Rahul was trying to address.
Anutama, Delhi: Like the business world wherein every opportunity needs to be exploited with speed and aggression, does the trust vote usher in a similar genre in Indian politics?

Vikram Chandra: Unlikely! Politics will move slower than business - but then, that's true in most other countries as well.
Probhati, Kolkata: Should the UPA government fall, would the new government (caretaker or elected) be able to do anything on the main issue affecting the common man- inflation?

Vikram Chandra: Yes -- because caretaker governments are fully mandated to run the country and tackle problems. It has happened several times in the past as well -- such as with the NDA
Susmita, Delhi: Has the trust vote sideturned the core issue of the Indo-US nuclear deal?

Vikram Chandra: Actually, it is quite interesting how the UPA keeps trying to keep that as the central focus -witness the speeches of Rahul Gandhi and Laloo Yadav. But the opposition is trying to broaden their attack to a number of other issues, especially the BJP. I suspect they want to leave themselves with wriggle room for the future.
Ranjan Datta, Noida: Has Indian politics hit its ideological low with so much of opportunistic alliances and political volte-face?

Vikram Chandra: Well, sadly this is not the first time that we are seeing horse-trading or opportunistic alliances. But it's a bit tragic that issues of crucial national importance will be settled like this.
Anila, Delhi: For the common man like I stability has become the biggest question. And opportunists like Mayawati are making hay even with limited representation in Parliament. Why can't the bigger parties with some hand, even BJP and Congress, join hands to provide stability?

Vikram Chandra: An interesting suggestion that others have made. I doubt that the BJP and the Congress will ever formally join hands, not just because of the 'secularism' question, but also because both of them see themselves as the long term ruling party in India. However, what I think we need is closer cooperation between those parties on issues of national importance. For example, efforts should have been made to get a consensus on the nuclear deal between the two instead of all this political posturing
Neelesh, Perth, Australia: IT Took UPA merely 40 minuts to convince the SP to vote in favour of the deal.Why the same kind of transperancy/Suplimentry effort was not shown by UPA while dealing with Left?It could have saved all the buzzar going on right now....or perhaps the bazzar started in that 40 minuts....whats your thought on this?

Vikram Chandra: I don't think it was possible to easily the convince the Left on this. The UPA and the Left have actually been discussing this and trying to reach an agreement for a couple of years now; particularly for the last few months. I suspect the gulf was just too wide..
Senthil Kumar, Chennai: Dont you think we should abolish the system of Coalition Government ? There should be a Single Ruling Party, and which should be responsible for all happenings. No Pressure from Coalition Partners, No credit takings/givings. Atleast the government will be under no pressure to satisfy its partners and can work indepdently

Vikram Chandra: Hmmm. How would we do this?? It would require a total revamp of the Constitution, wouldn't it?
Wg Cdr(Retd) D Pal, Hyderabad: Why is the Govt not disclosing the N-deal agreement that it had planned with the IAEA. Debate on the deal details should be carried out between all political parties, and public opinion sought, based on which the Govt should have taken the decision.

Vikram Chandra: The agreement is public by now -- you can get a copy on the website. And to be fair, the details have now been debated for quite some time..
Monisha, Digboi: I have seen ,Sir ur comment be careful with your vote!!! But in a state where whole demography is changed with bangladeshi infiltration in north east, and the ruling political leader issues , voters identity card to the bangladeshi (VOTE bank population).You have no control over the political scenario -no control over state affairs either deforrestation or erosion of lands, land grabbing, poaching of wild animals,no job oppurtunity....in this scenario the disgusted youth takes up the arms and the learned people at centre call them separatist!!!Do you have any answers???

Vikram Chandra: Am afraid not! I wish I did.
Alok Joshi, Bhopal: if this deal is imprtant why cant they take a public mandate on this?
ultimately its the people of this coutry who has send them there.
why cant they tell the people wht exactly is this dael?

Vikram Chandra: Alok, in a sense the trust vote is a public mandate -- because it is asking the elected representatives of the people to back it. And, as I have said, the deal has been discussed at length already -- both in the media and in several committees.
Bharat Shah, ahmedabad: Congress has not at all put the efforts to take support of competent leaders of National party, BJP having identical views to large extent with Cong. party to get through the N-deal instead the incompetent opportunists poiticians are given importance leading to totally unfair tactists in Indian politics. Why does your channel not target Congress party to make them realise this fact in a large interest of the people?

Vikram Chandra: I certainly hope that the authorities will work overtime to ensure that there is full security for all nuclear reactors.
Boscof Dominic, Dubai: Will this deal in common man's language end the 4 hours of power cuts in my home town in future? If so, then I believe it is very clear who should survive this trust vote. Pls advice.

Vikram Chandra: That seems to be the point the government is making. Pranab Mukherjee was very clear in Parliament when he said that India has no way of making up its energy deficit without the deal and going down the nuclear route.
Uday, Hyderabad: Hi, will this political uncertainty affect the country’s economy? Does this nuclear deal give us good results for opportunities. If so explain me how?

Vikram Chandra: The nuclear deal by itself is not going to fix the country’s economy. Although as the Prime Minister said yesterday, and as everyone in Parliament said yesterday, this uncertainty is really not what we need now. Attention needs to be diverted to worrying about urgent problems- such as price rise. A nuclear deal according to the government is all about ending nuclear isolation.
Sameer Mankad, Ahmedabad: Isn’t this voting like an IPL match where members from rival nations play in a team for a cause (read money/power) ? Is there any more depth to this motion other than a showdown of egos?

Vikram Chandra: Obviously, all that has happened has left many people, perhaps correctly, worrying about the morals in India’s parliament. However, to be fair, it has to be said, that a majority of MPs aren’t voting just because of money and the things that they are getting.
Soumya, Delhi: If the government falls what will happen to the other policy decisions that are pending? Can a minority government take a decision on them? ex the sixth pay commission report or ban on steel imports etc.

Vikram Chandra: The simple answer is, that, yes, the minority government, as a caretaker, can take decisions if it wants to. The question will be how far does it want to push and which the issues are on which it feels it doesn’t have the moral authority to proceed on.
Sachin, Dubai: Is there any way to come out of this dirty coalition government politics in near future?

Vikram Chandra: Suggestions would be welcome!
Raashi Chauhan, Patna: If the UPA loses the trust vote, what is the likely political scenario?

Vikram Chandra: If the UPA loses the trust vote it’s almost certain that the elections will be held soon, perhaps to coincide with the assembly polls sometime in November. The other possibility that comes to my mind is a government perhaps headed by Mayawati and supported from outside by the BJP and the Left. However, the BJP has indicated that it will not be open to something like this.
Sumit, Mumbai: Has the media played a partisan role in the nuclear deal issue?

Vikram Chandra: I don’t think the media has played a partisan role. Infact media has played a very important role in laying the facts before the people and bringing information to everyone to help make up their minds. Yes, those who write opinion pieces have expressed personal views on the matter and most of their opinions are in favour of the deal.
JC Pathak, Bhubaneswar: Will the UPA get the numbers to win Trust Vote?

Vikram Chandra: Anyone’s guess at this point in time. Even five hours is a long time in the present political environment. At this moment it seems the UPA has an edge but there are still several hours to go.
S Jafri, Bangalore: Everyone, even your channel, is talking about shameful corruption of MPs taking and party offering crores of rupees. Can anything not be done as action against these corrupt persons?

Vikram Chandra: I don’t think what’s been happening is good for the Indian democracy but not really sure of what the best solution is. Ofcourse if it can be proven that people have taken money to change votes, then the law can take its own course. Other than that it is for the public to be more careful in deciding who they are voting for.
Radha, Mumbai: What effect does abstaining MPs have on the simple majority UPA needs?

Vikram Chandra: It has a major impact and this is infact could be a way for the UPA to get the numbers. It’s simple mathematics- to win the Trust Vote the UPA needs a majority of those present and voting. If everyone was present and voting, the UPA would have needed 271. But if say 10 opposition MPs abstain, then the UPA needs only 266. Mamata Banerjee has already announced that she will abstain from voting. The big question now is how many others will follow suit.
Jayant Menon, Chennai: What are Mayawati`s chances of becoming PM?

Vikram Chandra: Fairly bright, I would imagine. Mayawati has the good fortune of a committed voter base that she can transfer to other parties in any alliance. She is very unlikely to get a majority on her own in the next few years. It is possible to see her as a third front PM supported by the Left, Congress or the BJP at some point in the future.

It is sometimes nice to see when leaders stand up for their cause no matter how tough the circumstances are but then again that is why they are called leaders. Manmohan Singh will be remembered because he stood even though when his government could have crippled, for the betterment of his country.
Sometimes i just wish that we too had people like him on this side of the border.

I am back after being banned after those who banned me for misinterpreting my English. No hard feelings!

One should see my post in WAB. I will root for the truth (as I see it. It does not mean I am right, but it also does not mean I am wrong!) I say give all a chance. I say that all in BRF. Unless we know each other and our pains and joys, how can we understand the world and it events?

Owaissi spoke of the great stuff done by the govt for people of Islam in India, while Omar Abdullah was proud to be an Indian and a Islamic faith person! Nothing greater would be the certificate for India!

They have made me proud to be an Indian!

Horse-trading, the ugly face of Indian democracy
Indians and even world over people untiringly keep repeating that India is world's largest democracy. In numbers game, the fact is true and laudable. It is not easy to manage a billion people of multitude of diversities, trekking to millions of Elections booth across the country, in a ritualistic exercise, to press a button, or cross a ballot paper and come back brandishing an ink mark on one of the middle fingers, proud that they have voted for a democratic government of the country. However, in the backdrop of this almost sacred exercise to seek people's mandate to govern the country, political groups play the kind of ugly games that can never be in the strictest term of the word, the essence of democracy. One of the most blatant and brazen acts of the treacherous subversion of democracy, is the popularly known practice of horse-trading.

As the Indian government currently seeking a confidence vote in the lower house, Lok Sabha, the numbers game that will decide if the government survives or is defeated on the floor of the house, will heavily depend on how the managers of the different political parties will be able to buy or entice elected Members of Parliaments to switch sides and vote for or against the motion of confidence. Right from the days of Congress Prime Minister, P. V. Narasimha Rao, who was successful in running a minority government to any length of time, open allegation of cash in suit cases being delivered to prospective clients in opposition camps, are bandied about, though no law enforcing agency, or the media, or the court, or even the common people have bothered to oppose the dirty game, that is a serious blot on the fair name of Indian democracy.

It is illegal. It is criminal. It distorts the very mandate of the people. It renders the whole electoral exercise a fraud on the people, by an oligarchic cabal who have cash and other goodies to offer, like party tickets to stand for future elections, a pardon for crimes committed either at investigation stage or under prosecution, a promise for lucrative government contracts, a prestigious post in ceremonial hierarchy of the government, a candidacy for the nearest kin. Since honesty and trust are at a premium, hard cash is the most desired currency in horse-trading. A general impression is that when it comes to money power, nobody can match the resources of the US lobby. Though it is not clear if the money power is not available to other lesser in the pecking order.

All the money is comming from US. It is no secret who controlls congress.