India Urges France To Stop Arms Sales to Pakistan

France puts sale of heavy military hardware to Pakistan on hold

France said Friday it has put on hold the sale of heavy military equipment to Pakistan and awaits an explanation on its spy agency's role in the 2008 Mumbai terror strike and in providing a safe haven for Al Qaeda chief Osama bin Laden, who was killed in a US strike May 2.
It has also expressed the hope that Pakistan's dialogue with US on terrorism would throw light on questions that have cropped up in the wake of Osama's killing on its soil, reported IANS.
French Defence Minister Gerard Longuet told reporters here in New Delhi that Osama's killing in Abbottabad, close to capital Islamabad, had raised a lot of questions that needed answers.
Though Longuet did not name the Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI), he was alluding to the suspected role of the Pakistan's spy agency in sheltering Osama.
On the sale of military equipment to Pakistan by France, Longuet said till the time Pakistan's clarifications were not satisfactory, it would not sell heavy defence hardware.
"This point was raised during the bilateral meeting with Pakistan Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani in Paris recently. I can tell you that France is only selling Pakistan equipment that can be used for electronic interception to fight terror," the French defence minister, who wound up his two-day visit to India, said.
"In fact, heavy military equipment is not being sold. We have discouraged any request from Pakistan for heavy equipment," he added.
Asked about the recent revelations on ISI's involvement with the 26/11 Mumbai terror strike, Longuet said: "Terror cannot be a weapon of anybody or any government."
"After the death of Osama bin Laden, Pakistan should be given an opportunity to explain its position vis-a-vis terrorism," he added.
Noting that US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton was in Islamabad Friday, Longuet said France was keenly watching the discussions between the US and Pakistan on terrorism and was awaiting the outcomes of the talks.

France puts sale of heavy military hardware to Pakistan on hold | Pakistan | News | Newspaper | Daily | English | Online

Ek dur band hua to koi baat nahi, Allah will open another Dur for us. Ek shair arz hai.....mulaiza farmiay..... Irshaad hai

"Chooti padti hai Ana ki chaadar Paon dhakta hoon tu Sir khulta hai"

Typical indian political gossip mentality at work. Nothing new..they will keep crying...Only country to be stopped from weapons sales should be india and shown a mirror to solve its stone age problems like widow burning, female infanticide, millions or hungry destitute.

Global peace index 2011: Indian not peaceful Country with 800 Terrorist Groups | Pakistani Urdu Newspaper Columns, Articles, Editorials,Top Stories, Corruption Scandals from Pakistan

'800 terror cells active in country' - Times Of India

Pakistan should suspend military deals and ties with France. Until both countries resolve this issue diplomatically, if FRA has a problem with Pakistan they need to bring it to the diplomacy table.

Are you sure ???? :lol:

China urges U.S. companies to stop arms sales to Taiwan

So china is also a sad country ?? I think this is also a ultimate proof :rofl::rofl:

I have many Taiwanese friends, & as time has passed by, they have become a lot closer to China, & would like some kind of alliance or very close friendship since China has become an economic superpower. Mandarin is spoken in Taiwan, & Taiwanese language isn't as prominent now. It was the KMT that committed atrocities against the Taiwanese people, the much older people of Taiwan have seen those atrocities, but the newer generation hasn't seen any of it. It's a completely different situation between India & Pakistan, India does & says things out of spite. A few days ago, the BJP wanted to denuclearize Pakistan as well. So you really can't compare India-Pakistan with China-Taiwan.

buzdil loog itna bara mulk ho k bhe sharam nhe ate inko, rony aor tarlay dalny k siwa koi kam nhe inka

So what exactly are we buying from France that required India to go out of the way to ask France to stop supplying arms to Pakistan. What a joke.

It is irrelevant, whatever are you buying...Basically letting the french know that we don't appreciate them selling toys to you....

wo hume bhikhari kehte hai....ar bhikh toh khud maangte hai...

neway waise hum bhikarion ki adat toh dekho G-8 ki foreign policy ko bhi apne according mold karte hai..ar africa jo ki humse jyada amir hai (maine aksar yaha kuch logo ko ye gala pharte dekha hai) unko hum bhikhario ne 5 bln dollar karj diyela hai veeru..wo bhi 3 years k andar...without any drone attacks...

We stopped French dealings with pakistan because we can.
10 billions matters a lot to France. :yahoo:

Now ask China for some help.

We've already seen the quality that's why we had to change the Asian map in 1971. Now don't talk about war you're not in that position right now.

We had a similar chance and you know what we did? Benazir Bhutto gifted a list of names, addresses and other details to her Indian counterpart to eliminate the resistance. We had another chance in Kargil and you know what we did? We agreed for a cease fire from a position of strength, albeit under international pressure, but that's what we did!

---------- Post added at 10:57 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:56 AM ----------

France puts sale of heavy military hardware to Pakistan on hold

France said Friday it has put on hold the sale of heavy military equipment to Pakistan and awaits an explanation on its spy agency's role in the 2008 Mumbai terror strike and in providing a safe haven for Al Qaeda chief Osama bin Laden, who was killed in a US strike May 2.
It has also expressed the hope that Pakistan's dialogue with US on terrorism would throw light on questions that have cropped up in the wake of Osama's killing on its soil, reported IANS.
French Defence Minister Gerard Longuet told reporters here in New Delhi that Osama's killing in Abbottabad, close to capital Islamabad, had raised a lot of questions that needed answers.
Though Longuet did not name the Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI), he was alluding to the suspected role of the Pakistan's spy agency in sheltering Osama.
On the sale of military equipment to Pakistan by France, Longuet said till the time Pakistan's clarifications were not satisfactory, it would not sell heavy defence hardware.
"This point was raised during the bilateral meeting with Pakistan Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani in Paris recently. I can tell you that France is only selling Pakistan equipment that can be used for electronic interception to fight terror," the French defence minister, who wound up his two-day visit to India, said.
"In fact, heavy military equipment is not being sold. We have discouraged any request from Pakistan for heavy equipment," he added.
Asked about the recent revelations on ISI's involvement with the 26/11 Mumbai terror strike, Longuet said: "Terror cannot be a weapon of anybody or any government."
"After the death of Osama bin Laden, Pakistan should be given an opportunity to explain its position vis-a-vis terrorism," he added.
Noting that US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton was in Islamabad Friday, Longuet said France was keenly watching the discussions between the US and Pakistan on terrorism and was awaiting the outcomes of the talks.

France puts sale of heavy military hardware to Pakistan on hold | Pakistan | News | Newspaper | Daily | English | Online

I sincerely hope, wish and pray that the whole western world stop arms sales to Pakistan, I know exactly where that would lead us...........I remember where the pressler amendment led us (JF-17/Al-Khalid MBT, Indigenous BM development etc.), I remember where Indian Nuclear Test led us (Better Nuclear Program and a more advanced Ballistic Missile program) and so on. God, how I pray an arms embargo by the whole western world!

On the contrary, you should beg the western countries to force their overpriced, underachieving and usually obsolete military items on Pakistan to keep us under control :)

Hmm...we are flexing muscles ..good...I wonder what India will do, like say after 5 yrs ;)

We had a similar chance and you know what we did? Benazir Bhutto gifted a list of names, addresses and other details to her Indian counterpart to eliminate the resistance. We had another chance in Kargil and you know what we did? We agreed for a cease fire from a position of strength, albeit under international pressure, but that's what we did!

Could you clarify the benazir thing you mentioned?
Abt the kargil thing...You do say a few good jokes don't you :rofl: