India Tops in Illiteracy and Defense Spending

Sirji ,A Humble Question- Have you ever visited India?It ain't that Bad as you expects.Poor India is What Makes Some Happy?OR Is it You Want to Compare Pakistan and India?It is Unjust IMHO.Compare pakistan with few states in India.India's Poor are concentrated in few states. if you visit India,Study the Demographics ,It will Help Remove the Niqab which prevents Easy Understanding of India.

We ,Indians have friendly competition on getting more Investments in Our states and At the same time Proud of India's growth.The Few States Which were lacking in investment and developments too are slowly waking Up.
I strongly recommend You research on Pakistan vs China or Pakistan vs Sri Lanka as well.Pol Khulega.:tup:

My friend.. You are assuming that the objective of the thread is to report factual situation. Its not . Its to use facts selectively to paint a biased picture. Now he cant make Pakistan look good using numbers. So whats the next best option. He tries to make India look bad. Have a look at his blog. For a pakistani national living in california, he is just too obsessed with the problems of India..

Hence your invitation has no meaning for the thread starter.

Sirji ,A Humble Question- Have you ever visited India?It ain't that Bad as you expects.Poor India is What Makes Some Happy?OR Is it You Want to Compare Pakistan and India?It is Unjust IMHO.Compare pakistan with few states in India.India's Poor are concentrated in few states. if you visit India,Study the Demographics ,It will Help Remove the Niqab which prevents Easy Understanding of India.

We ,Indians have friendly competition on getting more Investments in Our states and At the same time Proud of India's growth.The Few States Which were lacking in investment and developments too are slowly waking Up.
I strongly recommend You research on Pakistan vs China or Pakistan vs Sri Lanka as well.Pol Khulega.:tup:

I have visited India several times and seen and compared life in India and Pakistan. Not only that, there is plenty of data that I have shared with you here and on my blog that confirms my impressions of the two neighbors in South Asia.

Even Pakistani slums are much better in terms of services and quality of life than India's slums.

Let me just give you a comparison of India's Dharavi slum with Pakistan's Orangi Town, both of which have been in the news lately:

A recent report was compiled by Mumbai's Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation with assistance from the United Nations Development Program (UNDP). It claims that while Dharavi, the setting for the Oscar-winning Slumdog Millionaire movie, has 57,000 families living in overcrowded huts with poor sanitation, Orangi on the outskirts of Karachi is home to more than a million people living in poverty. This report was sponsored and paid for by Mumbai municipality.

The fact is that Orangi is nothing like Dharavi in terms of the quality of its housing or the services available to its residents. This report appears to be nothing but a shameful attempt by Mumbai's municipality to hide its own inadequacies by diverting the attention of the world to the biggest city of India's neighbor and arch rival Pakistan. What is even more disturbing is how the UNDP has become a party to this misleading claim. This preposterous claim is also an insult to the memory of Dr. Akhtar Hamid Khan who organized Orangi Pilot Project (OPP) and tirelessly worked with the residents on self-help model to improve their lives.

Orangi is not really a slum today. But it started life as a 'kutchi abadi' or squatter settlement for the large influx of refugees in Karachi from East Pakistan (often mistakenly called Biharis) after the fall of Dhaka in early 1970s. It consists of an area larger than 25 square miles (versus 0.67 sq miles in Dharavi) with a population of over a million (versus over 700,000 residents of Dharavi). Most of Orangi's population increase in the last three decades has come from the growing rural to urban migration, particularly of ethnic Pushtoons from the North West Frontier Province (NWFP). Shanties have now grown into single or two level cement houses over the years and a large number of schools have been operating successfully, sending the poorest children into the best educational institutions of the city. A significant population of educated middle class has grown in Orangi. There are a number of small businesses and a cottage industry, started by budding entrepreneurs and funded by microfinance efforts in the area. The city of Karachi has built roads to provide improved access to residents.

A hospital was built in the community in the 1990s. While Dharavi has only one toilet per 1440 residents and most of its residents use Mahim Creek, a local river, for urination and defecation, Orangi has an elaborate sanitation system built by its citizens. Under Orangi Pilot Project's guidance, between 1981 and 1993 Orangi residents installed sewers serving 72,070 of 94,122 houses. To achieve this, community members spent more than US$2 million of their own money, and OPP invested about US$150,000 in research and extension of new technologies. Orangi pilot project has been admired widely for its work with urban poor.

Haq's Musings: Orangi is not Dharavi!

Here's a recent British report of India complaining about "poverty ****":

Diplomatic officials are preparing to lodge a complaint with Ofcom, the media watchdog, about the content of McCloud's Channel 4 series, Slumming It.

In the two-part documentary, the Grand Designs host visited Mumbai's squalid Dharavi slum. It showed children living amongst open sewers, dead rats and toxic waste, and residents scavenging on the city's rubbish dump.

Sources say the Indian High Commission in London granted a filming permit in the belief that McCloud was making a programme highlighting Mumbai's architectural history, and officials were horrified to see the end result.

"We thought it would be about the architecture of Mumbai but it was only about slums, nothing else. He was showing dirty sewage and dead rats, children playing amongst rubbish and people living in these small rooms. He never talked about architecture at all.

"This was poverty **** made to get ratings, and we are upset," the source said.

"Many people know India but for people who don't travel, they will think all of India is like this. Of course it will affect our tourism. It is not representative at all.

"We are not saying, 'Don't show Dharavi', but the show was not balanced. There is so much more to Mumbai and so much more to India."

The original synopsis submitted by the programme-makers said: "Kevin McCloud's passions are buildings and people and he will explore the architecture of Mumbai... Maharashtrian, British, Gothic and post-modern."

The source said: "When the production company applied, they said the name of the documentary was going to be Grand Designs. They said it was part of a 'celebration of all things India' and that he would look at different kinds of architecture. He didn't do any of this.

"Only occasionally did he mention the community spirit and the low crime rate and the fact that rubbish is recycled there.

"People forget that this nation is 60 years old. We are a young nation and it's not easy to bring 300 million people out of poverty just like that."

Slumming It was part of Channel 4's ongoing Indian Winter season. Of the five programmes shown so far, four have been set in the Mumbai slums, including a 'Slumdog' version of The Secret Millionaire.

The source accused Channel 4 of "cashing in on the success of Slumdog Millionaire", the Oscar-winning film which kicked off the season.

McCloud has praised the community spirit in Dharavi, claiming that the British government could use it as a model for "social sustainability". The Prince of Wales has hailed Dharavi as a model for urban planning.

In a joint statement, Channel 4 and the production company, talkbackThames, said: "We have not received a complaint from the India High Commission. The programme explores if city planners and architects can learn from the way Asia’s biggest slum has evolved and developed high levels of sustainability. Kevin McCloud follows everyday life in Dharavi and the film is a balanced and insightful account of his experience there.

"While it raises issues such as acute levels of poverty and the lack of sanitation, the programme also highlights many positive aspects of life in Dharavi such as the real sense of community as well as low levels of crime and unemployment. We believe that the film raises some important points around the issues of poverty, sustainability and city planning and is clearly in the public interest.”

India accuses Kevin McCloud of making 'poverty ****' in Mumbai slum programme - Telegraph

Indian NGO Sathi's Findings as reported by Times of India today:

The urban population of the coastal region, which includes the country’s commercial capital Mumbai, has the highest prevalence of calorie deficiency (43%) in Maharashtra.

Analysis also shows that undernutrition is prevalent across all religions.

only 30.7% of the people in Maharashtra are classified as Below Poverty Line (BPL). The official BPL designation excludes over 16 million people who are too poor to afford adequate food.

Calculations made using a per consumer unit calorie norm of 2400 in rural and 2100 in urban areas, reveals that the incidence of calorie-based poverty is 54.1% in rural areas and 39.5% in urban areas.

Going by the NSS norm of 2700 calories per consumer unit, then 68% of households in rural Maharashtra are not receiving adequate calories and should be considered ‘poor’.

According to Ram, Mohanty and Ram’s 2008 analysis, 65.4% of abject deprived households25 in Maharashtra do not have BPL cards.

In contrast to the millions of households in abject poverty that cannot access BPL cards, 12.7% of non-poor households posses BPL cards. Specifically, BPL cards are owned by 15% of families owning more than five acres of agricultural land, 5% who own a television and refrigerator and 7% with a motorized vehicle.

Undernourished children are more susceptible to illnesses such as diarrhoea and acute respiratory infections and are less likely to survive them. In cases where they do survive, they are further weakened and susceptible to future illness.

Only 12% of schools investigated were providing cooked midday meals. Among the schools distributing food, most only provided cooked rice without any other supplements such as cooked dal and vegetables. This study also found that not a single school was providing the stipulated 300 calories and 8 to 12 grams protein.

ICDS feeding centres (i.e. Anganwadi centres) often do not weigh the children regularly or properly. Other research (both government and independent) suggests that a much larger portion of children are malnourished than that reported by ICDS.

Grade III and IV malnourishment is grossly underreported by the ICDS. Workers often lack the skills and equipment necessarily to accurate weigh and classify children. ICDS employees tend to underreport severe malnutrition in order to mask program failures.

?State spending on nutrition meagre?

Ohh Riazhaq you so much love talking to yourself... Whatever your intention are, no one is listening to you... well just dropped to say HELLO, I hope you are doing good, and it would be really nice if you do something productive

I pitty you poor boy... Do something which can help you, This India bashing never will.. But if this helps you then I personally appeal keep doing it..

Thanks..

Here's a recent British report of India complaining about "poverty ****":

Diplomatic officials are preparing to lodge a complaint with Ofcom, the media watchdog, about the content of McCloud's Channel 4 series, Slumming It.

In the two-part documentary, the Grand Designs host visited Mumbai's squalid Dharavi slum. It showed children living amongst open sewers, dead rats and toxic waste, and residents scavenging on the city's rubbish dump.

Sources say the Indian High Commission in London granted a filming permit in the belief that McCloud was making a programme highlighting Mumbai's architectural history, and officials were horrified to see the end result.

"We thought it would be about the architecture of Mumbai but it was only about slums, nothing else. He was showing dirty sewage and dead rats, children playing amongst rubbish and people living in these small rooms. He never talked about architecture at all.

"This was poverty **** made to get ratings, and we are upset," the source said.

"Many people know India but for people who don't travel, they will think all of India is like this. Of course it will affect our tourism. It is not representative at all.

"We are not saying, 'Don't show Dharavi', but the show was not balanced. There is so much more to Mumbai and so much more to India."

The original synopsis submitted by the programme-makers said: "Kevin McCloud's passions are buildings and people and he will explore the architecture of Mumbai... Maharashtrian, British, Gothic and post-modern."

The source said: "When the production company applied, they said the name of the documentary was going to be Grand Designs. They said it was part of a 'celebration of all things India' and that he would look at different kinds of architecture. He didn't do any of this.

"Only occasionally did he mention the community spirit and the low crime rate and the fact that rubbish is recycled there.

"People forget that this nation is 60 years old. We are a young nation and it's not easy to bring 300 million people out of poverty just like that."

Slumming It was part of Channel 4's ongoing Indian Winter season. Of the five programmes shown so far, four have been set in the Mumbai slums, including a 'Slumdog' version of The Secret Millionaire.

The source accused Channel 4 of "cashing in on the success of Slumdog Millionaire", the Oscar-winning film which kicked off the season.

McCloud has praised the community spirit in Dharavi, claiming that the British government could use it as a model for "social sustainability". The Prince of Wales has hailed Dharavi as a model for urban planning.

In a joint statement, Channel 4 and the production company, talkbackThames, said: "We have not received a complaint from the India High Commission. The programme explores if city planners and architects can learn from the way Asia’s biggest slum has evolved and developed high levels of sustainability. Kevin McCloud follows everyday life in Dharavi and the film is a balanced and insightful account of his experience there.

"While it raises issues such as acute levels of poverty and the lack of sanitation, the programme also highlights many positive aspects of life in Dharavi such as the real sense of community as well as low levels of crime and unemployment. We believe that the film raises some important points around the issues of poverty, sustainability and city planning and is clearly in the public interest.”

India accuses Kevin McCloud of making 'poverty ****' in Mumbai slum programme - Telegraph

As--Salami--Alaikum Riaz bhai..

Brother.. Do you know.. In our country, whenever some enlightened Netaji suddenly rises to the fact that we are getting all dirty dirty in our cities, the Babus get active.. Work is started at a pace which would put even China to shame:smitten:.. The momentum picks up, but the funds run out faster.. Then somewhere mid-way an idea strikes into our babu's ingenious mind:woot:.. instead of auditing the reasons and means, he quietly places his hands to his chest and calls out to himself, "AAALL IZZ WEELL", eats up the remaining funds and takes a deep sleep:lazy:.. Next morning it the same old day for him..

Yes, your poor slumdog man does complaint.. He rants, he runs, he cries for something to be done:argh:, and then at the darkness of night, armed with a bottle of DESI DAARU, he get back to their home, beats up their wife and children and before passing off, quietly places his hands to his chest and calls out to himself, "AAALL IZZ WEELL".. Next morning it the same old day for him too:hitwall:..

This CHALTA HAI attitude by both, the administration and more so the administered has brought the deplorable of this country to where they are.. When every spark of revolution can be quietened by free distribution of desi liquor.. And every conscience can be subdued by an item show by MEMJI.. Who is to be blamed??

The government alone? Or the common slum dweller too, who chooses to live that kind of life for himself.. I'd say, the man who chooses not to rises up to challenges, lazies hard and doesn't dare to join the mainstream of INDIA's Success STORY.. Deserves to rot in the trench he has dug for himself.. Shouldn't he be making hay when the sun is shining?.. Or should the government withdraw from the ATMs and distribute among them..

This is the story of our poor slum dweller which your often quoted SLUMDOG MILLIONAIRE doesn't talk about.. The tortured are equally to be blamed as the torturers..

MY SALUTE TO ALL THOSE INDIANS WHO CHOOSE TO RISE UP TO THE CHALLENGES POVERTY THROWS AT THEM, AND FIGHT THEM WITHOUT BLAMING THE GOVERNMENT AND THE SYSTEM, RATHER THEY CHANGE THE SYSTEM IN THE PROCESS FOR THE BETTER, AND IN DOING SO PAVE THE WAY FOR A GREATER FUTURE FOR THEMSELVES AND FOR MY COUNTRY...

JAI HIND..

Insane Indians! Why are you trying to debate with Mr Haq. He sleeps well while dreaming about poor India. Cant you do him that favour?

We all know what is the situation in India. Let us do constructive discussion how to improve that. Please dont reply to him....we have a lot of things to do. ...and condition in Pakistan -that is not our headache......Jai Hind..