livingdead
Ab majak bhi nahi kar sakte kya?
How many past "deals" actually came on ground in time and without any scam?
I have a question
India already have inducted or in the process of induction of C17 globemaster and c130 super herculus transport plane. what is the need of extra transport plane ?
India and Russia already in talks of joint medium transport aircraft project ?
Why so many transport planes ?
What India want to achieve with these different planes ??
Different weight/payload categories. The C-17s carry 70+ tonnes, the Il-76 carries 40 tonnes, the MTA 20 tonnes, the An-32 and Avros carry 7.5 tonnes. The heavier aircrafts are much more expensive to procure, so for the price of 10 C-17s, you can get 200 An-32s.
Besides, if you want to transport 70 tonnes of cargo, one flight by a C-17 is cheaper than 10 flights by An-32. But if you only need to transport 5 tonnes, then one flight of an An-32 is cheaper than one flight of C-17. So one has to calculate the operational expenditure of transporting cargo everyday, and find the right mix of light, medium and heavy transporters required to keep expenses to a minimum. That is the IAF's job (among other things, of course!).
(If you want to buy 50 kg of vegetables from the market, a 4 wheel car would be the cheapest option. When you want to transport 500 kg of furniture, a medium sized truck would be more efficient, than several sorties by a car. If you want to transport 5000 kg of stuff, a very heavy truck would be the cheapest way, rather than driving the car 100 times.)
What Russia got to do with this tender...i believe that they have already chosen to go for either C27J Spartans orI hope this time India Doesn't disappoint Russia, Already thing started slipping away
how much is Rs 13,000 crore in USD or in Euro?
I don't understand why the MTA is envisaged as the replacement for the An-32. The MTA is supposed to have a payload of 20 tonnes, while the An-32 has a payload of 7.5 tonnes. IMO, this RFI should be for replacing the Avros and An-32s together.
All Hail to recent confrontation with China.
that order is for carrying our Special Operations and para forces...this order is for planes for purely logistical purposes for cargo...Why was RFP issued to LockMart..? C-130..?
Got it ...
but what is strategy behind so much of airlift ?
Are we preparing for war with CHina because in case of Pakistan , we don't need c17 Globemaster.
Do we have other objective other than preparing with China ?
agreed , this is da capability that makes an air force super reachable ,super flexible and super strong.In latest war arena the true strength of an air force measured by how much it capable of supporting its grnd forces and these war horses made for that.Truly airlifters,bombers,cargo planes,c3i air-crafts,awacs,tanker(most imp) are the game changer of any battlefields, by virtue of these one can build a great offensive force be it a grnd one or an air one. These are the backbone of an offensive force structure, not jus the fighter jets.We have always had this much airlift, and frankly, for a military the size of India's, the airlift capability is very low, compared to western standards. Check out how much airlift capability other big militaries have. The size of our military is one thing, another factor is the number of places that need to be air maintained. How do you think soldiers on Siachen get their daily food and other rations? And our troops in the east near China - they all serve in areas that have no rail or road connectivity, so transport aircrafts have to send supplies to airstrips like the one at daulat beg oldi (which was at the center of all the reacent commotion), and from there, heli lifted or supplied by other ways to the forward posts.
Transport aircrafts don't just work during wartime. They are the workhorse for the military, doing the unglamorous, but vital job of logistic supplies, day in and day out, in peace or in war. We have 1.5 million troops on active duty who have to be fed and clothed and supplied with ammunition and water and other vital stuff. Aircrafts perform that role when road or rail transport is not feasible, or not fast enough.
IAF plans to get 10 (maybe 16) C-17s, to fulfill the very heaviest needs. The USAF has 216 (!) of these beasts on active duty, in addition to 100+ C-5 (much larger than C-17). IAF plans for 12 C-130s, USAF has almost 400 of them. They also have hundreds of smaller airlifters.
Or compare with China, and see how much airlift capability they have. Or compare with European countries, and think about the sizes of their militaries with ours. Our transport fleet and total airlift capability is woefully inadequate, if you compare with any modern militaries.
Its a shame that they replace old with the exact number.
Like old 56 transport aircrafts are being replaced by new 56 transport aircrafts.
It seems like they thinks the situation is same as last 66 years and there is no need to improve as per the situation, growth, economy etc.
And 2 front war etc. etc. are all BS.
We have always had this much airlift, and frankly, for a military the size of India's, the airlift capability is very low, compared to western standards. Check out how much airlift capability other big militaries have. The size of our military is one thing, another factor is the number of places that need to be air maintained. How do you think soldiers on Siachen get their daily food and other rations? And our troops in the east near China - they all serve in areas that have no rail or road connectivity, so transport aircrafts have to send supplies to airstrips like the one at daulat beg oldi (which was at the center of all the reacent commotion), and from there, heli lifted or supplied by other ways to the forward posts.
Transport aircrafts don't just work during wartime. They are the workhorse for the military, doing the unglamorous, but vital job of logistic supplies, day in and day out, in peace or in war. We have 1.5 million troops on active duty who have to be fed and clothed and supplied with ammunition and water and other vital stuff. Aircrafts perform that role when road or rail transport is not feasible, or not fast enough.
IAF plans to get 10 (maybe 16) C-17s, to fulfill the very heaviest needs. The USAF has 216 (!) of these beasts on active duty, in addition to 100+ C-5 (much larger than C-17). IAF plans for 12 C-130s, USAF has almost 400 of them. They also have hundreds of smaller airlifters.
Or compare with China, and see how much airlift capability they have. Or compare with European countries, and think about the sizes of their militaries with ours. Our transport fleet and total airlift capability is woefully inadequate, if you compare with any modern militaries.