India seals Rs 70,000 crores missile deal with Russia : MOD sources

India May Ink Nuke Sub Deal, Hold back on S-400 Missiles, FGFA During Modi's Russia Visit
India may sign an agreement or lease a second nuclear submarine 'Nerpa' during Prime Minister Modi's visit to Moscow next month.

However, it may hold back on buying the S-400 anti-missile system and the fifth generation fighter aircraft (FGFA). These were some of the topics that came up for discussion at the India-Russia Intergovernmental Commission for Military-Technical Cooperation (IRIGC-MTC) which concluded in Moscow earlier this week.

Even though the India ministry of defence did not divulge any detail about the IRIGC-MTC it is believed that India held off on a plan to to buy the S-400 Triumf ballistic missile defence (BMD) system due to its high cost.

Retired Air Marshal PK Barbora told Defenseworld.net that an Indian delegation was given a demonstration of the S-400 back in the in the early-2000s, when he was air attaché at the Indian embassy in Moscow. At that time too, the Russians wanted to sell the system to India. They had hinted that to secure New Delhi, the country will require one unit of the BMD. That was to cost then $ 700 million.

And, on closer examination the Indian delegation had found that actually just to secure Delhi, five systems would be required costing at that time $ 3.5 billion.

The present cost of the programme will obviously more prohibitive. Plus, the prudence of inducting such a system can also be questioned. For no BMD system can be foolproof. And the induction of such systems can lead to a nuclear arms race because to ensure ‘first strike ‘ capacity, a country like Pakistan will require to produce larger and more sophisticated nuclear missiles.

India May Ink Nuke Sub Deal, Hold back on S-400 Missiles, FGFA During Modi's Russia Visit
Indians are requested to Hold their respective orgasms for a while.

Perhaps Russia has tied it to the confirmation of FGFA

@Windjammer @MastanKhan @Oscar

Here is the situation.

India and France have finalized the RAFALE deal for 126 (36 +90). It's just a matter of announcing the deal during the summit level talks scheduled around 26th Jan, 2016.

Indian and Russia have already finalized the S-400 deal but Russia is apprehensive that India may loose interest in PAK-FA/FGFA (in short term) once it has closed the deals for S-400s & RAFALEs hence has linked the S-400 deal with PAK-FA.

India in principle has agreed to the purchase of FGFA but is awaiting details on work share and schedule.

India and Russia would announce the deal for S-400s and 3 squadrons of PAK-FA during the summit.

FGFA deal most likely will be deferred to next year.

a little reality check needed here

70,000 cror = 7,000,000,000,000 = 7 Trillion INR = USD 106,120,000,000 = US$106 Billion
India didn't have US$10 Billion to buy Rafael, I think in excitement Indians stop counting zeros or does 70 thousand cror means something else in Inda?

Correction: 70,000 cror = 700,000,000,000 = 700 Brillion INR = USD 10,612,000,000 = US$10.6 Billion
These lacs and crores always confuse me

India seals Rs 70,000 crores missile deal with Russia

Read more at India seals Rs 70,000 cr missile deal with Russia

New Delhi, Nov 2 (UNI) In what could easily be said the biggest ever defence deal with Russia, India has stitched a contract to acquire S-400 anti-ballistic missile systems from Moscow at a cost of around Rs 70,000 crores, top sources in the Defence Ministry said here today.

The modalities, including the price of deal and number of systems to be acquired, were agreed upon in the meeting of India-Russia Inter Governmental Commission on Military-Technical-Cooperation (IRIGC-MTC) which concluded today in Moscow, with Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar co-chairing it jointly with his Russian counterpart Sergei Shoigu.

The mega deal, along with an agreement to get another nuclear submarine, is likely to be formally signed during the visit to Russia of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who would be travelling to Moscow sometime in December for an annual summit with President Vladimir Putin, the sources told UNI.

Read more at India seals Rs 70,000 cr missile deal with Russia

70,000 cror = 7,000,000,000,000 = 7 Trillion INR = USD 106,120,000,000 = US$106 Billion
India didn't have US$10 Billion to buy Rafael, I think in excitement Indians stop counting zeros or does 70 thousand cror means something else in Inda?
You are the one who is in excitement. Instead of counting 0s. I will tell you simple thing. $1B = 6600 crore (conversion rate 1$ = 66 Rs).
Now do the math and correct your post.

You are adding in an extra 0. The deal would be close to $11 Billion. India can easily afford this, given growing economy.

1 crore = 10 million
10 million x 70,000 = 700 billion Rupees
700 billion / 60 = ~11.6 billion USD

you are correct about one extra zero, probably this time I got excited :D but 1 USD equals 66 INR (65.96306 to be exact) not 60

You are adding in an extra 0. The deal would be close to $11 Billion. India can easily afford this, given growing economy.

1 crore = 10 million
10 million x 70,000 = 700 billion Rupees
700 billion / 60 = ~11.6 billion USD

Inshah Allah, but Janab I still feels PAF should opt for Su-34 rather than Su-35.

Lets see what happens, but Su-35 was very unlikely directly, either China purchase them and lease them to PAF, otherwise there don't see them coming to pakistan.

This is my openion Baki Khuda Khair Kare.
Sure , we dont think much about how & who will be pushing our hands towards SU- 35 s we mean bussines ?
Thanks for reply !

Indian defence minister has himself confirmed the S-400 sale interview to Russian Tass news on Oct.30.This will be among several deals that will be signed during Modi's visit to Russia in December when he will meet Putin himself.
The recent visit of Defence minister was to lay groundwork for these deals.

TASS: Military & Defense - Indian Defense Minister: I have always seen Russia as an all-weather friend for India
It not says about any agreement about the subject in concern , all it explains is that , India,s anticipation to get the deal done ?
But I think , you would have posted it after your PM,s visit to , Russia you can be in a better position ?

Sure , we dont think much about how & who will be pushing our hands towards SU- 35 s we mean bussines ?
Thanks for reply !

It not says about any agreement about the subject in concern , all it explains is that , India,s anticipation to get the deal done ?
But I think , you would have posted it after your PM,s visit to , Russia you can be in a better position ?

Yes everything will be clear by December third week.

Should be posted then ?
Till then its just a wish list of Indian defence minster ?
Lol.No.
All the groundwork i.e. negotiations on pricing, no of systems etc were done by defence minister himself.
Modi and Putin will do just the formal signing.

Russian stuff is always 'no strings attached', it is why they are still so popular as defence exporters and a much more viable alternative to the West for the most advanced systems.
I meant strings attached from our side..like no deal with Pak and more Nuke Subs, more involvement in PakFA etc..

Here is the situation.

India and France have finalized the RAFALE deal for 126 (36 +90). It's just a matter of announcing the deal during the summit level talks scheduled around 26th Jan, 2016.

Indian and Russia have already finalized the S-400 deal but Russia is apprehensive that India may loose interest in PAK-FA/FGFA (in short term) once it has closed the deals for S-400s & RAFALEs hence has linked the S-400 deal with PAK-FA.

India in principle has agreed to the purchase of FGFA but is awaiting details on work share and schedule.

India and Russia would announce the deal for S-400s and 3 squadrons of PAK-FA during the summit.

FGFA deal most likely will be deferred to next year.

Not happening, we first need to wait till the 36 are signed. The 90 further is not happening as the DM has clarified it. India will instead order 3 sds off the shelf PAKFA, around 2 sqds would come in by 2020. Rafale will be stuck at 36 if at all, at a later date perhaps next decade around 2021 another 2 sqds will be ordered when money is found.

India may sign an agreement or lease a second nuclear submarine 'Nerpa' during Prime Minister Modi's visit to Moscow next month.

However, it may hold back on buying the S-400 anti-missile system and the fifth generation fighter aircraft (FGFA). These were some of the topics that came up for discussion at the India-Russia Intergovernmental Commission for Military-Technical Cooperation (IRIGC-MTC) which concluded in Moscow earlier this week.

Even though the India ministry of defence did not divulge any detail about the IRIGC-MTC it is believed that India held off on a plan to to buy the S-400 Triumf ballistic missile defence (BMD) system due to its high cost.

Retired Air Marshal PK Barbora told Defenseworld.net that an Indian delegation was given a demonstration of the S-400 back in the in the early-2000s, when he was air attaché at the Indian embassy in Moscow. At that time too, the Russians wanted to sell the system to India. They had hinted that to secure New Delhi, the country will require one unit of the BMD. That was to cost then $ 700 million.

And, on closer examination the Indian delegation had found that actually just to secure Delhi, five systems would be required costing at that time $ 3.5 billion.

The present cost of the programme will obviously more prohibitive. Plus, the prudence of inducting such a system can also be questioned. For no BMD system can be foolproof. And the induction of such systems can lead to a nuclear arms race because to ensure ‘first strike ‘ capacity, a country like Pakistan will require to produce larger and more sophisticated nuclear missiles.

Indians are requested to Hold their respective orgasms for a while.

Perhaps Russia has tied it to the confirmation of FGFA

@Windjammer @MastanKhan @Oscar

Incorrect reporting here, S-400 wasn't ready in early 2000s, it was advanced s300 that was demoed. S-400 is not expensive when one considers what it brings to the table. A full regiment costs around 750 million, the deal will benefit from 'Make in India thus over-all costs will be slightly lower. We'll end up with at least 12 full regiments. We can expect a lot of the vehicles, missile etc. to be eventually be assembled in India. By the time assembly begins in India around 2020, we'll have received around 2 full regiments.

Lol.No.
All the groundwork i.e. negotiations on pricing, no of systems etc were done by defence minister himself.
Modi and Putin will do just the formal signing.
Formal signing may be or maybe not , it all depends on different anticipation s of different parties with different prriorties in their minds ?