• Do'nt Know

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

ashok mourya

(Reuters) - India announced on Saturday a modest 7.9 percent increase in defence spending for the fiscal year starting April 1, suggesting that it will move only gradually with the military's long wish list for fighter jets, ships and artillery.

After years of neglect, India is trying to narrow the military gap with China, which has been building up its fleet of ships and submarines making forays in the Indian Ocean.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, unveiling the federal budget for 2015/16, said defence spending will rise to 2.47 trillion Indian rupees ($40.07 billion). For the current fiscal year, the allocation was 2.29 trillion rupees, a jump of 12 percent over the previous year.

"Defence of every inch of our land is above everything else," Jaitley said.

But the limited rise in the military budget - three-quarters of which is spent on maintaining the world's third largest standing force - means only some new weapons will be ordered this year.

Gurmeet Kanwal, a retired brigadier and fellow at the Vivekananda International Foundation, a New Delhi think tank with ties to the government, said the state has to make initial downpayments for a range of pending orders.

He listed them as 126 fighter aircraft from Dassault, 197 light helicopters, 145 Ultra-light Howitzers, 15 Apache attack helicopters and 22 CH-47F Chinook medium lift helicopters.

The navy needs new submarines and stealth ships to counter the Chinese presence in the Indian Ocean, which New Delhi has long seen as its sphere of influence.

China is expected to authorise robust 2015 defence spending this coming week despite its slowing economy, largely to beef up the navy with anti-submarine ships and develop more aircraft carriers beyond the sole vessel in operation.

Last year, the two giant neighbours were locked in a stand-off on their disputed Himalayan border that cast a shadow on President Xi Jinping's first summit meeting with Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

But economic ties have rapidly expanded between the two countries and Modi is expected to visit China later in 2015.

(Reporting by Sanjeev Miglani; Editing by Richard Borsuk)
n.reuters.com/article/2015/02/28/india-budget-defence-idINKBN0LW0BB20150228

India announces over Rs4 trillion defence budget - thenews.com.pk
NEW DELHI: India on Saturday announced its ambitious defence budget amounting to 2.47 trillion Indian rupees ($40.07 billion, almost 4 trillion Pak rupees) a 7.9 percent increase for the fiscal year starting April 1, suggesting that it will move only gradually with the military’s long wish list for fighter jets, ships and artillery as Narendra Modi’s government presented its first budget.

After years of neglect, India is trying to narrow the military gap with China, which has been building up its fleet of ships and submarines making forays in the Indian Ocean.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, unveiling the federal budget for 2015/16, said defence spending would rise to 2.47 trillion Indian rupees ($40.07 billion). For the current fiscal year, the allocation was 2.29 trillion rupees, a jump of 12 percent over the previous year.

“Defence of every inch of our land is above everything else,” Jaitley said.

But the limited rise in the military budget - three-quarters of which is spent on maintaining the world’s third largest standing force - means only some new weapons will be ordered this year.

Gurmeet Kanwal, a retired brigadier and fellow at the Vivekananda International Foundation, a New Delhi think tank with ties to the government, said the state has to make initial down payments for a range of pending orders.

He listed them as 126 fighter aircraft from Dassault, 197 light helicopters, 145 Ultra-light Howitzers, 15 Apache attack helicopters and 22 CH-47F Chinook medium lift helicopters.

The navy needs new submarines and stealth ships to counter the Chinese presence in the Indian Ocean, which New Delhi has long seen as its sphere of influence.

40 billion dollars for the defence budget for a country that has more poor people than entire African continent?Really Indian govt. are out of touch to the day to day reality of India.

You know you are trolling. So I am leaving you just by saying , Defence of every inch of our land is above everything else

You people are there to bring us back to reality. :tup:
Well I have found on internet that Indian govt. decreases the education budget which is already very low compared to military budget,so it seems your radical hindu govt. want to keep indian masses ignorant and piss poor to ensure there grip on power.

The plan is that your country will generously lend us money to make ends meet. Because:

Indian GDP: $1.9 trillion
Bangladesh GDP: $150 billion

Indian GDP per person: $1500
B'desh GDP per person: $950

So why should we worry about money, when we have a super rich neighbour like you to help us?

Well I have found on internet that Indian govt. decreases the education budget which is already very low compared to military budget,so it seems your radical hindu govt. want to keep indian masses ignorant and piss poor to ensure there grip on power.
Well, if you "found on internet", how can we ever doubt your credibility?

You know you are trolling. So I am leaving you just by saying , Defence of every inch of our land is above everything else
To counter Pakistan you don't need 40 billion dollars budget.20 billion will do the job.And for china India could never achive parity on military terms for a long term peroid.So wasting on so much money on military is pointless.I think this over inflated budget comes from India's super power delusion.

Do people know they're trolling or is it the genes?

To counter Pakistan you don't need 40 billion dollars budget.20 billion will do the job.And for china India could never achive parity on military terms for a long term peroid.So wasting on so much money on military is pointless.I think this over inflated budget comes from India's super power delusion.

Of course they dont want to counter Pakistan.

They want to counter both Pakistan and China.

latest

The plan is that your country will generously lend us money to make ends meet. Because:

Indian GDP: $1.9 trillion
Bangladesh GDP: $150 billion

Indian GDP per person: $1500
B'desh GDP per person: $950

So why should we worry about money, when we have a super rich neighbour like you to help us?

Well, if you "found on internet", how can we ever doubt your credibility?

Budget 2015: Over 2% cut in education budget; new IITs, IIMs to be set up | Latest News & Updates at Daily News & Analysis
Budget 2015: Over 2% cut in education budget; new IITs, IIMs to be set up
Saturday, 28 February 2015 - 9:22pm IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: PTI

The education sector saw over a 2% cut in the outlay announced in the Union Budget on Saturday, even as the government proposed to set up new IITs and IIMs in some states. The slash in the education sector as compared to the revised allocation in 2014-15 is 2.02%.
  • 314779-education-rna-crop.jpg
    Representational Image dna Research & Archives
The education sector saw over a 2% cut in the outlay announced in the Union Budget on Saturday, even as the government proposed to set up new IITs and IIMs in some states. The slash in the education sector as compared to the revised allocation in 2014-15 is 2.02%.

In all, school education and higher education sectors have got Rs 69,074 crore. The revised estimate for 2014-15 was Rs 70,505 crore. The cut is, however, about 16.54% if compared with the actual outlay the 2014-15 fiscal.

Notwithstanding the cut though, HRD Minister Smriti Irani described the Budget as "pragmatic" and said she was "extremely grateful to the allocation of funds for higher learning and also about the thrust on innovation through funding".

While the school education sector has got an outlay of Rs 42,219.50 crore for 2015-16, the higher education sector has got Rs 26,855 crore.

The thrust has been on the higher education sector with the announcement of an IIT in Karnataka and upgradation of Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad into a full-fledged IIT, capping a long standing demand for the people in Jharkhand.

"I propose to set up an IIT in Karnataka, and upgrade Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad into a full-fledged IIT," Finance Minister Arun Jaitley had said in his Budget speech. "IIMs will be setup in Jammu and Kashmir and Andhra Pradesh," he added.

The Minister also announced setting up of Institutes of Science and Education Research in Nagaland and Odisha.

A Centre for Film Production, Animation and Gaming in Arunachal Pradesh and Apprenticeship Training Institute for Women in Haryana and Uttarakhand has also been proposed.

Jaitley also announced the setting up All India Institutes of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) in Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Himachal Pradesh and Assam.

It's only for the past 7-8 years that India has been spending so much. Between 1980-2000 , the expenditure on military was peanuts which led to accumulation of soviet era obsolete junk. The recent increase is to compensate for all those years. Secondly , the expenditure in terms of % of GDP is still around 2% , lower than Pakistan and China and majority of G20 nations.

For an economy that has had annual average growth of some 5% for the past 5 years or so,7.9% is a huge increase。:D

Budget 2015: Over 2% cut in education budget; new IITs, IIMs to be set up | Latest News & Updates at Daily News & Analysis
Budget 2015: Over 2% cut in education budget; new IITs, IIMs to be set up
Saturday, 28 February 2015 - 9:22pm IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: PTI

• 314779-education-rna-crop.jpg
    Representational Image dna Research & Archives

In all, school education and higher education sectors have got Rs 69,074 crore. The revised estimate for 2014-15 was Rs 70,505 crore. The cut is, however, about 16.54% if compared with the actual outlay the 2014-15 fiscal.

Notwithstanding the cut though, HRD Minister Smriti Irani described the Budget as "pragmatic" and said she was "extremely grateful to the allocation of funds for higher learning and also about the thrust on innovation through funding".

While the school education sector has got an outlay of Rs 42,219.50 crore for 2015-16, the higher education sector has got Rs 26,855 crore.

The thrust has been on the higher education sector with the announcement of an IIT in Karnataka and upgradation of Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad into a full-fledged IIT, capping a long standing demand for the people in Jharkhand.

"I propose to set up an IIT in Karnataka, and upgrade Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad into a full-fledged IIT," Finance Minister Arun Jaitley had said in his Budget speech. "IIMs will be setup in Jammu and Kashmir and Andhra Pradesh," he added.

The Minister also announced setting up of Institutes of Science and Education Research in Nagaland and Odisha.

A Centre for Film Production, Animation and Gaming in Arunachal Pradesh and Apprenticeship Training Institute for Women in Haryana and Uttarakhand has also been proposed.

Jaitley also announced the setting up All India Institutes of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) in Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Himachal Pradesh and Assam.

Right, so the govt is setting up more IITs, IIMs and AIIMS to keep people uneducated, as you said. Brilliant deductive logic.

We have ambitions unlike few countries. Afterall you cannot give up in the race for survival. As far as we competing with China, ofcourse we can, India has A very robust economy, Indian Stock Market is the second best among Great Economies.

The defence budget accounts for nearly 13.88 % of the total central government expenditure for the year 2015-16 which is Rs 1,777,477.04 crore. While the government had last year alloted Rs 2.29 lakh crore in the budget, it was revised to Rs 2,22,370 crore. Today's budget represents a growth of about 7.74 % over last year's budget estimates.

However, it is far below what China spends on its defence. China's defence spending was USD 132 billion in 2014-15, a figure that many believe is under reported.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley underlined that defence of "every square inch of our mother land" comes before anything else.

"So far, we have been over dependent on imports, with its attendant unwelcome spin-offs," he said, adding that government has already permitted FDI in defence. He said this was done so that the Indian-controlled entities also become manufacturers of defence equipments, not "only for us, but for export".

Speaking on the steps taken to boost the defence sector, Jaitley said the government is working towards self- sufficiency through the Make in India programme in defence equipment including aircraft and added that the government has been both transparent and quick in making defence equipment related purchase decisions.

"This year too, I have provided adequately for the needs of the armed forces. As against likely expenditure of this year of Rs 2,22,370 crore the budget allocation for 2015-16 is Rs 2,46,727 crore," he said in his budget address. He has earmarked Rs 94,588 crore for military modernisation, which works out to 38 % of the total defence outlay.

Incidentally, Rs 12,622 crore meant for modernisation last year remained unspent. Of this, Rs 5,992 crore was diverted towards revenue spending. India is seeking to fast-track its military modernisation and has a number of pending deals ahead like the multi-billion contract for 126 multi-role combat aircraft contract. The other major acquisitions expected to be finalised include the deals for 22 Apache combat choppers, 15 Chinook heavy-lift helicopters and besides new submarines and vessels for the Indian Navy.

In 2010, India overtook China as the world's biggest importer of defence equipment, according to the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute. Indian Air Force, Army and Navy have placed orders worth Rs 83,858 crore from 2011 to the last fiscal.
Defence budget hiked by nearly 11% | Latest News & Updates at Daily News & Analysis

Attachments

• bh1.pdf
    273.8 KB · Views: 31