India offers to export electricity to Pakistan

I agree Pakistan has the right to be Self reliant in this field. Infact every country has the right to be self reliant. You must also understand the difficulty India had to face from outside and inside for the Nuclear Deal. India had to dish out 60 yrs of diplomatic experience to convince first the Americans and all other countries for waiver. It cannot Afford to look away if any other country demands tit for tat.

I would suggest Pakistan uses the best opportunity to immediately sort out the power shortage, start up its factories and crank up the economy. Nuclear Deal Will Follow without a shadow of doubt

People who are saying it's not wise of GOI to offer power to Pakistan when we have shortage oirself needs to understand the implication of electricity transmission & distribution. It will never be economically viable to transmit electricity from say Gujrat to Bihar or Assam or Tamilnadu. But to transmit it just across the border to Pakistan does make economic sense, both for India as well as Pakistan.

as for states like Bihar Orisa, assam etc, New alternatives have to to explored. North-east (Specially Arunachal) have the hydal potential of more then 35 Gigawatts..

The work have already started L&T is building first tower first phase is to be completed by 2014 at the cost of Rs. 4500 crore (US$ 1 billion) .

The first phase of the project will comprise 12 towers spread across 10 million sq ft of built up area. Of these, half a million of space is being developed by L&T alone, according Mankad. On completion, the financial services hub will span a total area of 68 million sq ft at around Rs 60,000 crore of project cost at current prices.

No its separate project by Gujarat govt. DMIC is central+states kind of project.

thats great news...do you have any info on DHOLERA SIR ??

People who are saying it's not wise of GOI to offer power to Pakistan when we have shortage oirself needs to understand the implication of electricity transmission & distribution. It will never be economically viable to transmit electricity from say Gujrat to Bihar or Assam or Tamilnadu. But to transmit it just across the border to Pakistan does make economic sense, both for India as well as Pakistan.

as for states like Bihar Orisa, assam etc, New alternatives have to to explored. North-east (Specially Arunachal) have the hydal potential of more then 35 Gigawatts..

Why do you think they will accept this offer from us when they said no to their friends Iran etc. They know at the time of war, this will be terminated.
Let us help them become self reliant first.

I am suffering from 3 hours of power cuts in my village daily and here they are trying to sell electricity to pakistan :hitwall:

How about we import their coal from their vast reserves and sell them the excess electricity. We already are importing coal from Australia why not from Pakistan. Our Coal India can set up shop there and expoit their reserves. Win-Win for both of us.
:cheers:

This shall by no means, slow down the progress on solar energy development and coal gasification projects.

I wonder if the electricity would cost less than what Turkmenistan had offered?

It is premature to comment on cost because what guarantees will be set in contract are unknown.

How about we import their coal from their vast reserves and sell them the excess electricity. We already are importing coal from Australia why not from Pakistan. Our Coal India can set up shop there and expoit their reserves. Win-Win for both of us.
:cheers:

How is the ash content in Pakistan Coal?? Australian coal has the lowest ash content!!

Do they (indians) have enough electricity to export Pakistan?

Ja na i don't care electricity na ho mujhe beizzati nai chahye
Uper se jo bhi baatein ho hum sab ko asliyat pata hai hum abhi bhi unke dushman hai aur wo abhi tak humare dushman hai

^^^^
It is most likely from state of Gujarat where they have enough surplus. They can't deliver it to AP because of line loss.

And there are mega power plants in pipeline both thermal as well as non-conventional

^^^ India is also planning WORLD'S BIGGEST Nuke plant- if backward idiots don't delay it- to start soon!

^^^^
It is most likely from state of Gujarat where they have enough surplus. They can't deliver it to AP because of line loss.

And there are mega power plants in pipeline both thermal as well as non-conventional

modi Gujrat?

Thank you we do not need modi electricity.