India moves to end primary teaching in English as Modi unveils major education reforms

Who the hell knows the meaning of words like "aavedan patra" or "sankshiipt" :-)o: I'm not even sure that's a word I think made it up)?
I do :)

This demonstrates what I was just saying, I know many who wouldn't know the meaning of those, even Delhi waalas. So you're a Marathi ? Bombay folk even speak a different type of Hindi. "apun" is not a thing in north India (del, up, mp, haryana.. cow belt basically)

"kidhar jaane ka hai?" "maaloom nahi" "barabar hai" mostly in Maharashtra and in the south of India.

up in the 'cow belt' we would say:

"kahan jaana chahte ho?" "pata nahi" "theek hai" instead

these nuances are everywhere in most big countries.. Texas and New York/Chicago are different.. the southern drawl.. accents and how you use words and construct sentences...that kind of thing.

Good move by Modi Ji to encourage the little ones to have a solid foundation and be grounded in local Indian culture. Far too many urban folk only speak good English, and only basic versions of their local tongue, Hindi or otherwise.

I believe it all comes down to what language one thinks in.
When I speak Hindi or Marathi, my thought process is still in English (even though my Hindi is quite fantastic if I may say so myself), I just cannot get myself to have an entire conversation without using English language fillers.
could also be that perhaps I don’t know the specific Hindi words for certain nouns and verbs.
Devanagari is one of the most perfect scripts. You basically write what you speak perfectly in it. There are no silent words like in English. Also, if you read it perfectly, you speak it perfectly.

For example, in English (Roman script), the pronunciation of 'o' in ghost and orange is different. So even if you read both words, an untrained English speaker won't be able to pronounce it. People reading Devanagiri don't have to second guess pronunciations of what they read and thus can speak perfectly. Devanagiri clearly trumps the Roman script here.

https://7sabnism.wordpress.com/2009...cript has an,the vowel notation is obligatory).

Devanagari is one of the most perfect scripts. You basically write what you speak perfectly in it. There are no silent words like in English. Also, if you read it perfectly, you speak it perfectly.

For example, in English (Roman script), the pronunciation of 'o' in ghost and orange is different. So even if you read both words, an untrained English speaker won't be able to pronounce it. People reading Devanagiri don't have to second guess pronunciations of what they read and thus can speak perfectly. Devanagiri clearly trumps the Roman script here.

I had the worst Marathi teacher possible in school. She was the singular reason that many people in our class hated Marathi.

tula shaata Marathi yet nahi bhad khau..
Where was your school?
In Maharashtra?

I actually love and prefer the sound of Marathi to UP-Bhayya Hindi. :woot: Don't remember much as not in use in years.

An ICSE school in South Mumbai (was just called "Bombay" then). I had studied Marathi from Grades 5 to 9. But it was a third language in ICSE board, so was not that important back then. Only God knows how I cleared those exams. It's just that I was put off by the Devangari script.

But I'm willing to learn that beautiful language now, as long as it's in English script.

I had the worst Marathi teacher possible in school. She was the singular reason that many people in our class hated Marathi.

I love the sound of Marathi. It has that earthy feel.

Yay, but will not read it as it's written in Devangari.

I actually love and prefer the sound of Marathi to UP-Bhayya Hindi. :woot: Don't remember much as not in use in years.

An ICSE school in South Mumbai (was just called "Bombay" then). I had studied Marathi from Grades 5 to 9. But it was a third language in ICSE board, so was not that important back then. Only God knows how I cleared those exams. It's just that I was put off by the Devangari script.

But I'm willing to learn that beautiful language now, as long as it's in English script.

Cheating

I'm all in for reducing stress on little kids.
partial restrictions on English for first 5 years is not end of the world.