India Ignoring Islamic Countries

Veeru

India Ignoring Islamic Countries

28th Nov, 2010: Accusing the centre of not maintaining the warmth and cordial relations with the Islamic countries as in the earlier days, Advisor to the President of Sudan, Ahmed Abdur Rahman Mohammed, reminded that such a policy was against the wishes of the Father of the Nation, Mahatma Gandhi.

Speaking at a program organised by the Indo-Arab League at Hyderabad to express solidarity with the Islamic World at Jubilee Hall on Sunday, Abdur Rahman stated that Gandhiji was keen to build, promote and strengthen relationships between India and the Islamic countries.

Abdur Rahman reminded that India was the founder-member of the Non-Aligned Movement, and had traditionally stood up and raised its voice to support any oppressed country in the world.

The distinguished guest accused the western countries of trying to drive wedges among the various Islamic countries of the world and their friends. He also cautioned the Indian government to be alert about these devious plans and not to fall prey to their conspiracies.

The dignitary called on the people of India and the government to work towards strengthening the relations between India and Sudan.

Pointing out that a large number of students from his country availed of the educational facilities in India, Abdur Rahman thanked the people for welcoming the students with open arms.

Congress Working Committee member K Keshav Rao stated that the centuries old relationship between India and Sudan could not be broken easily. He added that the UPA government would try and strengthen the relationship.

Keshav Rao recalled how former Prime Minister, the late Jawaharlal Nehru, had taken out a handkerchief and designed the map of Sudan when that country attained independence.

Iran Counsel-general Mahmood Safari told the visiting dignitary that Iran also supported Sudan. He accused the West, particularly United States and Britain, of trying to break up the Islamic countries, especially Iran, Sudan, Palestine and Afghanistan.

CPI leader and MP Aziz Pasha stated that the West could not digest the progress of Sudan in the wake of oil and precious metals being unearthed there. He alleged that the American government was playing politics by provoking one group against another.

Editor of respected Urdu daily and Indo-Arab League Chairman Syed Viqaruddin stated that the P V Narasimha Rao government had started the trend of siding with the West instead of India's traditional allies.

MLC Hafiz Peer Shabbir Ahmed and Prof. Punnaiah also spoke.

India Should Renew Ties With Islamic Countries: Sudan Envoy - Hyderabad News on fullhyd.com

According to many of my Indian friends who we've discussed this issue with tangentially, Iran, Saudi Arabia and other muslims countries are of "no importance" to India and India couldn't "care less". It appears its not just forum participants from India that hold this view, but also the Indian Foreign Office.

Very interesting.

Keshav Rao recalled how former Prime Minister, the late Jawaharlal Nehru, had taken out a handkerchief and designed the map of Sudan when that country attained independence.

huh? can someone explain that to me please?

According to many of my Indian friends who we've discussed this issue with tangentially, Iran, Saudi Arabia and other muslims countries are of "no importance" to India and India couldn't "care less". It appears its not just forum participants from India that hold this view, but also the Indian Foreign Office.

Very interesting.

They are economically important. That's it.

When it comes to other issues like Climate Change, International Disputes, Terrorism etc. and other such issues, not many care about them on the world stage because they have no real say in these matters.

OIC countries are also against Indian intersts, when they pass resolution in favour of Kashmir (which is internal matter of India).

Saudi has always maintained that New Delhi always send Muslim only ambassador to Saudi Arabia (US-Russia-China are exempt from this). in my opinion, its demeaning for a country like India.

What is the sauce for goose, should be the sauce for gender, thats indian view point then.

OIC countries are also against Indian intersts, when they pass resolution in favour of Kashmir (which is internal matter of India).

Saudi has always maintained that New Delhi always send Muslim only ambassador to Saudi Arabia (US-Russia-China are exempt from this). in my opinion, its demeaning for a country like India.

What is the sauce for goose, should be the sauce for gender, thats indian view point then.

Is that true?

We should ask them to send only a non-muslim woman as ambassador in that case...... friggin nuts

@Islamic countries: Ctrl+H the word 'Kashmir' in the OIC charter with 'blank spaces' and then we will talk business.

Heheheh :-) Ok.

If that's your condition for talking business, I guess you won't be talking business anytime soon :-)

Is that true?

We should ask them to send only a non-muslim woman as ambassador in that case...... friggin nuts

Well said!

But Saudis apparently have edge over India, because 1.5 million Indians are working there. If there is any tiff, they will stop Indian immigration (as they did stop Sikhs from entering thier kingdom few years ago.

well most of them oppose indian membership in oic,and on other way india needs oil which we get.
i dont think they have more to provide.
for tech india looks to west n israel.so everything is balanced

Is that true?

Arre toh kya problem hai yaar? Agar unhe aisi tuchchi cheezon mein khushi milti hai toh badhiya hai. Just make them happy, uske baad apna kaam nikaalo aur chalte bano. Tata bye bye.:wave:

Very interesting.

You are not serious right?
We do care a lot about Saudi and other gulf countries.We get most of our oil from them and also millions of Indians work there.Your claim that we think that they are of no importance is totally flawed.

Well said!

But Saudis apparently have edge over India, because 1.5 million Indians are working there. If there is any tiff, they will stop Indian immigration (as they did stop Sikhs from entering thier kingdom few years ago.

well i seriously doubt they can stop 1.5 million workers overnight.

problem is we would never know how they are going to react because indian netas wont even think about doing that.

i am surprised BJP RSS havent made a big issue out of this yet.