dray
"Rain Man, post: 7160871, member: 145873"]And interiors of some the luxury buses in India!
The above is a picture of a seven-star multi-axle (three axle) super luxury bus by SVLL Scania (Siddhi Vinayak Logistics Ltd. - SCANIA JV). This is _the_ epitome of luxury travel in India. By comparison what @Shimz posted is normal three star luxury buses in Bangladesh in local use everyday - by the hundreds. The expectation of our passengers is just a bit higher. And we don't need SCANIA JV to put in 'new' luxury, has been there for ages. Not comparing apples to apples here.
The above are CBU imported buses (not Made in India) used by OLIVEA Travels - who are known as cheats and thugs. This is a notorious scam outfit. Those in India - beware!
Again - Siddhi Vinayak Logistics Ltd., These SVLL buses were designed by Dilip Chhabria (DC) and the service is called SVLL Connect. These are super luxury segment again.
This is an Ashok Leyland 'Luxura Magical India Bus' - which was a one-off concept vehicle not in production even, much less being in revenue service. If it was produced then it would be used as a special charter - and not daily revenue service.
The above is not an Indian bus - 'Scania Touring' made in China by Higer Bus.
The above is not an Indian bus. It's the image of a 'Northstar 788' - a bus operated by Northstar Transport Inc. of the Philippines. Locally made in the Philippines with HINO Chassis.
The above is the image of a Leapliner luxury bus that travels from Boston to NYC on a daily basis. Not an Indian bus. Leave it to your chhota aukat Internet copy-pasters from India to claim it as Indian.
The two Indian super luxury buses shown above as Made in India are highly customized one-off projects made for replacing airline travel. Very few companies like this exist in India (e.g. SVLL and OLIVEA). These are essentially large limousines for hire which are many times more exclusive and luxurious than daily revenue vehicles - unlike what @Shimz showed above about Bangladeshi buses. We should be comparing apples with apples.
I didn't say those buses are only from Indian companies, we are not comparing that because Bangladesh doesn't make any buses, but these kind of buses operate in India. And I also mentioned that those are luxury buses, not for daily city travel. Though the AC buses that we have for daily travel are also very good.
For everyone's benefit - let's clarify something.
AL _bought_ 'OPTARE commercial/electric vehicles' in the UK (above examples are OPTARE's UK designed products especially the SOLO) and is planning to upgrade their bus and truck lines in India using OPTARE's modern designs. OPTARE was going to go bankrupt and AL jumped in and bought the company at a discount price. Works well for their markets in India.
Here's the real story,
Ashok Leyland to bring Optare electric buses to India - Team-BHP
However they should tread lightly. If marketing to Euro and North American markets, saying 'Indian made' is like a death-knell. No one who cares about a quality product will buy things branded that way. See the OPTARE badging above? Does it say Ashok Leyland anywhere? No.
That's why you never see 'Tata' mentioned anywhere near a Jaguar- Land Rover showroom. Even the salespeople sometimes deny it. It's a bad brand image.
These types of purchases by Indian firms only benefit their home markets by technology infusion. Same reason why Tata bought Daewoo's truck division.
Aarey bhai, for everyone's benefit, Optare now is a Ashok Leyland company, that's it!
Kehne ka Harz hai kya?
As if this is some great untruth...foisted on innocent Indians by rogue scheming Bangladeshis....
It's simply not me - go ask any Bangladeshi on the streets - especially truck/bus operators, drivers, riders and everyone else. It is ground reality. I'm just pointing it out. A little harsh to hear but it is what it is...
South Asia, including India is known for overloading and bad roads, and Tata & Ashok Leyland buses work fine without breaking apart, your photo of one truck with broken axle after an accident with a bus proves nothing. Indian trucks may not be as good as Volvo, but they don't cost like Volvo either.
Besides, cost of maintanance is much lower in terms of service charges and cost of spare parts compared to those western trucks. A road side garrage with low-skilled service guy can fix a Tata or Ashok Leyland trucks, one would need trained engineers with high end equipment to fix those Volvos and Mercs.
However, companies like Tata, Ashok Leyland, Mahindra, etc. are coming up with western design trucks at a lower cost, you can give it a try. I am posting some pictures below.