India clashes with Pakistan at UN

HAIDER

UNITED NATIONS: India’s external affairs minister took on Pakistan at the United Nations on Monday for raising the disputed Himalayan territory of Kashmir.

S. M. Krishna told the General Assembly that India has resumed dialogue with Pakistan and wants to normalise relations.

But he lashed out at a speech last week by President Asif Ali Zardarif, saying the neighboring nation had no business meddling in India’s predominantly Muslim state of Jammu and Kashmir, which India claims as sovereign territory.

”An unwarranted reference has been made to Jammu and Kashmir from this podium,” he said, adding, ”We wish to make it abundantly clear that Jammu and Kashmir is an integral part of India.”

Zardari said in his speech that Kashmir remained ”a symbol of the failures of the United Nations system rather than its strengths.” He said a solution could only be reached in an ”environment of cooperation.”

As the annual high-level meeting of the General Assembly wound down on Monday night, representatives of India and Pakistan traded several rounds of rebuttals before a mostly empty chamber.

A violent separatist insurgency that started in 1989 drew a crackdown by Indian forces that has killed about 68,000 people in Kashmir, where public resentment against Indian rule runs deep.

The rebellion is largely suppressed, with occasional flare-ups. The Indian army said last week that a fierce gunbattle killed a suspected rebel and a soldier.

Earlier this month, Indian police arrested Merajuddin Wani, one of the longest-surviving rebel commanders in Indian-controlled Kashmir.
India clashes with Pakistan at UN | DAWN.COM

As the annual high-level meeting of the General Assembly wound down on Monday night, representatives of India and Pakistan traded several rounds of rebuttals before a mostly empty chamber.

Source: http://www.defence.pk/forums/strate...-india-clashes-pakistan-un.html#ixzz286qnTclr
Empty chamber because no one is interested in Pakistan's bellyaching over Kashmir any more! It's an issue that can only be sorted out BILATERALLY. And the world knows it.

India should realise that Zardari invoked Kashmir in his speech at the UN just to please his constituency back home in Pakistan. It means squat to everyone else, so why should Krishna get into a verbal duel? He should have just ignored Zardari's comments and moved on to more important things. :smokin:

We dont have to put our military in Kashmir... Kashmir will come to Pakistan itself.. Kashmiris are sick and tired of Indians

P O K is sick and tired of Pakistan and its terror central hub, it will be peaceful and prosperous with India. Pakistan is nothing but a failed state of biblical proportions, that offer no jobs, no security, and no future for its people. Talibanisation and dictatorship is next on the card.
:tdown:

P O K is sick and tired of Pakistan and its terror central hub, it will be peaceful and prosperous with India. Pakistan is nothing but a failed state of biblical proportions, that offer no jobs, no security, and no future for its people. Talibanisation and dictatorship is next on the card.
:tdown:

*** is doing alright actually. No sepertist movements no violence...

And I think India does that where 5000 children die everyday in India to poverty, 70% of children malnourished in India, 70% poverty, overall a slum filled country and the worlds open defecation hub.... SIck no wonder you moved away from India

Simple theory hai .
If Pakistan today could have been a loyal and a powerful country then the UN i.e. US :lol: would have gifted Kashmir to Pakistan long ago .
The situation stands as for today is , India has turned out to be a prospect for economic hub and hence its reach and strength has increased . Thus all this talk from west over its friendship with India over the last decade .
Actually Indians sitting in the UN are foolish . They should have immediately created a ha-bla about the Balochistan situation and regarded it on equal terms with Kashmir statement .
Instead of replying to this Zardaris statement we should have diplomatically sorted about Balochistan situation in the international arena .I guess a chance missed but nevertheless remember this probability that Kashmir is a long gone wet dream of Pakistan now .

Thankyou !!

*** is doing alright actually. No sepertist movements no violence...

And I think India does that where 5000 children die everyday in India to poverty, 70% of children malnourished in India, 70% poverty, overall a slum filled country and the worlds open defecation hub.... SIck no wonder you moved away from India

as expected comment

So who wants Aman ki Asha, it is Aman ka tamasha that's what it is.

The problem here is we are ruled by the corrupt who don't know how to talk, what to talk & what to do etc.

Gen. Musharraf was a perfect leader for Pakistan & he was handling the Kashmir issue well & India was forced to come on table to solve Kashmir issue & Kashmir issue was near to get solved.

Kashmir is not part of India & it will never be part of India. Palestine & Kashmir issue are a like both have been occupied by the occupying forces ILLEGALY & both claim the same.

Kashmir is and will be a part of India. Its simple and now Pakistan should understand that. its been 65 yrs and 3 wars and almost anarchy in current Pakistan, do you want it to end or not?

Peace should prevail btw both nations and Pakistan should be supportive on Indian efforts in Kashmir.

So who wants Aman ki Asha, it is Aman ka tamasha that's what it is.

The problem here is we are ruled by the corrupt who don't know how to talk, what to talk & what to do etc.

Gen. Musharraf was a perfect leader for Pakistan & he was handling the Kashmir issue well & India was forced to come on table to solve Kashmir issue & Kashmir issue was near to get solved.

Kashmir is not part of India & it will never be part of India. Palestine & Kashmir issue are a like both have been occupied by the occupying forces ILLEGALY & both claim the same.

The reality is Kashmir is with India and will be a part of it for ever, the sooner you understand and digest it the better.

But he lashed out at a speech last week by President Asif Ali Zardarif, saying the neighboring nation had no business meddling in India’s predominantly Muslim state of Jammu and Kashmir, which India claims as sovereign territory.

”An unwarranted reference has been made to Jammu and Kashmir from this podium,” he said, adding, ”We wish to make it abundantly clear that Jammu and Kashmir is an integral part of India.”

India clashes with Pakistan at UN | DAWN.COM

Good reply by S.M Krishna. If you will keep harping about kashmir in UN or anywhere else then you are not contributing to the peace efforts between two countries. :)

We dont have to put our military in Kashmir... Kashmir will come to Pakistan itself.. Kashmiris are sick and tired of Indians

And let me put it in a Blunt way, Acc to your media propaganda 68,000 ppl have died so far in our integral part of India! so even from now onwards, even if 68 Lakhs more will die for the same, we don't give a flying f#$k! We can't give a inch of our territory to anyone just on the basis of Different religion.

We have already lost such huge chunk of our Land in 1947 just because people of diff religion wanted so. Its done for good (Thank God for that), But not anymore!! If anyone wants a land purely on the bases of religion can move and settle down in our neighboring "Land of Shudh people" on our western border.

"Kashmir is ours and will remain ours till eternity! period!"

And believe me if "GOI" will ever in any freakin condition think of otherwise, then i can assure you, me and my community will take up arms against my own government!

So,the sooner you and your paid stooges in kashmir will understand this the better for you and all of us!

Kashmir is not going anywhere and to sum it up in one line read by signature!!!