IMF urges Pakistan to freeze govt salaries

313ghazi

ISLAMABAD:

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) has urged Pakistan to freeze salaries of government employees and adhere to the fiscal consolidation path by showing a nominal primary deficit in the new budget – the two demands that Islamabad finds hard to digest.
The IMF is insisting that Pakistan should continue to follow the fiscal consolidation path due to a high and unsustainable public debt that is set to hit 90% of the total value of national economy.

The outbreak of the deadly novel coronavirus has exposed vulnerabilities of Pakistan’s economy that had already been struggling owing to weak economic foundations that caused fiscal and current account deficit crisis after every four to five years.

Owing to the prevailing tight fiscal situation, growing public debt and Pakistan’s decision to seek debt relief from G20 countries, the IMF was asking Islamabad to freeze salaries of government employees, said sources in the Ministry of Finance.

However, the government is resisting the demand due to high inflation that has eroded people’s real income.

Nonetheless, it is inclined to abolish over 67,000 posts that have remained vacant for over one year and is also ready to further squeeze current expenditures including a ban on purchase of vehicles.

The proposal of ending the car monetisation allowance for grade-20 to 22 officers also came under discussion in the Ministry of Finance but it was unlikely to be implemented at the current stage.

The IMF’s key demand, which was also the reason for seeking to freeze the salaries, was that the government should announce a primary budget deficit target – total deficit excluding interest payments – of only Rs184 billion or 0.4% of gross domestic product (GDP).

Pakistan has its own reasons for resisting the IMF’s demands as it does not see a significant jump in revenue collection in the next fiscal year due to the prevailing economic conditions. The government is also inclined to give a raise in salaries due to high inflation that has eroded the real income of people, said the sources.

The government will unveil the budget on June 12 and struggles to strike a balance between continuing with the fiscal consolidation and providing an impetus to economic growth. The finance ministry is keen to restore the IMF programme and is holding video conferences with the IMF staff in Washington.

Against the IMF’s demand for the 0.4% primary budget deficit, the government has proposed that the target should be 1.9% of GDP or Rs875 billion. The expenditure on interest payments, estimated at Rs3 trillion or 6.5% of GDP in the next fiscal year, is in addition to that.

This means the budget deficit target, as suggested by the IMF, will be around 7% while the federal government sees the realistic deficit target at 8.4% of GDP or Rs3.9 trillion.

For this fiscal year, the estimated primary deficit is 2.9% of GDP and the IMF wants a fiscal adjustment of 2.5% within one year.

Another issue between Pakistan and the IMF was the FBR’s tax target, which the IMF has proposed to be Rs5.1 trillion. The FBR thinks it cannot collect more than Rs4.7 trillion. Another FBR target that is currently under discussion is Rs4.990 trillion.

For this fiscal year, the IMF had set a Rs5.5-trillion tax collection target but actual collection is likely to remain around Rs3.9 trillion.

The politically sensitive issue for the government is the increase in salaries of civilian and military employees.

In the last budget, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government had announced a 10% increase in salaries of grade-1 to 16 officers and a 5% raise was given to the officers serving in grade 17 to 20.

No raise had been given to the government and military officers serving in the two highest basic pay scales of grade 21 and 22. The Joint Staff Headquarters has forwarded a request to the Ministry of Finance through the Ministry of Defence for an increase in salaries.

The secretaries’ committee has recommended a 100% increase in basic salaries of all employees working in the Pak Secretariat – the seat of federal bureaucracy – aimed at keeping the talent and offsetting the impact of high inflation.

The government is considering 10-15% pay raise and around 10% increase in pensions. Total estimated cost of running the civil government in the next fiscal year is Rs495 billion and around half comprises the salary bill. Another Rs475 billion may be allocated for paying pensions in fiscal year 2020-21.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2235689/2-imf-urges-pakistan-freeze-govt-salaries/

==========

Considering we've had all this talk of austerity i'm surprised this hasn't happened earlier. It should be the case for all levels of govt, other than govt officials in the lower ranks, ie the cleaners, cooks, security, drivers, - low paid staff. They will pay a big political price for this though - if they do the bureaucrats will be up in arms, if they don't the twitterati will be outraged.

Govt must focus on e-governance, it's a win-win. lower costs due to less babus, also higher transparency therefore less chance of corruption and more chance of things actually getting done. Also this gives an opportunity to replace the old guard with IT literate staff.

PM Imran Khan's billionaire friends like Cheeni Chor Jehangir Tehreen and Pervez Khattak should be able to easily pay Government salaries for years to come.

the one IMF dictation i agree with , completely

govt size has to be cut down drastically to ease burden on economy .
-------------

went to passport office today = its shut closed indefinitely since march .

went to SECP office = closed

many other govt offices = same situation

army is going to work ,businesses are open, banks are open, factories are open, and these leeches, aka the government departments are NOT DOING their job and have shut themselves in. all the while, taking salaries

Any word or donation by supreme leader nawaz sharif on corona or PIA incident?

5 million houses

10 million jobs.

a reminder !

-------------

army is going to work ,businesses are open, banks are open, factories are open, and these leeches, aka the government departments are NOT DOING their job and have shut themselves in. all the while, taking salaries

If we had e-governance, all these things could continue without much risk. I work in IT and have worked every day on full pay during this whole Corona epidemic, because my company had the infrastructure to support us all WFH. If anything my worklife has improved during this period.

Same is true for E-learning. A lot of teaching could be continue if our schools and colleges had e-classrooms (same is true for the UK unfortunately). I worked in the higher education sector previously and the institute I worked at considered the e-learning platform as essential as any lecture theatre or teaching room - more so.

Why do we expect kids to understand concepts taught to them for 15-20 minutes in a classroom? Why not record that teaching and upload it so they have access to it at home. Support it with links to additional reading/videos so they can do extra research and then re-watch the content the teacher created to help re-enforce their understanding.

This is brutal, freezing salaries of govt employees.This is new low of pakistan economy and is pointing towards long term recession.

Hold the door!!!!

It's not really brutal though. In the UK when we went through austerity govt employees and govt budgets were the first to be slashed/frozen. Why should govt be exempt, it is not a holy cow. Lean government is essential, focus on jobs should be in private sector.

However, the government is resisting the demand due to high inflation that has eroded people’s real income.

Surely patwaris missed this part because it doesn't suits their propaganda.

If we had justice, zardari and malik riaz's money would be funding govt employees for years to come.
or better sell the land grabbed by faujis illegally and pay the salaries for years!

both side equally chor

-------------

I agree. Even if we ignore the corona part, our bureaucratic unproductive state machinery inflated over time need to be cut to size and reformed. In Sindh e.g. it is an undeclared corrupt arm of PPP political workers, if you buy a property and go to DC office you cannot get your work done without giving bribe ( just quoting one personal experience out of many). In construction (immediate experience) the rate for roof slab is 8 lac for every floor, small commercial project.

@Syed1. and @blueazure no more abuses or insults. I have said this is the past and i will say it here again, this is NOT YOUR PRIVATE space, not your Facebook page or Profile or your whats-app where you can you can spread whatever filth you want to. Any more personal abuses and insults will lead to warning. I have stopped myself from issuing warnings to you both as that would have ended up in ban.

Learn to respect each other on public forum. You are here to debate and discuss your point of view, not enforce it upon others. Yes everyone will get angry if other side shamelessly keep speaking lies but that do not mean you start getting personal. Argue with each other but in a civil manner!

And also take back 5.5 years salary back as they didnt even work from steelmill employees which is around i think 445 crores.
boss why selective justice only politicians are not corrupt fyi army is the largest land holder in pakisran, biggest real estate company

kahan hota hai ya sab?

boss why selective justice only politicians are not corrupt fyi army is the largest land holder in pakisran, biggest real estate company

kahan hota hai ya sab?
Corrupt politicians allowed the army to not only usurp power but also to get involved in shady business. Had the politicians not moulded the system to allow open corruption then army wouldn't have gotten the space to also indulge in it.

Having said that the army has shown a desire under Raheel Sharif and Qamar Bajwa to reform and if we have a continuation of two three successive clean democratic governments then the army will be cleaned out too..Keep in mind the army isn't like PPP/PML-N who are still defending their corruption and saying they did nothing wrong.