IMF shock therapy continues. Electricity tariffs to be 'revised' quarterly

Giving money to the govt is like giving money to a drug addict. It won't help. The govt lives in a different reality. They don't have to earn their money. They can print it or extort it.

or it's the govt departments (including PM, President & offices of armed forces+ other offices)
All public sector office departments are run by tax payers money.

I mentioned what I had seen with my own eyes in terms of Gali Muhalah bijli chori.

Giving money to the govt is like giving money to a drug addict. It won't help. The govt lives in a different reality. They don't have to earn their money. They can print it or extort it.
Days where people can avoid paying tax are gone.

Everyone will pay taxes one way or the other.

Classic case of protecting the powerful people and as we say in Punjabi "kutti choran naal ral gai"

Big defaulters get Rs200 billion bailout
By zafar bhutta
Jan.25,2019
ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government on Thursday decided to bail out big defaulters by waiving 50% of their outstanding dues – or around Rs200 billion – on account of the Gas Infrastructure Development Cess (GIDC).

100% correct. Can't argue with that.

I mentioned what I had seen with my own eyes in terms of Gali Muhalah bijli chori.
Yes they are run by tax payers money and from the same tax payer money they should pay their utility bills, right?? --- what's this practice of defaulting if govt depts and than recovering money from the Awaam and than accuse the same Awaam for theft --- Yani, "hamari juti aur hamara hi sar"

O Bhai, this kundas in gali muhallah, how much they account for total theft, 5% 10% at most 15% ---- People in this forum are having hard time to admit that the defaulters, thieves and kundas are mostly Govt itself and the powerful ones having connections with govt.

Is circular debt my problem?
the govt has vowed to end this by 2020, it's past mid 2019, what has the govt done to date to tackle this issue?

Circular debt arises due to electricity theft+ defaulters ---- electricity thieves are mostly the power elite+ those who have connections with this elite --- The defaulters are mainly govt institutes/departments.

Instead of fixing the thieves/defaulters, the govt raises tariff, is this justice? --- I along with millions others pay our bills honestly, is this the reward of our honesty?

Imran Khan is a typical ruler of our political system ---- He doesn't have the capability/vision/courage to fix the system and is typically burdening the Awaam.

My post irritated you, Na?
this is what happens when you are hardcore supporter of a party and have to defend every good/bad of your party.

We have reasonable amount of discussions in the recent past, you have a weak memory, but let me remind you --- I don't polish shoes of any party and it's leader --- Pmln, PPP along with your PTi can go to HELL and really don't care, ALLAH Qasm. ------ so Plz don't waste your time/bandwith by writing that I am a patwari aur Wo bhi "Hardcore", ha & ha.

Now coming to the topic,
write down the comparison ---- don't behave like a typical PTi boy, this & that happened in the past.

and one more news, your PTi govt is going to withdraw RD on imported goods including luxury items (direct orders from IMF)

Call it badmashi/Jagga Tax .

There's a solution to every problem and our problems also have solutions, but to implement those solutions/plans, we need a revolutionary leader; the one who is a visionary+ has courage + ability to think out of the box.

the legendary Imran Khan just like his predecessors is a buffoon.--- This man wants to bring Tabdeeli using the system which is itself responsible for destruction of Pakistan.

This man IK has been installed (I would say bad choice) and all he has to do is to Obey. ---- The poor soul can't even have his own economics team ---- just to give an example, I know he doesn't want increase in electricity tariff, but he has no authority to object to plans implemented by others.
You quoted me..ans than forgot facts and that irkes me..
Youthias jiyalas and matwals/patwaris i will correct them all with facts

E.g blame the PTI for not deciding on gas for more than a year or not initiating cheap power through competitive bidding and so on....

This setup wants us to believe that it's the Awaam who are the Defaulters+ Thieves -- Let the govt publish the list of BIG DEFAULTERS of gas & electricity, than we will see if it's the people from Gali Muhallah @Cent4 or it's the govt departments (including PM, President & offices of armed forces+ other offices) and the big industrialists/ agriculturists + belonging to sectors like cng/fertilizer/textile etc.,
@313ghazi WHy should we be burdened for the default of powerful + govt depts ?

Classic case of protecting the powerful people and as we say in Punjabi "kutti choran naal ral gai"

Big defaulters get Rs200 billion bailout
By zafar bhutta
Jan.25,2019
ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government on Thursday decided to bail out big defaulters by waiving 50% of their outstanding dues – or around Rs200 billion – on account of the Gas Infrastructure Development Cess (GIDC).

@RoadRunner401 WHy argue with me brother, raise your voice against these injustices.

Dear @ziaulislam What has your PTi govt done to recover money from electricity/gas defaulters who are mostly big players including govt depts?
GIDS is under judiciary review And a complicated formula for collection ... Companies & govt method of calculation is different

Oh my God, our ears are going to bleed if we hear one more time.

This is the result of previous governments corruption.

Imran Khan is not a choosni wala bacha, a toddler but he's a man who was a playboy, married three women and then he went on those containers and made these promises and said these specific things.

PMLN government is increasing taxes and inflation. Taxes are bad. Inflation is bad. Electricity prices are increasing, that's bad.IIMF is dictating them.

As soon as i get to power. I will not take loans, i will not increase taxes, inflation or electricity prices.

Now that he's in power. All he can say is previous government this n previous government that.

I knew that Pakistani economy was bad before elections. Did Imran Khan seriously not know? Our intelligence people met with him, army met with him, economists met with him, if i knew what condition the economy was in before elections, then he must have been on some strong drugs to not know this as head of biggest party of Pakistan.

These are all just excuses. Imran Khan is as corrupt as the rest and cunning. I am sure he's money laundering either himself or through JKT or Zulfi Bukhari because he's sucking the blood out of poor, taking loans and inflation to the highest in history of Pakistan and still the economy isn't getting better?

I call bullshit and i am going to support anyone even criminals to bring down this government. My God, the electricity bill almost gave me a heart attack this month and they want to increase it even further?

I miss Purana Pakistan. My and every poor and middle class person life was better. I can't imagine what would happen to me if lose my current job. Whatever money I saved lost its value due to rupees devaluation.

Imran Khan is the worst prime minister of this country.

Where as people including myself have debated how a unbiased police, judiciary, a robust health system and a universal education system is the answer to majority of the problems of Pakistan the key still remains the FBR. All the above suggestions or reforms require one thing and that is money and money is hard to come by. The only way out is FBR version 2. We have one of the regions if not the worlds biggest national data base which is linked to your ID cards and passports, Your cell numbers, your bank accounts and now to your new vehicles or residential / official properties. All we need is an interlinking system which will gather data from the above as well as other databases / resources and come up with a calculation for payable tax amount. It is not rocket science or something diabolical or out of the world. if a+b+c+d+e+f+g+h > X then you either pay tax or you will be scrutinized and out under the lime light. No matter if you are tom, dick or harry, if the sum of the databases is at or above X value you are taxed.
This FBR needs to be done away with. Government has recently transferred thousand of people, would be better if they are sent to surplus pool, corrupt ones dismissed with disrespect and those with shady character dismissed with minimum benefits and no possible future government jobs, contracts or temporary associations via 3rd party. Form a FBR 2.0 and give them the above data and let the "chithrol" begin. Pakistani's are filthy rich, its beyond imagination how much they have stashed inside and outside Pakistan. Sniff them out and you can do wonders with the much needed money. Its now or never.... one can not squeeze the masses in the same press, the horses, mules, donkeys and dogs need to be segregated and treated accordingly.

You quoted me..ans than forgot facts and that irkes me..
Youthias jiyalas and matwals/patwaris i will correct them all with facts

E.g blame the PTI for not deciding on gas for more than a year or not initiating cheap power through competitive bidding and so on....

GIDS is under judiciary review And a complicated formula for collection ... Companies & govt method of calculation is different
Most welcome Janab, correct us all with facts & figures.

Just something to think about.

Pakistan's new rulers grapple with an old problem: How to get people to pay taxes
NOVEMBER 16, 2018 / 4:50 AM / 7 MONTHS AGO

ISLAMABAD (Reuters) - Muhammad Hammad Azhar, one of the youngest ministers in Pakistan’s new government, is the latest in a long line of officials to face a problem that undermines his country’s development: getting people to start paying income taxes.

Ending a culture of rampant tax evasion is expected to be high on the agenda in negotiations this month with the International Monetary Fund (IMF) as cash-strapped Pakistan seeks a second bailout since 2013.

As state minister for revenue, Azhar, 37, says he is planning for long-term reforms. But first, he is banking on improved technology to allow the government to tap existing financial databases to help identify tax dodgers in a nation where less than 1 percent of the population even files income tax returns.

“There is a lot of catching up to do,” Azhar told Reuters in an interview.

One of the world’s lowest tax collection rates partly help explain the shoddy state of Pakistan’s hospitals and schools, and why the

.... Read the rest here ( https://www.reuters.com/article/us-...-how-to-get-people-to-pay-taxes-idUSKCN1NL12W )

Attachments

• upload_2019-7-9_14-27-10.png
    upload_2019-7-9_14-27-10.png
    31.3 KB · Views: 22
Just something to think about.

Pakistan's new rulers grapple with an old problem: How to get people to pay taxes
NOVEMBER 16, 2018 / 4:50 AM / 7 MONTHS AGO

ISLAMABAD (Reuters) - Muhammad Hammad Azhar, one of the youngest ministers in Pakistan’s new government, is the latest in a long line of officials to face a problem that undermines his country’s development: getting people to start paying income taxes.

Ending a culture of rampant tax evasion is expected to be high on the agenda in negotiations this month with the International Monetary Fund (IMF) as cash-strapped Pakistan seeks a second bailout since 2013.

As state minister for revenue, Azhar, 37, says he is planning for long-term reforms. But first, he is banking on improved technology to allow the government to tap existing financial databases to help identify tax dodgers in a nation where less than 1 percent of the population even files income tax returns.

“There is a lot of catching up to do,” Azhar told Reuters in an interview.

One of the world’s lowest tax collection rates partly help explain the shoddy state of Pakistan’s hospitals and schools, and why the

.... Read the rest here ( https://www.reuters.com/article/us-...-how-to-get-people-to-pay-taxes-idUSKCN1NL12W )

Circular debt was 40b/month bribging this to zero by 2020 will be great achievement by it self a feat never achieved in 15 years...
Remember nepra sets th cost so govt cant simply increase the price it has to decrease the loses to nepra limit of 15%

The path they have taken to get out if crisis will lead to destruction. --- our politicians are useless garbage, I I don't expect anything good for them.
With good intention: make our MMS a honorary Financial advicer to your PM.

You know which department helps in tax chori ? That's FBR, even today in tabdeeli govt. Nothing has changed.

You know which department helps in bijli chori ? That's Water and Power development Authority. Even today in tabdeeli govt.

So what's the solution ? Increase utility bills. Very simple!

With so much corruption, even Pakistanis start paying back 99.9% of their income in tax, nothing is going to change.