If Naya Pakistan Becomes Reality, Would You Go Back?

If PTI succeeds in establishing Naya Pakistan, would you go back to Pakistan?

• Total voters
Yep, and that's why Hafeez Sheikh directly mentioned that person making 50,000 PKR a month or less is definitely poor, no income taxes for them. whereas people making much more than that have no right to be complaining about taxes or classifying themselves as "ghareeb".

West can cope with inflation because their society has industrialized, educated themselves, and have an abundance of jobs to enable that. These are all things that PML-N and PPP failed to do in their decades of rule - some are deliberately avoiding to do even now.

Pakistan is not a communist/socialist government that produces all food and can set prices everywhere. Inflation you are complaining about is largely out of their control. If you some plan for stopping it, please share.

PTI is providing subsidies for people who are legitimately poor, channeling BISP and Ehsaas programs to help them through inflation. For those crying that they are poor, but are not really, will have to pay their fair share of taxes. A shop-owner is not making as little as 300-400 PKR a month! Please avoid mixing up regular people with people who are legitimately poor.

For the record, food prices in Saudi were similar to prices in US, unless you go to small joints.
You are really naïve and have no clue about ground realities of Pakistan. Income tax is just one tax. 70% revenue is collected through indirect taxes which is collected on goods and services rather than on income or profits. Rate of indirect taxes is much higher in Pakistan as compare to direct taxes which is creating huge economic inequality in Pakistan.

If your electricity bill is 20000, you are paying 13000 for the cost of electricity used and remaining 7000 rupees are collected in terms of 14 different indirect taxes. That means a total of 35% tax is collected on electricity bills. If your landline telephone bill (PTCL) is 3000, the actual cost of the service is 2100 and remaining 900 is tax. Out of rupees 1000 used on your mobile phone, you pay 380 towards indirect taxes.. The elite class of Pakistan has been given all the privileges so they pay less direct tax and the legislation makes the poor people pay more through indirect taxes.

How Ehsas programme of PTI is any different than scheme of Susta atta, roti , Kapra, Makaan Benazeer income support of previous government ? People are still waiting for 10 millions jobs, 5 millions home which was promised by PTI government ? Police reform? education reform? health reforms? If PTI cannot control inflations and has no plan for economic stability to put less burden on poor then why they were moaning about it during dhranaz

649048-imrankhanlahorerally-1387716178-543-640x480.jpg

why they were asking people to not pay electric bill because of increase in bill ? Why they promised to change something which was not in their control?

Ah! It seems the realization is slowly sinking in, as it does, inevitably. :D
there was always a risk...Which I took...

I know someone willing to do business, but will wait a bit more for law & order situation to improve. I know expats will definitely feel more comfortable when the plots or houses they buy, won't get stolen by land mafia. I am waiting for PTI to require all plots be digitally recorded.
In most places it is fine...but some places it is a bit of a problem ESP if people get to know you arent around!

You are really naïve and have no clue about ground realities of Pakistan. Income Tax is just one tax. 70% revenue is collected through indirect taxes which is collected on goods and services rather than on income or profits. Rate of indirect taxes is much higher in Pakistan as compare to direct taxes which is creating huge economic inequality in Pakistan.

If your electricity bill is 20000, you are paying 13000 for the cost of electricity used and remaining 7000 rupees are collected in terms of 14 different indirect taxes. That means a total of 35% tax is collected on electricity bills. If your landline telephone bill (PTCL) is 3000, the actual cost of the service is 2100 and remaining 900 is tax. Out of rupees 1000 used on your mobile phone, you pay 380 towards indirect taxes.. The elite class of Pakistan has been given all the privileges so they pay less direct tax and the legislation makes the poor people pay more through indirect taxes.
Your post in bold answers your question and is essentially what Imran Khan has been saying. The only way indirect taxes come down, is if people who wrongfully consider themselves to be "ghareeb awam" pay direct taxes. As long as shop-owners, traders, doctors, lawyers, businessmen, companies declaring negative income, and real estate moguls refuse to declare their income and pay taxes, the legitimate poor will pay that imbalance through indirect taxes.

As for your electric bill problem, those who are legitimately poor are not paying these amounts you listed above. After all, how can someone who mentioned making 300-400 PKR pay the bills you are talking about? Many probably don't even have connections. As for you complaints, please get used to it. You can go to many countries like India or Bangladesh, they are paying similar fees & taxes for their electric, phone bills, etc.

How Ehsas programme of PTI is any different than scheme of Susta atta, roti , Kapra, Makaan of previous government ?
I just told you that it was plan to help legitimate poor cope with inflation.

People are still waiting for 10 millions jobs, 5 millions home which was promised ? If PTI cannot control inflations and has no plan for economic stability to put less burden on poor then why they were moaning about it during dhranaz

why they were wasking people to not pay electric bill because of increase in bill ? Why they promised to change something which was not in their control?
Sir, are you serious? None of the stuff you have listed here can be solved by any government in less than a year.

Naya or Purana , humans always migrate to other countries for a better life and opportunities . No matter how good Pakistan become it won't become perfect for everyone . And even if it becomes than we will still have people who will find a way to criticize and throw trash at it.
Noonies and peepees

Your post in bold answers your question and is essentially what Imran Khan has been saying. The only way indirect taxes come down, is if people who wrongfully consider themselves to be "ghareeb awam" pay direct taxes. As long as shop-owners, traders, doctors, lawyers, businessmen, companies declaring negative income, and real estate moguls refuse to declare their income and pay taxes, the legitimate poor will pay that imbalance through indirect taxes.
As for your electric bill problem, those who are legitimately poor are not paying these amounts you listed above. After all, how can someone who mentioned making 300-400 PKR pay the bills you are talking about? Many probably don't even have connections. As for you complaints, please get used to it. You can go to many countries like India or Bangladesh, they are paying similar fees & taxes for their electric, phone bills, etc.
You have zero clue about poverty exist in Pakistan so useless to debate with you. Again tell us how much of GDP is being spent on housing, education, health etc in Pakistan as compare to others south Asian countries i.e India, sri lanka, Bangldesh etc . You want to suck every penny from people through indirect taxes as they pay GST on every transaction they make whether a restaurant bill, phone and electricity or shopping for clothes , even pay charges to Government for withdrawing their own money etc but you hate to give any relief by saying that inflation unemployment , rate of currency is uncontrollable so people should not complain
Sir, are you serious? None of the stuff you have listed here can be solved by any government in less than a year.
Lol I never said complete these project in one year. One million homes and 2 million Jobs each year will make it 5 million homes and 10 million jobs in 5 years ? They have got five years but dont expect them to start and finish these huge projects in last 6 month....Look condition of peshwar BRT lol..

I took the decision to return a year ago and I did earlier this year. After many decades in the west, now going through a cultural shock here. But come what may I am going to be part of the change and spend the rest of my years in help build Pakistan in any and every which way I can.

Naya Pakistan is the biggest fraud sold to Pakistanis after Bhutto zinda hai.

Having seen 6 years of PTI government in KPK, i would believe anything other than Pakistan can improve under Imran Khan.

He's just as corrupt as the rest of them but he's too smart for this dumb nation and it will be quite a few years before they realise how much he looted it under the guise of honesty.

I see the sadiq and ameen honesty everytime i go out and see the BRT.

African countries would become developed but Pakistan cannot. The elites ruling it, their survival and luxuries depend on Pakistan being poor and i don't see any threat to the corrupt elites. They're prospering even more in IK government

people will go where-ever for prosperity. If there are opportunities expats will sure avail them like the rest of us.

I came to help establish it but seems like I came to early :(

What do u plan to do? Teach ?

Pakistan isnt going to get on level of Turkey economically anytime soon let alone western world. But law & order improvement can bring many expats back along with countless other foreign investors.

This comment hits the bullseye. It’s going to take a generation or two, to sort out corruption which has seeped into the fabric of our society.

If our courts can give justice swiftly and govt departments stop demanding bribes for every little job then Pakistan will be amazing for expats and you will see them come in their thousands.

I’m seriously thinking of coming back in 3-4yrs time ان شاء الله regardless of the success of Naya Pakistan... so let’s see how that pans out

I took the decision to return a year ago and I did earlier this year. After many decades in the west, now going through a cultural shock here. But come what may I am going to be part of the change and spend the rest of my years in help build Pakistan in any and every which way I can.

Extremely brave of you bhai. May Allah ta’ala make it easy for you. What do you do here?

What do u plan to do? Teach ?

This comment hits the bullseye. It’s going to take a generation or two, to sort out corruption which has seeped into the fabric of our society.

If our courts can give justice swiftly and govt departments stop demanding bribes for every little job then Pakistan will be amazing for expats and you will see them come in their thousands.

I’m seriously thinking of coming back in 3-4yrs time ان شاء الله regardless of the success of Naya Pakistan... so let’s see how that pans out

Security is number 1 issue and Im not even talking about terrorism which is overrated. But fact is countless overseas Pakistani properties get occupied which they cant get it back.