IAF deploys Sukhoi fighters in Punjab

IND151

071_8127w5.jpg

India Tuesday inducted its frontline Sukhoi combat planes at its air force’s Halwara base in Punjab, bordering Pakistan.

The Su-30 MKI, the India-built version of the Russian-origin combat jets, will replace the now phased out Soviet-origin MiG-23 planes in the 220 Squadron that is also known as ‘Desert Tigers’.

The MiG-23 planes were retired from the Indian Air Force (IAF) service in 2005. With the induction of Sukhois, the squadron got revived at Halwara.

The Sukhoi induction was done by Delhi-based Western Air Command’s (WAC) chief Air Marshal Arup Raha in the presence of his wife Lily Raha, according to a defence press release.

India had bought the Sukhois from Russia and inducted them first in 1997. The MKI variant for India is built by the Bangalore-based public sector Hindustan Aeronautics Limited under license.

A frontline all-weather air-dominance fighter with multi-role capability, Sukhois can undertake varied air combat and ground attack missions.

Air Force Station Halwara is one of the oldest forward air bases of the IAF set up in 1942 by the British.

Halwara, due to its strategic location, was actively involved in both 1965 and 1971 India-Pakistan wars.

It was home to Spitfires in early 1950s and later converted into a MiG-23 operations base till 2009.

In 2011, Halwara was chosen to be the first Sukhoi squadron base under the WAC.

IAF deploys Sukhoi fighters in Punjab | idrw.org

071_8127w5.jpg

India Tuesday inducted its frontline Sukhoi combat planes at its air force’s Halwara base in Punjab, bordering Pakistan.

The Su-30 MKI, the India-built version of the Russian-origin combat jets, will replace the now phased out Soviet-origin MiG-23 planes in the 220 Squadron that is also known as ‘Desert Tigers’.

The MiG-23 planes were retired from the Indian Air Force (IAF) service in 2005. With the induction of Sukhois, the squadron got revived at Halwara.

The Sukhoi induction was done by Delhi-based Western Air Command’s (WAC) chief Air Marshal Arup Raha in the presence of his wife Lily Raha, according to a defence press release.

India had bought the Sukhois from Russia and inducted them first in 1997. The MKI variant for India is built by the Bangalore-based public sector Hindustan Aeronautics Limited under license.

A frontline all-weather air-dominance fighter with multi-role capability, Sukhois can undertake varied air combat and ground attack missions.

Air Force Station Halwara is one of the oldest forward air bases of the IAF set up in 1942 by the British.

Halwara, due to its strategic location, was actively involved in both 1965 and 1971 India-Pakistan wars.

It was home to Spitfires in early 1950s and later converted into a MiG-23 operations base till 2009.

In 2011, Halwara was chosen to be the first Sukhoi squadron base under the WAC.

IAF deploys Sukhoi fighters in Punjab | idrw.org

Just wanna know from anyone.what would happen if war broke out & Pakistani F16 & Su 30 MKI are confronted head to head???

Late move but a good one nonetheless .
Let it be known to those aggresors that if you deploy your f 16 's in your punjab we will give a karara jawab .

Bhai ye bhi koi pooche waali baat hai :lol:
1 mki can take down a dozen of that 1960's technology .

Bhai I am talking abt F-16C/D Block 52+ of PAF..can u give some statistical comparison ???????????

Just wanna know from anyone.what would happen if war broke out & Pakistani F16 & Su 30 MKI are confronted head to head???

hard to tell

however, extent of modernization of both AFs, number of AWACs deployed, number of fighters used will determine the outcome

as of now IAF enjoys significant superiority in this case because it has heavy,jet AWACs and MKI can work as mini awacs too

plus MKI can carry up to 10 missiles, while F 16 can carry up to 6 missiles

Bhai ye bhi koi pooche waali baat hai :lol:
1 mki can take down a dozen of that 1960's technology .

Actually, you are wrong. Each MKI has 10 BVR's, each of which contains 10 warheads that it can deploy. Each missile has enough fuel that it can chase a space shuttle to the moon. So 1 MKI with full load, 10 milles = 100 PAF jets. Damn, you guys over spent the money. All you needed was 4 MKI total with 40 BVR's (and 4 MKI and 40 BVR's as spares)....PAF would be done with those :). I have a feeling that the 4 spare MKI's and the 40 bvr's will never be put to use as no PAF plane would be left. The ones that might escape will default to India. India will have air supremacy with 4 MKI's over entire Pakistan.
Similarly, 10 MKI's with 100 missiles will take care of the Chinese. India will always live long and the rest of the world is doomed and bowing in front of the Indian might!!! New world order after 3013.

Actually, you are wrong. Each MKI has 10 BVR's, each of which contains 10 warheads that it can deploy. Each missile has enough fuel that it can chase a space shuttle to the moon. So 1 MKI with full load, 10 milles = 100 PAF jets. Damn, you guys over spent the money. All you needed was 4 MKI total with 40 BVR's (and 4 MKI and 40 BVR's as spares)....PAF would be done with those :). I have a feeling that the 4 spare MKI's and the 40 bvr's will never be put to use as no PAF plane would be left. The ones that might escape will default to India. India will have air supremacy with 4 MKI's over entire Pakistan.
Similarly, 10 MKI's with 100 missiles will take care of the Chinese. India will always live long and the rest of the world is doomed and bowing in front of the Indian might!!! New world order after 3013.

Now that you have earned your 2 cents from this thread you can take this trolling of yours to another one and earn some more .

Yep, another move that confirms that China, not Pakistan is india's main focus of attention :tup:

Please Read the news again . It is replacing Mig 23 at Halwara Air Base . So It has not Much to do with Pakistan .

Here it goes again.........:P