How States and Union Territories in India got their name?

Inidan Occupied Kashmir is illegally occupied by India. Therefore it is a disputed territory and will remain so unless a just solution is found.

You can keep spreading your propaganda, but that does not change the facts on ground.
If you have to visit J&K then you need VISA from Indian Embassy.
Its not matter how much you bitch & moan but that does not change facts on ground.

That's not true buddy.... We are not I can bet on this ..... You are the first person ever in my life claiming this however I have very large friend circle who reside in UK but belongs to different parts of UP.... There are many outsider especially UP wala who now settled in my home town amicably buddy..... I even have friends from Sikh community who settled there in UK after 47 partitions.....
@Blue_Eyes dekh kya bol rahe hai log pahari ko..... Supremacist .....
Flaunting a ethnic distinction is not supremacist attitude as in my DP buddy....
@Aarush @manishmaithani dada
because uttaranchal name was given by the BJP Govt.it was their political decision while the region is always known as Uttarakhand. In Ancient scriptures too the region is known as Kedarkhand and Manaskhand..
Khand means "land" in sanskrit and original movement for a separate state was for Uttarakhand .

its not like which name sounds good.

please care to explain how??
I have no ill will against Paharis,i am too from Uttaranchal .... population wise we are much more,Industries are located in plains,Almost all the revenue for the state (except tourism) came from plain Districts notably Haridwar,US Nagar ..... most of the food grains ,Fruits,Milk,Sugar are produced in plains.

But all the MPs are paharis,all important posts are occupied by them while they are so SELFISH to serve their own people in far off districts where people from plains serves living 400 km from his home district,secondly pahari dominated govt devoid non pahari people ....they have to be a resident of state for 30 years for reservation benefits .. People from other states can't apply for employment (except UKPSC)

You ask any pahari if he wants to be posted in Hill district he would out rightly refuse instead he wants to be in lucrative district and finally settle there after making enough money from corruption.

I have no ill will against Paharis,i am too from Uttaranchal .... population wise we are much more,Industries are located in plains,Almost all the revenue for the state (except tourism) came from plain Districts notably Haridwar,US Nagar ..... most of the food grains ,Fruits,Milk,Sugar are produced in plains.

But all the MPs are paharis,all important posts are occupied by them while they are so SELFISH to serve their own people in far off districts where people from plains serves living 400 km from his home district,secondly pahari dominated govt devoid non pahari people ....they have to be a resident of state for 30 years for reservation benefits .. People from other states can't apply for employment (except UKPSC)

You ask any pahari if he wants to be posted in Hill district he would out rightly refuse instead he wants to be in lucrative district and finally settle there after making enough money from corruption.

bad apples are everywhere.and what you state is problem which is more or less is problem of each state that is "corruption"... it doesn't depicts that paharis in general are corrupt...

You have some valid point but those are political in nature buddy n not enforced by the pahari masses on political honchos n you should also not forget brother it was pahari who paid the price for uttrakhand at first place ..... Rest of your post needs a very detail answer, I guess @Aarush would like reply you on that....

You have some valid point but those are politically divisive move buddy not enforced by the pahari masses on political honchos n you should also not forget brother it was pahari who paid the price for uttrakhand at first place ..... Rest of your post needs a very detail answer, I guess @Aarush would like reply you on that....
like i said i have nothing against paharis in general ,i live with them since my childhood as a neighbour,friend and a brother but as i stated the objective and dreams of making a separate state never fulfilled instead power and decision making has been limited to few Paharis while the plain suffer along with common paharis and as for the contributions of paharis in making the state i am fully agree with you and salute them as martyrs.

Buddy I just had an objection with label of Supremacist though some of your points are valid which needs to be heard..... Btw where do you live buddy....?

Good... Chora Ganga kinare wala..... I live not far from you... Rishikesh.... Roorkee me kidhar mere dost..... Aawas vikas Ki taraf mere relative rehte hai.... Mere sardar dost bhi rahte hai mere udhar ....

Uttar Pradesh – Uttar Pradesh means ‘Northern Province’.
Its high time UP is divided into 4 states of 50m each. And have proper names like Avadh and Budelkhand rather that Northern Province. Same goes for MP.

MP is doing fine buddy....

Good... Chora Ganga kinare wala..... I live not far from you... Rishikesh.... Roorkee me kidhar mere dost..... Aawas vikas Ki taraf mere relative rehte hai.... Mere sardar dost bhi rahte hai mere udhar ....
Ashok Ngr Roorkee cant

Nice threads buddy...
Little more details about my state
Uttarakhand (/ˌʊθəˈrɑːˌkʌnd/),[2] formerly Uttaranchal,[3] is a state in the northern part of India. It is often referred to as the Devbhumi (literally "Land of the Gods") due to the many Hindu temples and pilgrimage centres found throughout the state. Uttarakhand is known for its natural beauty of the Himalayas, the Bhabhar and the Terai.

Uttarakhand also served as a habitat for Rishis and Sadhus. It is believed that the sage Vyasa scripted the Hindu epic Mahabharata in the state.[10] Among the first major dynasties of Garhwal and Kumaon were the Kunindas in the 2nd century BCE who practised an early form of Shaivism and traded salt with Western Tibet.

@levina we believe Adi Sankaracharya took Samadhi near kedarnath .... Whats the story in kerala.....
Adi Sankara is believed to have died aged 32, at Kedarnath in the northern Indian state of Uttarakhand, a Hindu pilgrimage site in the Himalayas.[29][31] Some texts locate his death in alternate locations such as Kanchipuram (Tamil Nadu) and somewhere in the state of Kerala.[27]
Source Wikipedia...

Adi Shankara birthplace is Kaladi .
There is a legend about him.He was born to an old parent through the blessing of Shiva.
They worshipped Lord Shiva and later Lord appeared and gave two choice.Either they will get an insane son but will live fora long time or a brilliant beautiful son but live only for 16 years.
Parents took second choice and Adi Shankara was born.Within 8 yearshe learned 4 vedas and 6 Shastras.
At the age of 16 Veda Vyasa debated with him about Mahabharat and later he blessed him for another 16 years.
There is no proof about this may besome myth.

But Adi Shankara visited Sarvanja Peeth in Kashmir after defeated entire scholars
in Bharat.AFAIK he stayed around somewhere in Himalaya ,somewhere in Uttranchal.
If he was returned to South he would have been at birth place.

Why did the name changed from Uttaranchal to Uttarakhand ?
Uttarakhand was the name given by the people of northern part of UP that comprised the areas of Garhwal and Kumaon hills. The two neighbouring hill areas demanded a separate state and naming it a movement for garhwal state or kumaon state would not have united the hill people. Almost all the organizations that supported a separate state were agreeable on the name uttarakhand. BJP too supported the creation of new states of Jharkhand and Uttarakhand but they preferred to call it Vananchal and Uttaranchal. It was during their regime that the new states were created and the govt. issued notification in the names of Jharkhand and Uttaranchal. However, people & the organizations that fought for the separate state in the name of Uttarakhand could not relate much with the new term Uttaranchal and demanded the change of name which, if i am not mistaken, the congress govt. readily obliged.