How Hefazat-e-Islami has become Sheikh Hasina govt’s Frankenstein in Bangladesh

They operate out of Hathazari in Chittagong... Bad place, cesspool of misguided mullahs and grave worshippers.

Bangladesh will not advance until the hundreds of madrasas in this area are shut down.

Destroy the Madrasa & Mazaar cult, build a better, communalism free Bangladesh
No, lol, I'm not misinformed, things aren't so clear on the surface,.. it's more nuanced and intricate than that.

Chittagong is a hot bed of Sufis, grave worshippers, pir, quamis, tableeghis and so on...

There only a handful of salafis in BD (non violent ones, let's not talk about the hardliners)..

Both from my maternal and paternal side, I come from families that are very much deep into the Sufi mysticism culture, they believe in pirs and so on...

And each of the pirs and Chelas in this 'cult' that they follow are, guess what, a product of Qaumi madrasas...

On paper they're unlike the other but on the surface, they're all working together in dhormor bebsha aka religion business.

We also have a big pir, Tayeb Shah who is from Sialkot, Pakistan, he visits ctg every year and millions pay him visits when he makes his week long visit on the Prophet's 'birthday',... And apparently he's a descendant of the prophet too.

The people who are drowned in this cult send their kids to Qaumi madrasas, so you tell me.. which is which.

He espouses this Mazaar culture and his cult/organisation is managed by none other than the students of Qaumi madrasas.

I understand there are two sections of Deobandis, one that permits grave worship and one that doesn't. Shafi Ahmad is a graduate of Deoband and a student of Shiekh Nanotvi if I remember correctly, these guys don't allow none of that grave worshipping nonsense.

Ironic, UK/Europe Sufis are sometimes referred to as the peaceful section of Muslims.

Hifazat and awami league bhai bhai..let them settle their differences. No need to intervene in their personal matter.

Hajur , is hefajat also indian stooge?
Or suddenly AL became team of Mumin?What say you? :sarcastic:

Wouldn't be surprised that he is another one of those "Hindus khatry main hain" people. They go soft on rising extremism in India citing all kind of ridiculous explanations.

@Bilal9 sir would you please tell a bit about this group? Thanks.

Thanks for tagging me - though I doubt I am an expert on these folks. What follows are my own views and I could be off the mark by far.

Indian liberals (as others have already mentioned) are a strange bunch.

As long as Bangladesh takes a hard stance on "Islamist extremists" they are happy.

Which is odd, because Islamist extremism was not that strong at any time in Bangladesh, because of general negative views on Bangladeshi societies about extremism of any kind.

However like you said, they go soft or completely neutral on criticizing Hindutva extremism at home.

These Indian liberals will never take a strong stance about protecting their own minorities (Muslims included) at home.

But the story is the exact opposite in Bangladesh for Bangladeshi liberals, who take a strong position for Hindu oppression, and often get out on the street to demonstrate visibly with banners.

It would not be too out of line if we call Indian liberals fake ones (I'd even go as far as calling them opportunists).

I understand there are two sections of Deobandis, one that permits grave worship and one that doesn't. Shafi Ahmad is a graduate of Deoband and a student of Shiekh Nanotvi if I remember correctly, these guys don't allow none of that grave worshipping nonsense.

Ironic, UK/Europe Sufis are sometimes referred to as the peaceful section of Muslims.

In Bangladesh - the original Islamic saints who spread Islam were all Sufis (and mostly pacifists, for that matter).

However the veneration of the tombs of Sufi saints (denigrated and looked down upon - as close to Hinduism or "shirk") remains an issue between Sufism and revivalist sects of Islam such as Salafism.

To quote wiki:

" In most other Muslim-majority countries, attacks on Sufis and especially their shrines have come from adherents of puritanical and revivalist schools of Islamic thought (Deobandi,[2] Salafi movement, Wahhabism, and Islamic Modernism), who believe that practices such as visitation to and veneration of the tombs of Sufi saints, celebration of the birthdays of Sufi saints, and dhikr ("remembrance" of God) ceremonies are bid‘ah (impure "innovation") and shirk ("polytheistic"). "

That wiki page provides a list of violent events against Sufi targets, which interestingly enough do not include any such thing in Bangladesh itself, presumably because most Muslims in Bangladesh are followers of Sufism to start with, meaning Bangladeshis who are serious about following Islam.

Sufi Mysticism (and practices) have always been at odds with what some Islam followers believe as "Pure Islam".

The most recent event I believe that was an indicator of such controversy a few weeks ago was where Dr. Sheikh Yaseer Qadhi on his YouTube channel spoke about sufism and tomb veneration, and that got a lot of Salafists riled up and talking about refuting Dr. Qadhi on their respective YT channels.

@Al-zakir bhai I don't know if you've been following this, but it has been quite a bit of news in the Bangladeshi and Pakistani communities lately.

'Print' and Shekhar Gupta share some of the neutral views in India. He has criticized both BJP and Congress in India at different points. Feel free to see his videos on Youtube.

His "criticisms" are more like "Yeh toh accha nahi hai" type utterings.

The kind you say to your bawarchi after they serve you something mildly unpleasant...

I follow Mr. Gupta regularly on YT. I know what he says.

In Bangladesh - the original Islamic saints who spread Islam were all Sufis (and mostly pacifists, for that matter).

However the veneration of the tombs of Sufi saints (denigrated and looked down upon - as close to Hinduism or "shirk") remains an issue between Sufism and revivalist sects of Islam such as Salafism.

To quote wiki:

" In most other Muslim-majority countries, attacks on Sufis and especially their shrines have come from adherents of puritanical and revivalist schools of Islamic thought (Deobandi,[2] Salafi movement, Wahhabism, and Islamic Modernism), who believe that practices such as visitation to and veneration of the tombs of Sufi saints, celebration of the birthdays of Sufi saints, and dhikr ("remembrance" of God) ceremonies are bid‘ah (impure "innovation") and shirk ("polytheistic"). "

That wiki page provides a list of violent events against Sufi targets, which interestingly enough do not include any such thing in Bangladesh itself, presumably because most Muslims in Bangladesh are followers of Sufism to start with, meaning Bangladeshis who are serious about following Islam.

Sufi Mysticism (and practices) have always been at odds with what some Islam followers believe as "Pure Islam".

The most recent event I believe that was an indicator of such controversy a few weeks ago was where Dr. Sheikh Yaseer Qadhi on his YouTube channel spoke about sufism and tomb veneration, and that got a lot of Salafists riled up and talking about refuting Dr. Qadhi on their respective YT channels.

@Al-zakir bhai I don't know if you've been following this, but it has been quite a bit of news in the Bangladeshi and Pakistani communities lately.

Yasser Qadhi recent menuver toward sufisim surprised me. While I don't agree with him but respect his decision. He has decent followers in USA. Many American Bdian follow him.

Our ultimate guidance is Quran and sahi Hadees. As a Muslims we must read and try to understand the messages and signs of the Quran.

They made for each other. We are to stay away and enjoy the show. :coffee:
But hajur , what about Mamunul Huzur's second wife kissa at hotel, after mass protest of Hefajat!

I think AL and Hefajat has chosen different ways, or the problem inside family!

Simply Hefajat sent AL message and the message is ,"Amader sathe prem na korle khobor achhe!"

So leave Modi and take us as lover, or get screwed.

But tbh , Hefajat has proven that they have much more power compared to your jamati brethren. ;)

@Al-zakir ustadji!