Hockey World Cup

Pakistan virtually out of hockey World Cup

NEW DELHI: Captain Barry Middleton and Jonty Clarke scored twice each to lead England over Pakistan 5-2 in the field hockey World Cup.

England's third straight win halfway through pool play left it in a good position to qualify for the semifinals for the first time since its silver medal at London in 1986, but it came at the cost of defender Richard Mantell, who dislocated his ankle and was out for the rest of the tournament.

“Richard's our key player and we're going to miss him. He's very good in long distribution of the ball,” England coach Jason Lee said.

Captain Barry Middleton and Jonty Clarke scored twice each to lead England's charge against Pakistan.

Ashley Jackson also scored for England, which blew a 2-0 halftime lead when Shakeel Abbasi and Rehan Butt scored in a four-minute span to draw level.

Middleton broke the deadlock in the 52nd minute. “I think this is the best we've played in this tournament,” Middleton said. “We showed why we are European champions.”

Lee heaped praised on his team for its biggest win over Pakistan.

“It's a fantastic victory. It was a difficult match but the manner in which we played showed a lot of character from the boys,” Lee said. “They played excellent hockey in a match where emotions ran high.”—Agencies

In Hockey we have seen even teams have scored more than 3 in less than 11 minutes.

even today Pakistan lost its grip only in last 15 minutes......... if i am not wrong at least 2-3 goals by england was struck in 15 minutes

and i heard the match against Macau where Pakistan made like 40-50 goals in one match :rofl::rofl:

So it is possible

^^^^^ You should I have tried betting today.

Even India lost 5-2 to Spain like you predicted.

GB

As said before....... winning the match from Pakistan was the last win for India :angry:

We are also weak....... but they are the weakest team of the tournament

If we are weakest how come Pakistan lost to us?

Think before speaking.

GB

Zaki man you should be declared amil baba

the score in second third match was also 5-2 :lol:

Spain beat India 5-2 in hockey World Cup

NEW DELHI: Spain dented India's hope for a semi-final berth when they beat the hosts 5-2 in the Pool B encounter in the hockey World Cup at Major Dhyanchand Stadium.

India failed to convert a penalty corner and trailed Spain 0-2 at the end of first-half.

Spain took an early lead when Albert Sala scored his first goal in the 19th minute in the first half.

Spanish captain Pol Amat extended the lead with 14 seconds to go in the first half.

Spain earned their first penalty corner in the eleventh minute of the first half but failed to convert it.

Both teams played a fast-paced game and got a measure of each other's defences.

Spanish goal-keeper Francisco Cortes made two brilliant saves, first stopping Sandeep Singh penalty corner strike and then palming out the rebound shot from Sardara Singh.

India made some good moves but failed to give these the finishing touch.

Soon into the second half, star drag flicker Sandeep Singh scored India's first goal in the 39th minute but Spain extended their lead by two goals soon after. Pau Quemada scored in the 41st minute and Ramon Alegre hit the net in the 42nd minute.

Gurwinder Singh Chandi reduced the margin by scoring a goal in the 43rd minute but that was not enough as Quemada hit the final nail in the coffin by scoring another goal in the 66th minute.

This is India's second defeat in the World Cup after losing 5-2 to Australia on Tuesday.

India started their campaign in a great fashion drubbing archrivals Pakistan 4-1 on Sunday.

This win puts Spain in the second place with Australia in Pool B.

Spain beat India 5-2 in hockey World Cup - Top Stories - Hockey World Cup - Events & Tournaments - Sports - The Times of India

Shame on Indian and Pakistani hockey players.. no wonder it gets sidelined to cricket...

Team events are still way behind in the subcontinent..

Pakistan boosted by surprise Indian fan support

The Pakistani hockey team were delighted to find some unlikely support from the Indian fans supporting them in their World Cup Pool B match against Spain at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium on Tuesday.

Pakistan's veteran player Sohail Abbas said it was a pleasant change and certainly a surprise keeping in mind that the same people were vociferously rooting against them on the first day during their game against India.

Abbas said that the whole squad felt as if they were playing at home. He made the comment after his team's 2-1 victory over the Spaniards.

“After a long time, we found some crowd support in India. It was a great feeling and we felt as if we are playing in Lahore or Karachi,” said the star drag flicker while talking to IANS.

Having lost their first match to India, the win against Spain has brightened Pakistan's hopes of fighting for a semi-final berth from their pool.

“The pool has opened now and after Australia's loss to England in the first game, it seems that every team has a chance of making the semis,” he said.

“We will put this victory behind us and prepare for the next match. We are not thinking of the semi-final or the final. We are taking one game at a time,” he said.

DAWN.COM | Sport | Pakistan boosted by surprise Indian fan support

Zaki man you should be declared amil baba

the score in second third match was also 5-2

Meri Zubaan kaali hai

Mujh se panga liya to Jala kar BHASAM kar don ga :rofl::rofl::rofl:

2 out of 2 predictions proved right today :rofl::rofl::rofl:

I also predicted that winning the match against Pakistan is the final win for India and that has also been proved right so far

@GB aka Gharib Nawaz

Fair enough..... we lost from India.......... but India lost from Spain and we beat spain :rofl::rofl:

It doesn't really matter who wins on that particular day........ but the fact is India & SA are the weakest teams of the tournament

Here is the ranking

http://www.worldhockey.org/vsite/vfile/page/fileurl/0,11040,1181-192169-209392-141540-0-file,00.pdf

India ranked at 12 while SA at 13

Shame on Indian and Pakistani hockey players.. no wonder it gets sidelined to cricket...

Team events are still way behind in the subcontinent..

Actually both the countries have sidelined Hockey and the poor players are not paid as well.

I think we should praise them for playing for national pride sans any attractive benefits unlike Cricket where even despite pathetic performance if the team wins all the players are awarded millions of rupees by the government (atleast in Pakistan's case)

While if hockey team wins no one bothers to even praise

Meri Zubaan kaali hai

Mujh se panga liya to Jala kar BHASAM kar don ga :rofl::rofl::rofl:

Quite unislamic hence disqualified as amil baba.

I also predicted that winning the match against Pakistan is the final win for India and that has also been proved right so far

The tournament is not over yet.

@GB aka Gharib Nawaz

Fair enough..... we lost from India.......... but India lost from Spain and we beat spain :rofl::rofl:

It doesn't really matter who wins on that particular day........ but the fact is India & SA are the weakest teams of the tournament

Rankings doesnt prove who is weakest.

Ireland got Pakistan and BD got India in 2007 Cricket World Cup does not mean Pakistan and India are inferior or weakest to BD and Ireland.

Your logic of Pak beating Spain and Spain beating India is weired as India beat Pak by 4-1.

GB

Actually both the countries have sidelined Hockey and the poor players are not paid as well.

I think we should praise them for playing for national pride sans any attractive benefits unlike Cricket where even despite pathetic performance if the team wins all the players are awarded millions of rupees by the government (atleast in Pakistan's case)

While if hockey team wins no one bothers to even praise

Indians win 2009 Azlan Shah Hocey in Malaysia and not even a dog was present to welcome the team at airport.

Same happens with tennis players when they come victorious after winning a grandlsam.

Cricket they win against lousy lanka and everyone is celebrating.

GB

Quite unislamic hence disqualified as amil baba.

The tournament is not over yet.

Rankings doesnt prove who is weakest.

Ireland got Pakistan and BD got India in 2007 Cricket World Cup does not mean Pakistan and India are inferior or weakest to BD and Ireland.

Your logic of Pak beating Spain and Spain beating India is weired as India beat Pak by 4-1.

GB

Ohh acha bhai India is the strongest team in the WC. Ab khush

Quote:
Originally Posted by garibnawaz
Apparently Hockey is national game of both the countries.

GB
yeh and thats why its on shambles

jana i think we should make cricket the national game and maybe then hockey will improve