Heatwave devastates Karachi, other parts of Sindh; at least 136 dead

It is the people who do not read, you need to try and do your research some time before you post... Try to actually google something before you start your rants. There are standing fatwas which people really need to start reading. -.-
Shaykh Muhammad ibn Saalih al-‘Uthaymeen (may Allaah have mercy on him) was asked:

Are you high buddy? Do you even know what point I was trying to make before coming up with your idiotic remark about me ranting? Keep your google and this Saudi mullah with you. Those who died had no 'google' with them "Think Tank". And I kept myself low however I knew the rulings of breaking the fast. There is a need of a fatwa from Pakistani molvis who chirp too much on other nonsensical matters, now where are they when the people are dying?

what the hell is KE doing? they are getting 650 MW from WAPDA 225 from IPP's and 1700 MW they are producing themselves... still 17 hours Load shedding in Karachi??

Searing heat claims another 309 lives

5588c40282bec.jpg

KARACHI: Another 309 people lost their lives in Sindh on Monday as the punishing heat wave baked the province amid prolonged outages and stacking up of bodies in morgues.

Since Saturday evening, 445 people have perished across the province in the heat wave which shows no signs of abating.

Of the 309 deaths, 301 were reported in Karachi and eight in other parts of the province — five in Badin and one each in Nawabshah, Dadu, Sukkur — bringing the combined death toll to 445, said a senior provincial government official.

On Sunday, the heatstroke claimed the lives of 132 people in Karachi and two each in Larkana and Jacobabad districts.

As Karachi continued to sizzle at 43 degree Celsius, almost every major hospital received heatstroke patients across the city and registered heavy casualties.

The Jinnah Postgraduate Medical Centre confirmed 101 more deaths on Monday, bringing the toll in the hospital to 186 over the past 48 hours.

Doctors at the Civil Hospital told Dawn that 58 people died on Monday.

Sixty-seven people died in Abbasi Shaheed Hospital (ASH), including 37 on Monday. Four more died in various hospitals run by the Karachi Metropolitan Corporation (KMC), 23 in Qatar Hospital, eight in Sindh Government Hospital in New Karachi and six in Lyari General Hospital.

Among the private hospitals, Dr Ziauddin Hospital confirmed seven deaths on Sunday and 15 on Monday, including a minor girl and five women. In Liaquat National Hospital, 12 people were brought dead while 10 died during treatment. The Indus Hospital confirmed 20 deaths.

Sindh Health Minister Jam Mehtab Dahar said the government had declared a medical emergency in hospitals and asked their management to keep separate beds for heatstroke patients.

Dr Salma Kauser, senior director (medical and health) of KMC, said more than 400 sunstroke patients were still under treatment in ASH and other KMC-run hospitals, while 300 people had already recuperated and were discharged from the facilities.

A spokesman for the Edhi Foundation said their morgue was receiving hundreds of bodies, but because of limited space they could not entertain all of them.

The staggering death toll is believed to be the highest-ever for Karachi, as well as Sindh.

According to experts, the country’s heat index has been rising because of environmental and other reasons since 1960.

Karachi sizzles
While a few places received a small amount of rainfall in Karachi on Monday afternoon, the people of the city did not get any respite as hot and humid conditions persisted.

According to the Met Office, Karachi was among the hottest places in the province as mercury shot up to 43 degree Celsius on Monday. The minimum temperature was 33 degree Celsius with humidity – a measure of the amount of moisture in the air – 45 per cent.

Some areas in the city received traces of rain, but the amount was so little that it could not be measured. The maximum temperature in the city on Tuesday is expected to range between 42 and 44 degree Celsius.

On Monday, the maximum temperature in Sukkur, Chhor, Dadu, Larkana, Rohri and Nawabshah was 43 degree Celsius; in Jacobabad, Mithi and Moenjodaro 42 degree Celsius; in Badin, Thatta and Padidan 41 degree Celsius; and in Hyderabad 40 degree Celsius.

Published in Dawn, June 23rd, 2015
situation is only worsening, guys. @Shamain ,@Gufi .....

Yeh banda bhi malang hi hai!

perfect excuse for loadshedding. Province says Federal ka masla hai, Federal says "18 tarmeem say inhon nay kia kia hai? K-electric ka masla hai"...

Koi haal nhn is mulk ka, and especially Sindh.

The CM does not know what his govt is doing after 400 people have died because he was celebrating the birthday of a party leader who died 6 odd years ago.

Where should I bang my head.

Another fact which is conveniently ignored by media molvies is people are fasting , its the holy month this is another major factor which is causing the heat stroke & dehydration ... why are they so afraid of saying some thing which is simple logic , i mean in this heat those who travel should avoid fasting .. Govt can issue a public health and safety message !!??

Get in line, please.
Sindh is in a complete state of chaos, the provincial government is completely incompetent and useless. Corruption, nepotism has destroyed this province. God bless us.

This situation is too sad to comment on, it makes the heart break. What is this but the state's ignorance to the plight of the people and total disregard for the sanctity of live. Troubled indeed are the times we live in and .
"Kings made tombs more splendid than the houses of the living and counted the names of their descent dearer than the names of their sons. The line of Kings failed, the White Tree withered, and the rule of Gondor was given over to lesser men."
I do not know why but this comes to my mind when I read about what our Minister has been up to and in reality most of our country.
Get in line, please.
The line to what, watch and wait as the system fails. They ask what makes people blow themselves up, what creates traitors to the country, they do not ask what they have done to the people, they do not see the injustices they have committed on them. Rare is it to see any genuine remorse on the face of these blood sucking leeches, not sparing even the last drop for the people at large. There will come a time when the anarchy reaches a point when even these enslaved people will break the shackles that bind them, and burn down the government and its buildings.
I hope, no, I pray for that time, because patience and sacrifice are useless. This Pak Zameen, this country which was built for those who were oppressed, which was thought as the Land of the pure has become a place where the blood of the pure seeps into the earth and with each death this piece of land loses its purity, where the screams of the innocent are unheard, where the pure are the ones who suffer, this land is no longer the Pakistan we had hoped for, but the land of the cruel, the land of the oppressor, the land which has been hijacked by those who have taken away our very essence.
The status is heading towards revolution and remembering revolution in the words of Malcolm X, "I don’t believe in any form of unjustified extremism. But I believe that when a man is exercising extremism, a human being is exercising extremism, in defence of liberty for human beings, it’s no vice. And when one is moderate in the pursuit of justice for human beings, I say he’s a sinner."
The time for moderation is over, the time to expect the Government to deliver is gone, there is a time in life when all that is done seems to be futile, because without sincere effort there can be no betterment, and the only sincerity found right now is too amass wealth, to gain power, and to live like kings who subjugate their slaves. The people remained shackled mentally eating up whatever news they deem fit to term important, letting real issues slide, and today they pay the price.
“People have only as much liberty as they have the intelligence to want and the courage to take.” (Emma Goldman)
@WAJsal

Why inflict pain onto oneself. There are cracks that one can see, attend rallies and meetings and you see a considerable number of youth sick of the status quo and sick of the wait to fix it. This generation is impatient and the cities will burn if this continues, mark my words, the breaking point is near.

Lazizi - Timeline Photos | Facebook
This is something I wish you to see, look at the results, and think where this nation will go if things are left as they are.

@syedali73 my darker side or negative side in me
@TankMan @Irfan Baloch

This situation is too sad to comment on, it makes the heart break. What is this but the state's ignorance to the plight of the people and total disregard for the sanctity of live. Troubled indeed are the times we live in and .
"Kings made tombs more splendid than the houses of the living and counted the names of their descent dearer than the names of their sons. The line of Kings failed, the White Tree withered, and the rule of Gondor was given over to lesser men."
I do not know why but this comes to my mind when I read about what our Minister has been up to and in reality most of our country.

The line to what, watch and wait as the system fails. They ask what makes people blow themselves up, what creates traitors to the country, they do not ask what they have done to the people, they do not see the injustices they have committed on them. Rare is it to see any genuine remorse on the face of these blood sucking leeches, not sparing even the last drop for the people at large. There will come a time when the anarchy reaches a point when even these enslaved people will break the shackles that bind them, and burn down the government and its buildings.
I hope, no, I pray for that time, because patience and sacrifice are useless. This Pak Zameen, this country which was built for those who were oppressed, which was thought as the Land of the pure has become a place where the blood of the pure seeps into the earth and with each death this piece of land loses its purity, where the screams of the innocent are unheard, where the pure are the ones who suffer, this land is no longer the Pakistan we had hoped for, but the land of the cruel, the land of the oppressor, the land which has been hijacked by those who have taken away our very essence.
The status is heading towards revolution and remembering revolution in the words of Malcolm X, "I don’t believe in any form of unjustified extremism. But I believe that when a man is exercising extremism, a human being is exercising extremism, in defence of liberty for human beings, it’s no vice. And when one is moderate in the pursuit of justice for human beings, I say he’s a sinner."
The time for moderation is over, the time to expect the Government to deliver is gone, there is a time in life when all that is done seems to be futile, because without sincere effort there can be no betterment, and the only sincerity found right now is too amass wealth, to gain power, and to live like kings who subjugate their slaves. The people remained shackled mentally eating up whatever news they deem fit to term important, letting real issues slide, and today they pay the price.
“People have only as much liberty as they have the intelligence to want and the courage to take.” (Emma Goldman)
@WAJsal

Why inflict pain onto oneself. There are cracks that one can see, attend rallies and meetings and you see a considerable number of youth sick of the status quo and sick of the wait to fix it. This generation is impatient and the cities will burn if this continues, mark my words, the breaking point is near.

Lazizi - Timeline Photos | Facebook
This is something I wish you to see, look at the results, and think where this nation will go if things are left as they are.

@syedali73 my darker side or negative side in me
@TankMan @Irfan Baloch

And people call me a pessimist here? What has been said above is the stark reality.

CM Sindh surfaces as 650 perish in blistering heat

DAWN

558927f215b49.jpg

Over the weekend, the top man of the Sindh province was in Larkana on a two-day visit for the birth anniversary of Benazir Bhutto. —DawnNews screengrab

KARACHI: In his first speech addressing the heatwave that has claimed over 650 lives in his province, Sindh Chief Minister Syed Qaim Ali Shah made a surprising decision directing schools, colleges and government offices Tuesday to close as an apparent means to alleviate the suffering of those afflicted by extreme weather.

"We are closing offices, schools and colleges not just in Karachi but throughout Sindh," Shah said in the Sindh Assembly today. "Offices that offer essential services like hospitals will remain open."

Over the weekend, the top man of the Sindh province was in Larkana on a two-day visit for the birth anniversary of Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) late chairperson Benazir Bhutto. Shah returned to Karachi Monday and issued a late night directive to the managing director at the Karachi water board to ensure supply and distribution free of charge in areas where there is a water deficit this Ramazan.

Shah also ordered all provincial administration departments against switching on air conditioners in offices till 11 AM and vowed that strict action will be taken against those who fail to comply.

During the assembly session, however, the minister was not entirely informed about the progress made by provincial authorities assisting those affected by extreme weather.

"I want to inform you that a disaster management [system] already exists, not just for rains and storms but for such situations as well... they must have done their work. Non-government organisations must have also done their work," the chief minister said, adding that he was away for two days and is not equipped with the latest emergency relief information.

He said that his government in the past has published emergency hotline numbers in newspapers, and can do so again.

"There have been deaths before, during everyone's time,” he said, not naming any political party. “Whose names should I take? I don't want to get into a controversy," Shah said in the assembly.

Heaping blame on K-Electric

The chief minister said that the electricity department is handled by the central government, adding that the organisation has an agreement with the federal government and not Sindh government.

"Definitely the overall opinion, be it of the House or outside the house, or newspapers, it has been said that because of electricity more deaths have occurred," he said today.

He added that he made several attempts to contact K-Electric owners in Dubai, who assured him that they will invest in Karachi but lamented that the situation at hand suggests that they have not spent anything. "Like businessmen, they have taken advantage of the situation and exploited it."

. . . . . .

..................Celebration of birthday of one dead person is more important than looking after the 100s of dying people. This has been the tradition in PPP. I wonder why was it more important for the chief minister to be present in Larkana?. Could he not celebrated the birthday by an extra prayer at home?. When is Sindh going to get rid of these insincere politicians?.............

There are cracks that one can see, attend rallies and meetings and you see a considerable number of youth sick of the status quo and sick of the wait to fix it. This generation is impatient and the cities will burn if this continues, mark my words, the breaking point is near.
Gufi my friend, Pakistani bohat dheet hein, balkey thoda ziyada kahoon tou badey beyghairat hein. Yaar I have grown old looking forward what you are predicting or hoping.