Have your say - PSL Final in Lahore

Is PSL Final in Pakistan a WISE decision? (not good but wise)

• YES

• NO

• Cant Say (But think again and you may get to a decision) :P

Results are only viewable after voting.
OK what if some random TTP guy blows himself up in the crowds coming to watch matches what then? I wanted to go watch it live but i have been advised against it because it will be a high value target ! Hope everything goes fine ! :pakistan:

The main objective was to bring international cricket back home, otherwise we have other cricketing events with local teams, it's not wise to play with PSL brand image for personal egos.
It all depends how one looks at it. Cancelling Final in Lahore will also send a wrong signal.. its a shame that Pakistan's own brand & not even one match in Pakistan.... ... it seems PSL final is also high-jacked by politicians for political point scoring....

It's hardly about cricket if you see the involvement of COAS in it

It's clearly about Pakistan Vs All things evil! A game changer it would be for sure, either way! Just wait and see!

OK what if some random TTP guy blows himself up in the crowds coming to watch matches what then? I wanted to go watch it live but i have been advised against it because it will be a high value target ! Hope everything goes fine ! :pakistan:

forget about Bomb blasts. Just one single bullet fired from a simple TT Pistol will do the work.

and even if everything went smooth. still it's a shame to conduct a single match in presence of thousands of security personals and by literally declaring curfew in whole Lahore. at one side you wan't to give a message to terrorists that we are not afraid. but on the other hand what message are you giving to international media, players and cricket boards ?

It all depends how one looks at it. Cancelling Final in Lahore will also send a wrong signal.. its a shame that Pakistan's own brand & not even one match in Pakistan.... ... it seems PSL final is also high-jacked by politicians for political point scoring....
It should have not been confirmed in the first place without taking foreign players into confidence.

Simple you dont get 1000,s of people so closely at one place for an ecnomic summit its easier to provide security for a summit than for a cricket match plus even if we can provide security without international players this will just be a domestic match

You are missing the point, you are arguing that even a small incident outside the stadium anywhere in Lahore will give out a very bad image of Pakistan. Now compare that with a blast in Islamabad while the ECO conference is being held, wouldnt it have the same impact? Yet no one is criticising the govt. for holding it. If we can have one we can have the other, i am sure our LEAs will handle the security.

By literally declaring curfew in Lahore ? Sorry sir, but i don't see all this happening.

It will not be a curfew and like i said, even if a cricket match is played after there has been no terrorist attack in Pakistan for 5 years, level of security would be the same.

Bro. the whole idea behind PSL final in Lahore was to bring (first) International players and (then) International teams. with International Players of Event refusing to go to Lahore for final now there is no point to have final in Lahore.

Here,
International Players refused.
International Commentators refused.
No foreign management.
No high tech Equipment. as the provider company also refused.
Even the broadcaster refused.

All hotels, shops, markets will be shut till 5th March. it is curfew man.

So what's the Point now ?

@Arsalan

The voting allows multiple votes. Can you change this setting to one vote per user?
Sorry man. It is the first time i have started an opinion pool, must have made some mistake and not able to fix it now! :(

@WAJsal can you kindly look into this bro?
Or if you can help @The Eagle bahi ge! :)

No yr bnde ka decision hii change hojata hai :P
@Arsalan why you're deleting reply's? :/
Hein... nai tuu!
Mein na tu kuch ni kia.

If we dont play final in PSL then its victory for terrorist and their mission accomplished

If we managed to play final in Pakistan and nothing bad accudent happen then its defeat for terrorist and will send positive message to world and could be the first step to bring any future matches in Pakistan

If Allah na karey anything bad happen then nothing worse will happen to us as Pakistan is declared unsafe already
tell it to those who have lost someone in a blast!

Besides, we do not want to want to get back to square one, we have fought a long hard and brutal war against these scums, the latest operation in Punjab is InshAllah among the last of the blows the terrorists could bear. It is coming to an end fast and we will be free of this in a few years time INSHALLAH. We can play all the circket we want at that time. My point is that we should not have risked all that progress we are gradually making for one domestic league final. It is not something that will encourage other nations to come and revive cricket in Pakistan. Basically, we are not going to gain much other than a boost to ego and self-confidence (which is very good indeed but at what cost?)

This is a huge risk if anything happens we can kiss intl cricket goodbye for next 10 years
Having a match with thousands of policeman & Army/Rangers surrounding the stadium is not an achievement.
Now with no international players coming in the final, the value is ZERO, if there was any.
EXACTLY!

And you are sure that you will get international cricket in Pakistan anytime soon by holding psl in empty stadium of dubai..i have doubt that PSL will survive long enough without home crowd
Dubai was a poor choice to begin with!
Look at the sold out matches in Sharja!!

Thank you for tagging me.... If we cant even hold a Pakistan Brand match in Pakistan then we shouldn't be expecting international players to consider playing in Pakistan in Future. Stupid politicians are using this event also for point scoring...
True! This MUST NOT be used for political point scoring. However we are also trying to discuss this issue as Pakistanis and cricket lovers, ABOVE our political affiliations so let us not bring that into it.

Thank you for your feedback.

The point i am trying to make here is that a Pakistani brand match is not going to be a reason enough to bring other international teams to Pakistan. It will not serve a certificate while any little fire cracker will make Hiroshima look like an ordinary event. I was of the same view when we hosted Zimbabwe and was proven right due to that little incident in last match. Even without that, Zimbabwe tour would never have served as a motivation for South Africans or the Aussies. Think about it this way and you will see what i am pointing at.

I don't think it is a good idea but, since the govt has announced it, we should cheer and support and hope for the best.
That we all should and would do INSHALLAH!

This is just a discussion.
First question you need to answer is, why are terrorists targeting only cricketing events? Why weren't there any such concerns about the ECO summit in Islamabad? Wouldn't a small blast in Islamabad or Rawalpindi have equally adverse effects?

I am sure that even if one or two International players come (Sammy and Samuels have already agreed to come) and the event passes without an incident, next year we will see more foreign players willing to come to Pakistan and then the next step would be to invite an International team. This is a risk that we "MUST" take.

This is how Euro 2016 was played in France.

1464374933_bn-of237_euros__m_20160526171544.jpg

promo289756757

1041152550.jpg

Even if we get rid of all sorts of terrorism in Pakistan and play a cricket match after 10 years, the level of security will be the same as it would be today.
OK this is an interesting point now. Thanks for sharing your views in detail.

Ok, check now.
Phit!! :tup:
ABhi sahi ha na @PakSword ?

If we dont play final in PSL then its victory for terrorist and their mission accomplished
If you think that the mission of terrorists is to stop CRICKET in the country you are grossly mistaken and are underestimating there evil plans.
Exactly. Umar Khalid Khorasani living in Afghanistan would be the real winner of PSL season 2 then and not Peshawar or Quetta or Karachi.
Jazbati baatain!!
Plus please Areesh, this thread is NOT about politics so please leave them out of it!
PLEASE!!

There was not need to propose this idea in the first place. Anyone who have any idea about the situation (and not talking about the bad situation but the PROGRESS we have made, we are so close to the end of it all and taking such a risk at such a stage is not making any sense) would have decided against it.

It should have not been confirmed in the first place without taking foreign players into confidence.
My bro!!
This is exactly the point. Thank you.

The decision was taken well before the blasts went off in Lahore....
Just two weeks ago the two main schools in Faisalabad were closed because of a threat. DECISION was taken to close the institute for two days. Not the first time such a decision was taken.

A DECISION SHOULD HAVE BEEN TAKEN HERE THE MOMENT THERE WERE SIGNS OF TROUBLE

The matter was dragged to the last moment for cheap point scoring. Now i agree, at this point, canceling it will be REALLY embarrassing. That is why i said that now the decision have been made and we should all support it and pray and hope for the best. All other things have secondary importance including this discussion (it is only a mean to see what others were thinking)

Don't know as I have not voted twice. But it still mentions "Multiple votes are allowed."
It says this but i dont think anyone can vote multiple times, i am not getting access to that second vote and i guess it have been fixed by @The Eagle . you can however try it once so we are extra sure. :)