Have no enmity with Indian Muslims: Thackeray

Paan Singh

Mumbai: Shiv Sena chief Bal Thackeray on Tuesday said he was not against Indian Muslims but those from outside.

In the second part of his interview to party mouthpiece 'Saamna', Thackeray emphatically said he had no complaints, grudge or enmity with the Muslims of India.

His ire, he said, was directed only against those coming from outside the country and creating problems here.

"I have no grudge or enmity against the Muslims who have been living here since generations. My objection is to those who have sneaked into the country from outside. They should be caught and lynched or kicked out," he said.

Thackeray cited Muslims from Pakistan and Bangladesh in this context.

"They come and incite our Muslims. In the Konkan region (of coastal Maharashtra), the extremist elements who have sneaked in from outside are influencing our Konkani Muslims and spoiling them," he said.

Similarly, he said Muslims who help outsiders should also be considered equally guilty.

Read more: Have no enmity with Indian Muslims: Thackeray

:unsure::unsure::unsure:

Mumbai: Shiv Sena chief Bal Thackeray on Tuesday said he was not against Indian Muslims but those from outside.

In the second part of his interview to party mouthpiece 'Saamna', Thackeray emphatically said he had no complaints, grudge or enmity with the Muslims of India.

His ire, he said, was directed only against those coming from outside the country and creating problems here.

"I have no grudge or enmity against the Muslims who have been living here since generations. My objection is to those who have sneaked into the country from outside. They should be caught and lynched or kicked out," he said.

Thackeray cited Muslims from Pakistan and Bangladesh in this context.

"They come and incite our Muslims. In the Konkan region (of coastal Maharashtra), the extremist elements who have sneaked in from outside are influencing our Konkani Muslims and spoiling them," he said.

Similarly, he said Muslims who help outsiders should also be considered equally guilty.

Read more: Have no enmity with Indian Muslims: Thackeray

:unsure::unsure::unsure:

Right... they came and incited Advani to demolish the Babri Mosque... they came and incited Dara Singh to burn missionaries... they came and incited Raj Thackeray to call for crusade against non-Marathis...

He is so pro-Hindu... how many Hindu families has he helped to come out of poverty?

Good sense if finally prevailing!

and anyway he is bit of devious chap!

IMHO, after not being able to win for 2/3 consecutive terms, they now wants to woo the Muslim voters in a fresh attempts at Mumbai/ Maharastra's assembly. So many years since they could made some money!!!

I have good acquiantance from Shiv-sena and MNS supporters (with whom I used to play cricket) and I am ashamed to say this: They were abosolute Muslim haters. From our various heated discussions, I could make out that the party leadership had moulded the workers in that mode.

What else can be the reason for the sudden change of heart????

lol.. why is this change of heart now? is it because MNS is eating his vote bank?? someone who doesn't even spare people from within the country irrespective of relegion is talking like a born again!!

Not really man, this guy loves power. And to stay in power, you have to be in news this way or that way. Ya know they say "Badnaam hue to kya naam na hoga?". Bad or good, doesn't matter, just be a newsmaker.

His statements come out exactly prior to the visit of Imam (Sudais) of Masjid al Haram. Just trying to show how good we are, and how bad they (whoever) are.

The same applies to Modi and BJP .
Even they aren't anti-muslim , all they did in the past was to garnish
vote bank .
My relatives staying in Surat vote for BJP ,they are muslims .

lol.. why is this change of heart now? is it because MNS is eating his vote bank?? someone who doesn't even spare people from within the country irrespective of relegion is talking like a born again!!

Yeah .. MNS alrdy ate their votes .
The ppl voting Shiv sena are Bal thackeray loyalists .
They vote for Shiv sena only coz of Bal thackeray

None of that good sense bit! He (and his own) is just getting worried about not being in the news for so long. Not to forget that his interview has appeared only in his party mouth-piece.
Of course he is devious, neither his friendships or enmities run very deep. Over the years especially, his targets have changed. The most interesting part will be to unearth who his "deep friends" are ? The results will be surprising!
But the "Old Codger" knows that he is getting less "news-worthy" with time; so much so that the next time he hits the headlines in bold, will be when he "kicks the bucket"!

Right... they came and incited Advani to demolish the Babri Mosque... 1) they came and incited Dara Singh to burn missionaries... 2) they came and incited Raj Thackeray to call for crusade against non-Marathis...

3 ) He is so pro-Hindu... how many Hindu families has he helped to come out of poverty?

I have no love lost with Shiv Sena or Thackeray being myself a South Indian or Madrasi, in their parlance- but some of the reasons you gave are wrong. Especially 1,2 and 3.

He being pro-Hindu is a problem ?? I dont see anyone having a problem with Lalu or Mulayam or any other neta just because they are pro-minority.

And as for the crusade against non-Marathis , well that was bound to happen anyway given how linguitically fragemented we are. It is still happening all over the North East. Even Sheila Dikshit ,P Chidambaram say that time and again that unrestricted migration will cause resentment among the locals.
Well, you can argue that Indian constitution grants the right to live in any part, but the locals dont see it that way.

On the part regarding Dara Singh - grow up yaar. How is Dara connected to Shiv Sena ? You are just connecting all the irrelevant dots to form a distorted picture.

BTW this is what the Learned judges fo the SC had to say in the Dara Singh vs Republic of India, while quashing down the death penalty given to him in the trial courts.

Life term adequate for Staines murder convicts: SC - Times Of India

I have no love lost with Shiv Sena or Thackeray being myself a South Indian or Madrasi, in their parlance- but some of the reasons you gave are wrong. Especially 1,2 and 3.

He being pro-Hindu is a problem ?? I dont see anyone having a problem with Lalu or Mulayam or any other neta just because they are pro-minority.

And as for the crusade against non-Marathis , well that was bound to happen anyway given how linguitically fragemented we are. It is still happening all over the North East. Even Sheila Dikshit ,P Chidambaram say that time and again that unrestricted migration will cause resentment among the locals.
Well, you can argue that Indian constitution grants the right to live in any part, but the locals dont see it that way.

On the part regarding Dara Singh - grow up yaar. How is Dara connected to Shiv Sena ? You are just connecting all the irrelevant dots to form a distorted picture.

BTW this is what the Learned judges fo the SC had to say in the Dara Singh vs Republic of India, while quashing down the death penalty given to him in the trial courts.

Life term adequate for Staines murder convicts: SC - Times Of India

Your attempt to defend "Old-Fart" Thakre is laughable! T. Balu is not pro-Hindu in any way. Has not been and will not be. His targets have been varied over the years. "Madrasis" to which clan you claim to belong were the first. And the "Madrasis" who got whacked on their behinds and elsewhere have no fond memories of that time, unless they have chosen to swallow their pride now and keep quiet. Or worse still, chosen to turn a "Madrasi-Dhungan Samrat" in to " "Hindu Hriday Samrat"! Then he "shook-down" the Gujjus and Marwadis, later shifted his sights on Sardars (who in turn got the Bhindranwale gang to send him some "Sweet-Missives" that sent him up $hit-creek) later North Indians (Biharis and Uttar Pradeshis). And you have the gall to label him "pro-Hindu". He is not pro-anything but pro-himself. First and foremost, he and a good bit of his family are deeply tied up with the underworld of BOMBAY. Research the activities of his late son Binda. Find out the source of funding of his film producer daughter-in-law Smita. There is much more in the Thakre cupboard. I know a lot of it, from close quarters. Now if you wish, find out for yourself.
Otherwise continue to sing his praises; and don't forget to shower flowers at the "old-farts" funeral procession.

Sri, I never touched the subject of his being pro-Hindu. Anyone's being pro to any community is good for that community. But that is not the topic here. The topic here is his statement, "Have no enmity with Indian Muslims". What would be the need to say he has no enmity with Indian Muslims? Why could he not just say, "Have no enmity with Muslims"? He is essentially saying that he has problem with Muslims from other nations. I simply tried to find out the reasons. And in that I touched the communal crimes in India that cannot be connected to outsider Muslims.

Now, when you mention his being pro-Hindu, I see you are defending something that was not even mentioned. Why would you feel the need to do so?

Sheila Dikshit, or Chidambaram, or Bal Thackeray, or the locals do not make it right. If something is wrong, then their support doesn't make it right. It is akin to saying that his wrong is no more wrong because everyone else too is doing that. About Sheila Dikshit, I hope you know she had to apologize for her statement because she herself falls in the category of immigrants.

Sri, I did not mention Babri Mosque, or Dara Singh because they are connected to Shiv Sena. This man, Bal Thackeray, in saying that we have no problem with Indian Muslims, is trying to clear his stained position of being a highly communal leader. It goes on to show in what way does he affect the masses. And I pointed out those incidents to show the prevalence of communalism in India.

About the Supreme court's statement...
"Though Graham Staines and his two minor sons were burnt to death while they were sleeping inside a station wagon at Manoharpur, the intention was to teach a lesson to Staines about his religious activities, namely, converting poor tribals to Christianity," it said.

Indeed it is the intent that defines the crime. However, the SC lets the reader decide what did Dara Singh mean by 'teaching them a lesson'. The lesson could be anything from a polite request to not conduct the conversions, to burning them alive. I would let you decide what was the intent of Dara Singh when he taught a lesson to Graham Staines and his sons. The Supreme Court has simply stopped at the lesson part, not taking the pain to decide what did Dara Singh had in mind for a lesson.

politics in in our country is more area based than nation based...Shivsena has many Muslim politicians in my city were they are chosen by majority Hindu votes while i also saw that one Hindu politician got chosen by majority Muslim votes in Municipal corporation elections..

Your attempt to defend "Old-Fart" Thakre is laughable! T. Balu is not pro-Hindu in any way. Has not been and will not be. His targets have been varied over the years. "Madrasis" to which clan you claim to belong were the first. And the "Madrasis" who got whacked on their behinds and elsewhere have no fond memories of that time, unless they have chosen to swallow their pride now and keep quiet. Or worse still, chosen to turn a "Madrasi-Dhungan Samrat" in to " "Hindu Hriday Samrat"! Then he "shook-down" the Gujjus and Marwadis, later shifted his sights on Sardars (who in turn got the Bhindranwale gang to send him some "Sweet-Missives" that sent him up $hit-creek) later North Indians (Biharis and Uttar Pradeshis). And you have the gall to label him "pro-Hindu". He is not pro-anything but pro-himself. First and foremost, he and a good bit of his family are deeply tied up with the underworld of BOMBAY. Research the activities of his late son Binda. Find out the source of funding of his film producer daughter-in-law Smita. There is much more in the Thakre cupboard. I know a lot of it, from close quarters. Now if you wish, find out for yourself.
Otherwise continue to sing his praises; and don't forget to shower flowers at the "old-farts" funeral procession.

Alas, you got my entire post in a wrong note even after me starting with these lines - I have no love lost with Shiv Sena or Thackeray being myself a South Indian or Madrasi, in their parlance

I have no intention of replying to the rest of your post because frankly I dont care who he is or what he does or what he becomes in the future.

My post was just pointing to Patanjali's post in which he ascribed some reasons for hating him and I differed with the reasons. But you chose to jump on me without fully understanding the context.

And BTW who is T.Balu ??