Harvard studies Mumbai hotel staff heroics

He can only be held Accountable if He has Taken anything Fake to Prove a Point?? He Is studying On Natural Instincts and He is Well Aware of What and How 26/11 employees Defied the Natural Instinct to save the Fellow People and Later Sacrificed themselves...

Why would You bother chasing some other Incident When You have a Perfect one available...

As a teacher, you try to find material that your students can relate to.

As bad as 26/11 was, it is not big on the American radar. There are other events that are far closer to home. The professor is pursuing a personal agenda to raise awareness of 26/11. There is nothing unusual in this, since all professors push their agenda onto their students.

We are just pointing it out, that's all.

Or Do You have any problem because this happened in India?? and India is Portrayed here... If it is, It is U who is deluded Not me...

No, this would be a perfect example for students in India.

Yeah but you guys have no problem taking aid from Rajiv Shah

And how exactly is that relevant to the discussion?

Or are you going to trot out every Indian-American to make some kind of pointless list?

1. And who these "others" are? A bunch of pakistanis like you?

That should be obvious, yes.

The Harvard people are happy with this study, end of topic!

That's not the point. :lol::lol:

2. Yaar, tu kaun hai jo decide kare ki Harvard me students ko kya sikhaya jaaye?
Harvard has it's profs to take care of that.
And they think that it was important!:pop:

This is not something students are learning, einstein. And furthermore, the profs that are "taking care of it" decided to act a wee bit nationalistic!

3.Why would they want to attract attention of Pakistan?
.............Ridiculous!:blink:

I never said attract attention OF Pakistan. I said ON.

As bad as 26/11 was, it is not big on the American radar. There are other events that are far closer to home. The professor is pursuing a personal agenda to raise awareness of 26/11. There is nothing unusual in this, since all professors push their agenda onto their students.

Well atleast its Not You who has to be bothered about what has to be taught in Harvard and What is to be Not, they are very Happy with this case Study... If You think India is trying to project itself as to something it is not then I am Certainly not at loss.... You may think what ever U think it is right, but its certainly is not going to change the fact, In Harvard there are may Students Coming from various Parts of this World to both study and Do research , And Education is Not something which Limits itself to the Internal Boundaries of that particular Country or Region.... There is Nothing wrong In broadening the Views of Children...

No, this would be a perfect example for students in India.

In Your Views probably, which the Harvard Is Not Bothered About....

Well atleast its Not You who has to be bothered about what has to be taught in Harvard and What is to be Not,

I am amused, not 'bothered'.

Professors who feel strongly about the Vietnam or Iraq war will always find a way to drag it into their courses. Similarly about the treatment of blacks or women. This guy wants to talk about India. No problem.

Like I said, it happens with all professors and there's nothing 'wrong' with it. It's just funny, that's all.

I am amused, not 'bothered'.

Professors who feel strongly about the Vietnam or Iraq war will always find a way to drag it into their courses. Similarly about the treatment of blacks or women. This guy wants to talk about India. No problem.

Like I said, it happens with all professors and there's nothing 'wrong' with it. It's just funny, that's all.

And Indians were not the Only ones who suffered in 26/11, So Please Avoid Making an Issue Out of this Just because You do not like India to be Center staged and Tagged for Such a Case Study.....

Actually this is a Business school case study, not a kindergarten class project. If they did what you want them to do & focus only at home, that would pretty much be the end of profession of business education in the U.S.(or anywhere else). This is not the first study done on India. Maybe you should read more.

and how exactly is that relevant to the discussion?

Or are you going to trot out every Indian-American to make some kind of pointless list?

Maybe you should read the comment I was replying to, actually what the heck, that's been your argument too - the fact that the professor was Rohit Deshpande somehow undermines his credibility with you guys, there being an implication that his ethnic origins compromise him. I just pointed out the silliness of that with the mention of Rajiv Shah. Actually, if you are going to suggest bias maybe you should go the whole hog & say that since the Dean of Harvard Business School answers to the name of Nitin Nohria, anything HBS does is suspect. I'm sure you can also stretch the argument & suggest that since large donations have been made by Indian corporates, this is how HBS repays them. Good luck with that attitude!

Is Rajiv Shah paying aid out of his pocket, or even part of it out of his own pocket?

No more than Rohit Deshpande is doing this for himself.

There are some obvious interests involve here though. You can't draw anything from Rajiv shah. Two things completely unrelated and not similar in any relevant way.

Not arguing that they are but you guys are being silly about this whole thing. Do you think a single professor decides what gets done at Harvard? You don't think that many other people decide whether students are taught a particular business study or whether a subject is of interest to the school? His origins can only help in easier conduct of the study, not in the entire decision of what gets or does not get taught at a business school. As I pointed out, once you go down the path of his ethnicity compromising him, then you should take a look at everything any Indian American does(including the presence of an Indian American as Dean in HBS).

This whole drama is as silly as saying Obama will sell nukes to Kenya just because he has a kenyan lineage.

Grow up guys - the managers and the employees of Taj had no duty bound obligation to protect the victims and it is primordial tendency to protect oneself before thinking of others.

But the fact the employees of Taj defied that instinct and were ready to lay their life to protect the 'guests' do warrant a significant research as to what goaded them to do that.

If a single employee had done that then it is a fit case for a psychologist to examine him, but since it was the only response of all the employees , it is obvious that the place ,a business establishment ,and its ethics had something to do with that.Hence the study by a business school.

whats the big deal here ?? Is it because it is India or because the name Pakistan will inevitably come into that case study? :lol:

1.That should be obvious, yes.

2.That's not the point. :lol::lol:

3.This is not something students are learning, einstein. And furthermore, the profs that are "taking care of it" decided to act a wee bit nationalistic!

4.I never said attract attention OF Pakistan. I said ON.

1. Well, now that the obvious (" A bunch of pakistanis like you?") has been proved, let me complete the unheard part of my statement.

The Harvard people are happy with this study, end of topic!

See how these two statements are connected? :smitten:

2. See above.

3. That is for the Harvard authorities to decide! Right now, it is you who's acting a wee bit nationalistic.

4. That would be even more ridiculous!:rofl:

And Indians were not the Only ones who suffered in 26/11, So Please Avoid Making an Issue Out of this Just because You do not like India to be Center staged and Tagged for Such a Case Study.....

My point is that this choice is less about 26/11 and more about the professor's agenda. Once again, all professors have this tendency to push their agenda; it is not unique to Indians.

Actually this is a Business school case study, not a kindergarten class project. If they did what you want them to do & focus only at home, that would pretty much be the end of profession of business education in the U.S.(or anywhere else). This is not the first study done on India. Maybe you should read more.

There is a context for everything, otherwise it becomes forced or gratuitous.

Maybe you should read the comment I was replying to, actually what the heck, that's been your argument too - the fact that the professor was Rohit Deshpande somehow undermines his credibility with you guys, there being an implication that his ethnic origins compromise him.

As I mentioned, all professors push their agenda. In this case, the professor happens to be Indian, and you guys are reluctant to admit the obvious.

I'm sure you can also stretch the argument & suggest that since large donations have been made by Indian corporates, this is how HBS repays them. Good luck with that attitude!

Corporations expecting something in return for their donations?

Perish the thought!

This whole drama is as silly as saying Obama will sell nukes to Kenya just because he has a kenyan lineage.

A more appropriate analogy would be if Obama quoted some Kenyan nationalist in his speeches instead of Abraham Lincoln or Thomas Jefferson.

I've two points to explain the underlying reason why the Mumbai hotel staff behaved in certain heroics manner .

1.Its generic reason and can happen anywhere else.

In deep adversity, when are people forced with extreme option they always look forward to leadership to stay fight or make an exit. during 26/11,the hotel CEO showed tremendous courage inspite of losing his kids he stayed back to secure the guests and same was replicated by the hotel staff.

2. This is India specific .

In the developed world e,g USA have this 911 culture where things are immediately handed over to the specialist service which is efficient and usually reaches the spot on time.

In India,most of the time you don't have that luxury.so common Indians have this habit of following an hands on approach and its they who come forward in the time of crisis and try to help as much as possible till the specialists arrive on to the spot. We see it all the time e,g road or a train accident etc.. when villagers come forward to rescue victims . This could well be possibly a reason why the office staff stay back and help out the guest even in the face of grave danger instead of running away and wait for the police to arrive on the scene.

A more appropriate analogy would be if Obama quoted some Kenyan nationalist in his speeches instead of Abraham Lincoln or Thomas Jefferson.

Since the most you could do was to mumble a humble oneliner quoting a select part, let me do the favour of posting the remaining part.

Grow up guys - the managers and the employees of Taj had no duty bound obligation to protect the victims and it is primordial tendency to protect oneself before thinking of others.

But the fact the employees of Taj defied that instinct and were ready to lay their life to protect the 'guests' do warrant a significant research as to what goaded them to do that.

If a single employee had done that then it is a fit case for a psychologist to examine him, but since it was the only response of all the employees , it is obvious that the place ,a business establishment ,and its ethics had something to do with that.Hence the study by a business school.

whats the big deal here ?? Is it because it is India or because the name Pakistan will inevitably come into that case study? :lol: