Guru Tegh Bahadur Martyrdom Day

GuruTeghBahadurS1.jpg

This is a very personal post here. The love, admiration and reverence to the Sikh gurus have long been entrenched in the hearts and minds of Kashmiris. This is also true among our own community as well. It is to him that we owe our life, culture, heritage...at least to a very large part.

Guru ladho re, Guru ladho re
(I have found the Guru, I have found the Guru). ”

In 1675 AD he was arrested by the Mughals in Bihar and executed publicly in Delhi.

Ghulam Muhiuddin Bute Shah writes, in his Tarikh-e-Punjabi, that Guru Tegh Bahadur was called to Delhi by Ram Rai, and it was he who instigated Aurangzeb to punish the Guru, by feeding the Mughal Emperor with false information regarding his haughty character, and that he deserved to be taught a lesson. Other accounts don't implicate Ram Rai, but some other nobles of the court. Another version says that the Guru was punished for raising his voice against the persecution of Kashmiri Hindus by its Muslim governor, or because of the fact that the guru had converted many Muslims to his faith.

The Mughal Emperor, Aurangzeb cherished the ambition of converting India into an Islamic country. Mughal governor of Kashmir, Iftekhar Khan was known to vigorously pursue Aurangzeb's policy of forced conversion of Hindus, who approached Guru Tegh Bahadur for help, for his sacrifices Guru Tegh Bahadur is known as Hind-Di-Chaadar (Shield of India) for protecting Hindus against atrocities of Muslim rule.

He was arrested, along with some of his followers, Bhai Dayala, Bhai Mati Das and Bhai Sati Das by Nur Muhammad Khan of the Rupnagar police post at the village Malikhpur Rangharan, in Ghanaula Parganah, and sent to Sirhind the following day. The Faujdar (Governor) of Sirhind, Dilawar Khan, ordered him to be detained in Bassi Pathana and reported the news to Delhi. His arrest was made in July 1675 and he was kept in custody for over three months. He was then put in an iron cage and taken to Delhi in November 1675.
The Guru was put in chains and ordered to be tortured until he would accept Islam. Guru Tegh Bahadur was beheaded at Chandni Chowk on 11 November 1675.

From the non Muslims of Kashmir who have survived to this day - Thank you.

@levina @DRAY @scorpionx @Joe Shearer @Oscar @Horus @Chinese-Dragon @WebMaster @jamahir @45'22' @ranjeet @AugenBlick @ExtraOdinary @Hyperion @rockstar08 @Leader @hinduguy @Armstrong @SpArK @@nair @sreekumar @INDIC @FaujHistorian @Norwegian @Syed.Ali.Haider @Donatello @al-Hasani @Zarvan @HariPrasad @Judge @paritosh @Tshering22 @abjktu @he-man @SamantK @jaunty @Skull and Bones @Ravi Nair @Sidak @Srinivas and others..

He was tear With Ara.

His last words were:

Ara Pyara Lagat hai, Nirvilamb chalo.

Jiv Jaye to Jaye, Pyara Dhram na jaye.

He refused to convert to Islam and embraced the horrible death.

The sacrifice of Shikh Gurus is unparallel.

The Guru was put in chains and ordered to be tortured until he would accept Islam. Guru Tegh Bahadur was beheaded at Chandni Chowk on 11 November 1675.................

The subcontinent would have looked totally different today had it been Dar-al-Shikoh who had succeeded to the throne instead of Aurangzaib.

Tareekh key aiwanon mey aisa bhi hota hey
Lamhon ney ghalatai key, sadiyon ney saza payee.
But you know what? Wishing for an alternative good history is beyond our scope. In any case, it might have been worse as well (after Shikoh that is)...who knows? Anyway, what we have is the present and we are doing a jolly well job in screwing it as well. Ok, may be not as bad as Aurangzeb, but we have a lot of things to fix in India - poverty being numero uno. :(

About his Martyrdom Guru Gobind Singh wrote following lines :

Tilak janjoo rakha prabh taaka
Kino bado kaloo main saka.

Meaning : To protect your right to wear the caste mark ('Tilak') and the sacred thread, He performed the supreme sacrifice in the dark ages of Kalyug.

The subcontinent would have looked totally different today had it been Dar-al-Shikoh who had succeeded to the throne instead of Aurangzaib.
I would refrain from generalizing, based upon the typical 'could've, would've, should've' mentality.
Either it happens and we can analyse or it didn't happen and hence speculation doesn't really help. That is why history should be a lesson for learning.

I would refrain from generalizing, based upon the typical 'could've, would've, should've' mentality.
Either it happens and we can analyse or it didn't happen and hence speculation doesn't really help. That is why history should be a lesson for learning.

There are many occasions in history where major changes have been brought about by such turning points. There is no problem is recognizing these moments while learning from history.

We were/are/will be indebted to Guru Ji sacrifice.... Guru Ji sacrifices far beyond any words of mine ....

@SarthakGanguly

what is your real reason behind posting this?? why not other punjabi people like iqbal, bhagat singh or waris shah??