Great News : DRDO promises air-launched version of Nirbhay Written by: Dr Anantha Krishnan

do we have a dedicated thread on Aero India-2015 air show?? A lot of news regarding the show is being published like America is the largest exhibitor in the show.
@Abingdonboy

Why so much transparency in defence development ??

Because it's just PR! Another pointless promis of DRDO that should sound as if they are doing a good job or would be a world class as they often call themselfs. When the government and the forces are criticizing them however, they suddenly won't be as open anymore.
Claiming so much about a missile, that is just in the early stage of it's development with just 50% of the test being successful once again shows the silly attitude of DRDO.
We need that missile fully developed and reliable in serial production, then they can boast around as much as they want, even about nonsense stuff like air launched versions from LCA. As if IAF would take a light class fighter with less power and range to make a deep / heavy strike. :disagree:

Because it's just PR! Another pointless promis of DRDO that should sound as if they are doing a good job or would be a world class as they often call themselfs. When the government and the forces are criticizing them however, they suddenly won't be as open anymore.
Claiming so much about a missile, that is just in the early stage of it's development with just 50% of the test being successful once again shows the silly attitude of DRDO.
We need that missile fully developed and reliable in serial production, then they can boast around as much as they want, even about nonsense stuff like air launched versions from LCA. As if IAF would take a light class fighter with less power and range to make a deep / heavy strike missile. :disagree:

They are even about to showcase model of air launched Nirbhay in comming Aero India. :hitwall:

Well they advertised DRDO AWACS and LCA last year in Bahrain, help me out how many DRDO AWACS and LCA are in operational service today? o_O

@waz could we please have the thread as a sticky for all Aero India 2015 news and pictures?

. . . . .
Kya Waz bhai. . .jabse Mod bane ho bade aadmi ho gaye ho :( :( :(

Yad tak nahi karte !!

Raab pandey ko bara bantha hai bhai. Titles, money and everything else is meaningless.

Bilkol yaad kartha ho. How are you my friend. We can talk in the "whatever" section.

Should be possible, as an air launched Nirbhay only needs to follow the level flight, and wouldn't require the much needed thrust to raise it vertically to the desired altitude. I have all the reasons to believe the missile will be of 700 km class to be fitted with Tejas.

of course it is possible

but dada!!
full range of nirbhay is stated to be around 1000km +

so thats what i have stated if they redesign the nirbhay ALCM to be used in LCA ,then range might be decreased

so what new thing from your side in that post :D
CHEERS