Govt to order 100 Tejas aircrafts for IAF

Tum aa ke kar lo bhi.. agar zayada mirchi hai toh...

They(HAL) had said that they would be delivering IAF with about 4-5 aircrafts of the first batch by This year... I don't see more than 1.
Do they intend to build 1 aircraft per year?
Same is the case with MKI, it's production hovering around 12-15 per year.
Compare this to China and think why numbers are falling.

:mad::mad::mad: Government order this or that:mad::mad::mad:
We still don't know the complete specification of MK-IA, how are they going to manufacture them and when will they start ? Is it even under development or not ? No news about SP-2 yet.. :cry::cry:

They(HAL) had said that they would be delivering IAF with about 4-5 aircrafts of the first batch by This year... I don't see more than 1.
Do you guys even read?
DO you that capacity expansion is only possible if there are enough orders .. and there is enough money. ..
IAF wants a Jet.. they will need to support it... that is how it works world over.. unless IAF wants to enjoy more kickbacks...

looks more like they are planning something big and that will involve private players in a big way cause without private players active participation strict date/time lines wont be met and the onli way of producing a full squad every year means MOD has to stop over burdening HAL

Do you guys even read?
DO you that capacity expansion is only possible if there are enough orders .. and there is enough money. ..
IAF wants a Jet.. they will need to support it... that is how it works woinvestments unless IAF wants to enjoy more kickbacks...

Yes, Sir I do read. But the expansion you are talking about is for rate of 12 aircrafts per year which need more orders.

HAL has had said it would deliver the first 20 aircrafts at 4-8 aircrafts per year and rising.

I am asking for 4 ,and that doesn't need more investments if I am right?

And don't you think the MKI order was not big enough?

looks more lie they are planning something big and that will involve private players in a big way cause without private players active participation strict date/time lines wont be met and the onli way of producing a full squad every year means MOD has to stop over burdening HAL

Sir, the mk1a is a brilliant idea, provided a private player gets in and HAL makes up for its delay.

How ? They will have foreign Radar, may be new EW suite, etc. specification is yet not clear, or at least not in public domain. Even if they are going to change air frame it will require further testing means new prototypes and further delay..
I think there is a complete change of LCA research team in ADA & HAL under Parriker. This might lead to something drastic change either we will get a potent fighter with good manufacturing line or we will see a big mess and further delay... #My2Cent

HAL is currently supplying the IAF with 20 variants of the basic LCA Tejas. The DRDO chief says the Mark 1-A Tejas will address other shortcomings indicated by the IAF like the lack of an Active Electronically Scanned Array or AESA radar and Electronic Support Measures (ESM) which will be carried on a pod instead of within the fuselage. The modified Mark 1-A was proposed by HAL this year as a stop gap because the Mark 2 with uprated GE-414 engines and a lengthened fuselage, will not be ready for induction before 2024.

The Mark 1-A is meant to arrest the alarming shortfall in the IAF's fighter squadron fleet from a sanctioned strength of 39.5 squadrons to the present 35 squadrons. These squadrons are projected to further dip by 2022 when over 200 MiG-21 and MiG-27s are phased out. The ADA is now designing the LCA's Mark 2 variant only for the Indian Navy and the design will be ready by 2022. The agency also hopes to complete designs of a generation 4.5 Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft by 2022.
i find that concerning. no new fighter till 2024 is a very long time. the mk1a will not be able to compete with neighboring jets of a similar capability. and by now i mean the jf-117 blk3. by 2024 the jf-17 would have finished being produced at karama.

the amca is also taking a long time. i thought they were to freeze the design in a couple of years?

i find that concerning. no new fighter till 2024 is a very long time. the mk1a will not be able to compete with neighboring jets of a similar capability. and by now i mean the jf-117 blk3. by 2024 the jf-17 would have finished being produced at karama.

the amca is also taking a long time. i thought they were to freeze the design in a couple of years?
well we dont have to competete with your orignal nations jets as we already have more than enof for them LCA is basicalli a light home land security/goalkeeper/point defnce multi role fighter which will all his life never come owt of shadows of big boys of the IAF... got it :azn:

Arre, where is at least SP2? or ek saath 10 nikalenge kya?

Govt to order 100 Tejas aircrafts for IAF- Business News

01fir04-1_660_120115081506.jpg

Decks have been cleared for the country's largest ever defence order, over RS 2 trillion for 100 Light Combat Aircraft (LCA)Tejas.

At a crucial November 27 governing body meeting of the DRDO's Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) that included manufacturers Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd (HAL), the IAF brought down a wishlist of 57 outstanding maintenance issues with the aircraft down to 43, all of which can be executed by ADA and HAL without changing the aircraft design.

"We are now hopeful of an order for 100 Mark 1-As before the end of the current financial year," DRDO chief Dr S Christopher told MAILTODAY. The meeting of the governing council headed by Dr Christopher follows the September 23 signing of new aircraft specifications between the four key stakeholders in the three-decade old LCA project-the IAF, DRDO, MoD and HAL. The agreement has launched the struggling LCA Tejas project on a new trajectory. Designs of the Mark-1A will be complete by 2017 and the modified aircraft could enter production beginning 2019.

HAL is currently supplying the IAF with 20 variants of the basic LCA Tejas. The DRDO chief says the Mark 1-A Tejas will address other shortcomings indicated by the IAF like the lack of an Active Electronically Scanned Array or AESA radar and Electronic Support Measures (ESM) which will be carried on a pod instead of within the fuselage. The modified Mark 1-A was proposed by HAL this year as a stop gap because the Mark 2 with uprated GE-414 engines and a lengthened fuselage, will not be ready for induction before 2024.

"Re-positioning of major (aircraft) aggregates for the ease of maintenance has nullified the requirement to stretch the fuselage that would have increased aerodynamic drag to such levels as to require the more powerful F-414 engine. This negates the requirement to have LCA Mk2 for the IAF," says Air Vice Marshal Manmohan Bahadur (retired) of the Centre for Air Power Studies. Significantly, HAL has assured the IAF that it will double production capacity in its Bengaluru facility to roll out 16 aircraft each year.

The Mark 1-A is meant to arrest the alarming shortfall in the IAF's fighter squadron fleet from a sanctioned strength of 39.5 squadrons to the present 35 squadrons. These squadrons are projected to further dip by 2022 when over 200 MiG-21 and MiG-27s are phased out. The ADA is now designing the LCA's Mark 2 variant only for the Indian Navy and the design will be ready by 2022. The agency also hopes to complete designs of a generation 4.5 Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft by 2022.

(In Association with Mail Today)

Good news,a boost for the local defense Industry

Yeh khiali pulao hai ya actual plans ?

Well till then we can do with 120 Tejas( mk1 and mk1A), 50 MKIs( 220 in service while 50 more are due) and 36 Rafales. Thats 200+ aircrafts before 2024...aint it?

PS: May be few FGFA would be in service too by then.