Governance issue is major problem for Pakistan: Ishrat Hussain : The Nation

Abhi tak sirf ser pakar k baitha tha main, ab jab se Imran bhai tashreef laey hain, dil bhi Tham lia hai. Allah ki panah is tabdeeli se. But, lets see.
Ganga went on to flowing north wards is that you would say for expressing the proverbial phrase ulti Ganga vo b mayli

True But test pass karkay hi civil services main jatay hain. And doctor waghera bhi daitay hain css exams saray arts walay nhi hotay.

This is what iam disputing that we don't need a small group of royalty joining through a weird unproductive hodgepodge of a selection cirtieria to recruit civil servants.

Just hire them on their professional merits and in abundance for the suitable departments full time and life time

Is that too much to ask for a ghareeb nation like Pakistan?

No my man there's more than enough to raise divisions of these clerks if we don't indulge in pampering the colonial status quo . Let me give you an example. How many adc revenue are there in a district of an average stature ? May be 3-4 now its pretty much obvious that there sole purpose would be to adjudicate over matters pertaining to revenue from 9-5, right? but no you gonna find them doing very other good deed out there except giving proper 2 hours time to their own freaking job. I mean what on lords earth an adc revenue got to do with being part of everyother meeting going around in DC office except for the revenue matters?

Why cant the govt just for once hire 15-20 judicial revenue officers in bps 17-18 for every district, and why her insistence on allocating 3-4 officers for a city who are only there to work as part time free Lancers and are not even aware of the technicalities ? Is it the fear of losing power and prestige being enjoyed ever since the advent of IAS ? And as for your not having enough budget gripe, yes we have don't have enough budget to hire royalty of another 10-15 layman to accommodate them in villas get them cruisers and an army of servants.

Could you plz educate me that if gazetted employees like doctors professors, engineers public prosecutors and many others are not ashamed of living in reasonable govt quarters, buying a vehicle and hiring a domestic helper on their own why cant these csp's? and believe me these people are much more valuable then any b.a, m.a pass babu. I wonder if govt could hire hundreds of full time professionals in a city why couldn't she just recruit that many administrators?

And whats so special about a certain service group? That only they gonna be allowed to conduct admisntration business over everything Pakistani and that too in the tiniest of the numbers. Do they have any idea how many revenue cases are pending in those jinxed buildings? How many people pull their hairs off after coming into contact with these technically illiterate Joe's who are not willing to perform their duty even if it demands some odd hours of their "precious time". Now just imagine for a moment having only 3 docs or teachers for a city and them flaunting their indispensability over all others? Why we have taken upon ourselves to pamper and feed the colonial inevitability mindset? Why can't we move forward to bring about a whole new system which practically caters to the needs of the public and not to an idea of false sense of superiorty from district to province to federation?

maverick you may be a good person but I've got no sympathy for you lot after what they done to my country and her nerds. You guys have taken us to such a stage that in case even if a drainage line gets clogged the govt has to call in the military to clear it. Thank you very much for the civil service you guys been rendering to us - - - - - - - - -

@fitpOsitive @newb3e add another qabza group to your list

That is a lot of complaining, and rightly so. Basically we are both right, let me explain.

You are right in your complaint that there aren't enough resources available for the tasks at hand and that the ones which are available are not competent. And I am right as I said that we need more resources, with the underlying implication that they all be competent and professional.

That is a lot of complaining, and rightly so. Basically we are both right, let me explain.

You are right in your complaint that there aren't enough resources available for the tasks at hand and that the ones which are available are not competent. And I am right as I said that we need more resources, with the underlying implication that they all be competent and professional.

No! one of us is wrong for sure and this ptv dialect will not solve the issue. Iam a firm believer of devolution of power and right guy for the right job.

Let me reiterate, we got more than enough funds to hire full time gazetted professionals in thousands all across the country this year alone but not enough to make the glorious clerks having there way with the country. But you being part of the gang would hesitate to admit that despite being a tender hearted and honest a guy you could be in your personal life.

we got a problem and that problem is the Pakistan administrative service. I bet deep down you know that the country can't move forward without doing away with this colonial baggage. But who don't like feeling emancipated.

No! one of us is wrong for sure and this ptv dialect will not solve the issue. Iam a firm believer of devolution of power and right guy for the right job.

Let me reiterate, we got more than enough funds to hire full time gazetted professionals in thousands all across the country this year alone but not enough to make the glorious clerks having there way with the country. But you being part of the gang would hesitate to admit that despite being a tender hearted and honest a guy you could be in your personal life.

Which is precisely what I said, that the right resource for the right job is missing, as in competent and professional.

However, trust me when I say this, we do not have sufficient funds for the number of resources that we need. And we pay peanuts to our Government Officers and Staff whereas they should be paid more than private organizations pay so that the Government Service acquire the cream of resources rather than those who can not find recruitment in any competitive private organization.

we got a problem and that problem is the Pakistan administrative service. I bet deep down you know that the country can't move forward without doing away with this colonial baggage. But who don't like feeling emancipated.

Do you mean to say that the Federal Competitive Services tests and CSS examination is too outdated and pointless? If yes then I would have to agree with you. CSS especially is too overrated and useless. I believe Dr. Ishrat Hussain is making some recommendations in this regard and being a very smart and knowledgeable person I have trust that his recommendations, if implemented, would make a big difference.

Which is precisely what I said, that the right resource for the right job is missing, as in competent and professional.

However, trust me when I say this, we do not have sufficient funds for the number of resources that we need. And we pay peanuts to our Government Officers and Staff whereas they should be paid more than private organizations pay so that the Government Service acquire the cream of resources rather than those who can not find recruitment in any competitive private organization.

Do you mean to say that the Federal Competitive Services tests and CSS examination is too outdated and pointless? If yes then I would have to agree with you. CSS especially is too overrated and useless. I believe Dr. Ishrat Hussain is making some recommendations in this regard and being a very smart and knowledgeable person I have trust that his recommendations, if implemented, would make a big difference.

I still stand by my words that the funds are no issue but the, bullying and high handedness of a gang which has ruined each and every other department out there. Besides the collective pshyce of this nation has been hacked by the colonial glamor and they need a shock therapy to see the obvious.

Now how does that gang has been successful in achieving the status of state within state becoz these are the ones directly accompanying the politicians and not others.

They bloody well know about the ill practices and miseries plaguing the nation but won't solve it. Aren't they aware of the lack of service men? They do! but hey although we know that some odd 3 part time freelancers basically running and dictating all district departments (happens no where outside South aisa) aren't enough and we need close to 20 full timers for , but no we are not willing to provide you with that many guys as it gonna throw us out of the lime light however you folks get to cherish our scarce presence around you with those formal visits to petrol pumps, bakeries etc and all relevant guys actually responsible for doing these jobs seems to be put on a halt until some ac /DC crawl out of his mension, abandon the work he's supposed to do for a freaking city and accompany them to those notorious photo sessions. So instead of fixing whatever is left there we are more indulged in making a personality cult.

Maverick the govt hires around 2-3000 gazetted professionals every two or three years who live well off only in their salary, how come we can't add another 2-300 hundred administrators by the department and for the department in that list? And why the pas's insistence on only recruiting 1-13 or may be 14 per year for the whole country ? Is it the fear of getting dwarfed by others? Beoz if this is the case then we sure got no funds as each of these "all knowing" ainsteins cost this nation a good chunk of her development budget for rendering the services of an upper divisional clerk at max.

As long the line between governing and ruling keep getting breached in a liberal society like Pakistan, it will continue to have these problems.

This is something every populist leader in Pakistan forget as soon as he is placed at the helm of the affairs to govern.

There exists a power struggle between the colonised and the free people in Pakistan. It makes for a vibrant culture and socio politics if there is application of law without prejudice