Fork and knife etiquette in South Asia

Birbal

I'm right handed and I always hold the fork in my right hand and knife in my left hand. But I was always under the impression that the standard etiquette is to do it the other way. Now, I was watching Chori Choir Chupke Chupke and saw that they held the fork and knife the same way I do. According to Google, European etiquette is to hold the knife in the right hand and fork in the left hand, while American etiquette is to switch hands so you're always using your right hand.

What's the deal here?

No deal. Just personal preference. I'm right-handed as well so I hold the fork/spoon (or spork :P) in my right hand. However, if I'm cutting a steak then knife in right hand and fork in left until I drop the knife.

I'm right handed and I always hold the fork in my right hand and knife in my left hand. But I was always under the impression that the standard etiquette is to do it the other way. Now, I was watching Chori Choir Chupke Chupke and saw that they held the fork and knife the same way I do. According to Google, European etiquette is to hold the knife in the right hand and fork in the left hand, while American etiquette is to switch hands so you're always using your right hand.

What's the deal here?

How old are u?

What you have mentioned is the correct way i,e the European way ( knife in right & fork in left).

The American way is to keep the knife in the right hand and fork in the left whille cutting the food , etiquette says not to make more than four to five small pieces.

Once the food is cut, the knife is placed diagonally on the side / edge of the plate, fork shifted to the right hand & used for eating.

Dining etiquette is a guideline for us to avoid us looking / feeling clumsy on the table. One needs to adapt accordingly to the culture and environment one is eating in. At the same time one also needs to be in control. Ideally one should follow what everyone does on the table.

Depends on what I am eating. If I have to saw through a big piece of steak, I hold knife in my right(dominant) hand :enjoy:

I guess part of the reason is that I'm used to using blunt knives so I use the knife to create a crease in the thing and then tear it by pulling on my fork, which requires me to put the fork in my right hand, which is stronger.

---------- Post added at 07:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:06 PM ----------

How old are u?

Twenty-one. Why?

What's the deal here?

The reason why knife should be in your right hand is because as most of the people are right-handed, their right hand is the active hand. Which means it has more ease to cut than the left hand. As knife requires a bit more force to use, for example cutting through steak, etc....it is advised to use right hand to cut and left hand to use fork and pick up.

However, if you are eating smaller stuff, say, vegetables or peas which don't need to be cut, you only need to use a fork...and you use it in your right hand.

Also, never cut the meat into many pieces. Always cut one and then eat it, then cut another and then eat it.

Living in the US and UK, i find it pretty valuable to know how to eat with fork and knife.

It is the etiquette....nothing else. I mean, i definitely don't want to be in any awkward position. I remember a lot of my 'white' friends would ask us how to eat Biryani or naan with curry....and it is always good if you ask.

i never used fork and knife, use fork and spoon

abe kia anraiz ke bache hain hum?, use hands, or ill prefer noodles with chop stick

Bhai ghar mein to theek hai, restaurant main bhi haath se hi khao ge?

Or do you live your life all alone?

That pretty much sums it up :tup:

All%2Balone.jpg

Bhai ghar mein to theek hai, restaurant main bhi haath se hi khao ge?

haa q, sharam ati hai?, one doesnt need spoon and fork to eat naan with curry, i dont usually eat with hand but i can eat biryani with hand if i eat in takeaway

also pizza or burger

---------- Post added at 06:49 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:48 AM ----------

That pretty much sums it up :tup:

All%2Balone.jpg

ary yaar q dukh kerta, y commit suicide, main hun na :D