Financially Independent At 22

I bloody hate Indians because of this trait - in an envious way. My best friend and neighbour is an Indian, we both went to the same school and Uni and studies same subjects but I know where I have - in my life spent at creature comforts that bastard has been saving and investing - it wouldn't be long before he retires. For some reason this trait is very rare in other people specially Pakistani's.

If I have a family member visiting I first judge them for what they drive, once they are out of a car I will then judge them for what they are wearing, when they walk past me I will judge them on what scent they are wearing and when they take their phone out I will judge them for what handset they are carrying. It more about perception and we need to change that - I need to change that.
True what i learned recently when i was in pakistan

In pakistan people judge people financials not by their savings and money but by their cloths and cars

I drive a old car as it still works great with heated seats and excellent suspension, dont buy cloths unless i need them..this makes me very poor even though my pocket is several times larger then my "rich" peers

But don't you think there is no capping limit on someone's needs and wants. One's need can be another one's want or vice versa. So considering this how will you define financial independence.

Everybody has the right to determine those limits for wants and needs only for themselves and not any others. All needs and most wants covered by one's own resources is a good definition of financial independence IMO.

True what i learned recently when i was in pakistan

In pakistan people judge people financials not by their savings and money but by their cloths and cars

I drive a old car as it still works great with heated seats and excellent suspension, dont buy cloths unless i need them..this makes me very poor even though my pocket is several times larger then my "rich" peers
Yeah same here, I get asked the same question - everyone asked me did I drive a Mercedes/BMW or Audi. When I tell them I have a Skoda Superb Estate, I have to tell in detail what the car is, they ask for details as if they asking for someone's hand in marriage.

My Skoda is brilliant it has all the latest technologies but is understated compared to big brands. Why would I waste my money for the sake of a driving a more posh brand.
It’s the reason why Pakistanis have outlandish weddings and go into debt, because of the need to show off.

My own family here in Pakistan is the same way. They are so fucking stupid and vain, it’s hilarious.

They ask me for loans for bijli bill, which I never expect the money back. And in most cases never comes back.

Then one time my slipper strap broke and I got it fixed by the mochi. When my aunt saw it, she was like your slipper broke why you get it fixed and not buy a new one? I told her that I liked these specific flip flops and that they are comfortable.

Next thing I know family is saying ‘hai munda amreeka cho aya, te tooti chapal mochi kolon se kara ke paya pirda’.

I have probably given over 5k dollars to this same auntie’s sons because they survive on wheat and cotton harvest and see money probably twice a year.

Anyways, Pakistanis make me laugh. It’s 24/7 lols here in Pakistan because of how stupid they collectively are. :lol:
Luckily I don't have any leeches in my family - yet. Hopefully it stays that way. I do have some lazy idiots who dwell on their laurels but that is not half as bad as what you have got - unfortunately.

@Vapnope

I am envious of business acumen of Indians. Indian businessmen think strategically while most Pakistanis become content to a certain level of earning & Business.

The same envy that you feel about Indian businessmen, they feel about Western and Chinese businessmen. The latter think even more strategically. It isnt the fault of Indian/Pakistani businessmen, they react to stimulus and incentives provided by their cultural milieu, physical and financial infrastructure and ease of doing business. By and large desi businesses dont find environments which are conductive to long-term investments or R&D and breakthrough innovation (beyond basic jugaad). Success is mainly based on labour arbitrage (think about Indian IT businesses); natural resources arbitrage (think about the Jindals and their steel and mining business) or access to top politicos who ensure favourable policies (think of the 2As)

Regards

Again this is a subjective matter. It's not necessary that someone is poor is only because he/she earns less, it can also mean that he does not have a sense of spending.

In my opinion financial independence cannot be achieved until someone has achieved financial intelligence, that is to spend wisely.

Can someone owning a latest model iPhone pro complain that he is not financially independent because he cannot rent a home.
I completely agree with you and my statement doesn't oppose what you have stated here.
I would pay to see some Lahori "wannabe" posh kid washing windscreen and picking trash. I don't understand why this is frowned upon and looked down on - work is work, My first job was in a shop and main duty was cleaning floor and shelves.

However, this brings to mind the favourite threat my parents used to give me "if you don't study you will be a bin man" - this threat needs to change as it looks down on the bin man and classes him as a failure.
I live in Lahore, over here so many low middleclass people have maids working in their home plus they like to buy so many expensive items that they don't need and can barely afford. They do all of this just to show off and pisses me the crap out of me.

From what I have observed in Pakistan only people of Sheik cast are financially intelligent and the whole country makes fun of them for their smart financial habits. By the way I am not a Sheikh.

That is 6 years too late.

I had been financially independent since 16.
Never had asked or received any financial help from anyone, Allhamdulillah.

If you live in a country that offers opportunity and your parents provide you direction and support there is every reason to expect 21 year olds to be financially independent where they are not burden on the parents finances. Emotional dependence can continue and is a very human thing. At point of bragging and proud my son at 23 earns over £60k and my daughter at 21 earns over £45k. I suspect both will cross 100k by age 30. This is typical of British middle class. From being burden on my 58th birthday few days ago they have booked me with BMW to buy a gift to the value of £50k. When I cash this gift I will paste pictures here on PDF.
You must be really proud of your kids. Our job as parents is to guide educate and give our kids love. Congratulations on raising your children well you have won the lottery with your kids . I tell my wife all the time all I want from my kids is to stand on their own 2 feet and not have to rely on their dad .

when you give to a samdhi like SAQA MUNSHI what you expect . indians are trying their best of best still suffering and Pakistanis give it to samdhi like a gift .

So when you were first forced to drink alcohol by peer pressure, did they buy that independently or did they gift you the first shot?
I am envious of business acumen of Indians. Indian businessmen think strategically while most Pakistanis become content to a certain level of earning & Business. We need to learn a lot from Indian business mindset.

huh !! ignorance i guess is still a blessing

I completely agree with you and my statement doesn't oppose what you have stated here.

I live in Lahore, over here so many low middleclass people have maids working in their home plus they like to buy so many expensive items that they don't need and can barely afford. They do all of this just to show off and pisses me the crap out of me.
I sort of get the maid culture in Pakistan - you have less greenery and a lot of dust so cleaning is required more regularly compared to UK. However, my pet peeve in Pakistan is when everyone (adults, kids and all those who are old enough and should know better) come from outside and order their Maid for a glass of water.

How lazy do you have to be, that you cannot go to the kitchen grab a glass and pour yourself a drink.