FBR sends notices to parents paying Rs0.2m as school fee

But it is invested in the people. They have an impregnable defense that gives them a free country, and much else that flows from that foundation.

Money collected from taxes is used to pay government employees run government hospitals schools and and at lot of other things aap ko bas defense Nazar aata hai
and a big part of defense budget is for the salaries of soldiers which goes directly to common people of Pakistan

We the salaried class are already paying more than what we should its time other sectors are targeted
It's easy target,they won't go after anyone else.
Babus in FBR are set with other targets.Indirect taxation would increase.

Ja Jana chahta hai bhar main Jaye
Akhir main galion main wolfs hi boltay reh jaingy..

I am sorry You're the one who made the tall claim of 65% I am just asking you for the authentic source of where you get that figure from as it is you who needs to prove that not me. LOL

So am I to assume that the tall claim you made was just another typical mouth firing and it holds no water as you cannot back that claim up?

So what would be the difference between you and him then? he uses tax money for chori and you're are a tax chor by not paying your dues ?

As I have mentioned earlier the concept of paying due taxes in this country is still Alien. They don't realize that because of the low proportion of Direct taxation we will always have Hi indirect tax but that too barely helps. You cannot fill the national treasury with indirect taxing
U will calculate that, right on this forum. Just serially answer my questions. In last you will say to your self : 65% hi maan jata tu Acha tha.
So let's begin. Answer my last two questions.

it will badly affect promotion of good education in Pakistan as parents paying huge money for provision of good education to their children are asset of this nation.I personally know poor families who educade children by selling their homes and jewelery due to lack of funds ,such a bad attitude of Fbr should be discouraged and this accountant shabar zaidi not know that science and technology education is much expensive than accounting and business education

FBR sends notices to parents paying Rs0.2m as school fee
By Shahram Haq
Published: July 3, 2019
TWEET EMAIL
2004955-schoolsxx-1562128418-670-640x480.jpg

PHOTO: Reuters

2004955-schoolsxx-1562128418-670-160x120.jpg
2004955-nustbusinessschoolxxx-1562127227-297-160x120.jpg

LAHORE: The Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) is desperately looking for potential taxpayers these days and is aggressively digging the record of Pakistani citizens who, at some stage, have come under prominent sections of the Income Tax Ordinance.

Recently, the tax collecting agency has dispatched letters to parents, who are paying an annual fee of Rs200,000 to the educational institutes where their children are studying, asking them to declare their hidden assets and become a tax return filer.

“Data available with the FBR reveals that advance tax under Section 2361 of the Income Tax Ordinance 2001 has been collected from you and deposited in the government treasury, meaning thereby that you are paying an annual fee exceeding Rs200,000 per child (student) to educational institutions,” said the letter sent by the FBR’s Corporate Regional Tax Office (RTO), Lahore.

According to Section 2361, every educational institution is required to collect advance income tax at the rate of 5% on the fee paid. The person responsible for preparing monthly, bimonthly or quarterly fee vouchers shall also charge withholding tax in case the fee exceeds Rs200,000 annually.

Parents in a fix as CAS raises tuition fee by 60%

“Please note that the FBR intends to register all those persons who are earning taxable income and are liable to file returns under the Income Tax Ordinance 2001, but have failed to do so,” it stated, adding the registration drive also included the persons who were liable to be registered under the Sales Tax Act 1990 or Federal Excise Act 2005. The Corporate RTO did not respond to The Express Tribune despite repeated attempts.

One of the parents, who received the notice, said the warning had sparked fear. “I am a taxpayer and file returns on a regular basis, however, there are many who are not rich enough but are trying to educate their children,” he said, adding Rs200,000 per annum was a minimum fee these days and it was not fair to send notices that were creating nuisance.

Private education, especially graduate and post-graduate studies, is getting very expensive. “Most of the parents use their savings and many sell their assets to give quality education to their children. Many colleges and universities offer degrees based on the semester system, and these days, the fee of each semester is not less than Rs200,000,” he said.

“Becoming a filer for many parents might not be an issue, but the declaration of hidden assets and registering them under the amnesty scheme is horrifying, especially when the tax collection agency does not enjoy good reputation,” he remarked.

Published in The Express Tribune, July 3rd, 2019.

Like Business on Facebook, follow @TribuneBiz on Twitter to stay informed and join in the conversation.

Read more: Business , FBR , inflation

Are we on our way to becoming a communist state? Some of these laws have me scratching my head....the state is becoming way too intrusive. A citizen has an obligation to pay his taxes on his earned income from his business/job but I agree with @Yaseen1 that many ppl use all kinds of sources to pay for their children’s education.

I held a function last month and the elderly chap who made the video approached me last week and said: ‘I’m struggling to pay my daughters university fees and could you plz speak to your professor friend and ask him to get us another month to pay.’

I asked him haven’t you got any work? He said in the offpeak months I have to sell my motorcycle but it hasn’t sold yet, so I need more time - that’s just one person... others sell cows / cars /land, the govt has no right to suck our blood dry.

Seems to be the that the IMF has got the govt in a choke and is making it do what it pleases

1st i commend Pakistani Goverment atleast they are trying but problem is they are going too hard on everything and Pakistani already pay high amount of taxes indirectly majority of this will hit low to middle class which could have been created as the Backbone of Pakistani Economy

One thing i find really strange is any sane person with little understanding of money will understand that Majority of trade in Pakistan happens through Cash which is easier for people to hide.
A simple solution why dont they give 1 year notice to Banks to build Cash Less infrastructure and force them to setup Contact less and Smarter Machines on every store.
Ban Every note higher than 50 RS and don't print any note higher than RS 50 1st 2 years will be really hard but it will boost economy much higher than all these shenanigans they are currently doing
bhai Pakistani banks are still living in 1970 . our major failure in economy is we are still using systems laws methods of 1970 .

tell me why so many photocopies of every document ?
why we need to attest everything from 17 grade officer ?
why we need to bring printed photos ?
if i start count our gov system stupidities its took 15 pages .

But it is invested in the people. They have an impregnable defense that gives them a free country, and much else that flows from that foundation.
comon my friend be realistic! how long do you think we can stand on this wobbly foundation? what if defenders dont gdt the money to buy guns! thats what choori is doing to this country! rotting the foundation!

Which is not good enough, Maybe add some smart working to it as well?

Working hard is easy. Working smart requires edumacation and things like that.

comon my friend be realistic! how long do you think we can stand on this wobbly foundation? what if defenders dont gdt the money to buy guns! thats what choori is doing to this country! rotting the foundation!

How long can the shaky foundations stand? Shaky they may be, I agree, but 70 years and still counting.

tell me why so many photocopies of every document ?
why we need to attest everything from 17 grade officer ?

if i start count our gov system stupidities its took 15 pages .

Kyunkay is mulk main do numbri apnay urooj par hai.

Whenever something new comes up, the first thing we do is start finding loopholes in it.

Just a small example.

1- Mobile phones are being smuggled. Govt says you have to get it registered while coming in.
2- Travel agencies start selling travel details.
3- Govt starts using biometric.

Now you have a hassle, all because we couldn't accept that our dhanda is over.

Same with Uber, Careem, Taxes, car imports, clothing, every damn thing in this country. You want an IELTS or TOEFL certificate, you'll get it in Raja Bazar. You want a fake passport, you'll get it in Saddar.

It's not that these thigns are available, they are available in every country. But they are "easily" available here, just on the streets.

We accept that dhanda as a way of life, and it starts accounting for majority of our income. And when it gets taken away, we start crying that our sources of income are being hurt. Does not matter if they are illegal to begin with or not...and then emotions come into play.

Bhai phir ghalat dhanda shuru hi kyun kia tha?

Ja Jana chahta hai bhar main Jaye

If they will run away because of tax they will realize Pakistan is a heaven when it comes to taxes. I pay 30%+ of my income right away in taxes, and then anything I buy be it a phone, car, bread, eggs etc etc I pay minimum 13% tax on it.

These people doing rona dhona because now they have to pay not even 5% in income tax.