Faisal Subzwari’s absence from politics raises eyebrows
By Rabia Ali
Published: August 9, 2015
934716-FaisalSubzwari-1439066416-452-640x480.JPG

File photo of MQM’s Faisal Subzwari. PHOTO: FILE

KARACHI: MQM’s parliamentarian and senior leader Faisal Subzwari’s sudden departure from the political scene has stirred speculation whether the Muttahida Qaumi Movement’s (MQM) ‘golden boy’ has followed the footsteps of former leaders and left the party.

According to sources, Subzwari has gone abroad with his wife and children, most likely to the United States or Canada. He left Karachi towards the end of last month. Party leaders, requesting anonymity, while confirming that he is out of the country, insist that he has gone on vacation and will return within three weeks.

Sources within the party say otherwise, claiming it is unlikely that Subzwari will come back anytime soon. The departure of the former leader of the opposition in the Sindh Assembly, and former minister of youth affairs, comes at a time when rumours afloat of a new MQM in the making, backed by former leaders, Mustafa Kamal, and Anis Qaimkhani.

A new MQM?

Party chief Altaf Hussain, in his recent address, said that conspiracies were afoot in Islamabad to form a new MQM. Lashing out at the party leaders, he had also said that Rabita Committee members had left the country when the party needed them most, and were enjoying their lives abroad.

A vocal critic and a poetry fan, Subzwari is said to have developed differences with the party in March earlier this year, when Altaf ordered him to resign from his seat from the assembly for not being present during an address.

Subzwari, who was one of the party’s most active leaders on Twitter, last tweeted on July 17. The last message was an Eid greeting, surprisingly coinciding with Mustafa Kamal’s last twitter message – also an Eid greeting.

Besides Subzwari, the party has also seen the absence of another vocal leader, Haider Abbas Rizvi. According to sources, Rizvi is maintaining a low profile to avoid being implicated by law enforcement agencies’ in cases of sectarian killings.

Not the first

This is not the first time that leaders seem to have distanced themselves from the MQM. In the last two years after the 2013 general elections, when the then Rabita Committee and Karachi Tanzeemi Committee were dissolved, several party leaders have left the party or have been sidelined.

In August 2013, former mayor and Senator Mustafa Kamal quietly left the country, moving first to Tanzania and then settling in Dubai, informing party leaders through emails that he had left because of his wives’ illness and personal problems.

Days later, a close aide of Kamal and another senior leader and former Rabita Committee’s deputy convener, Anis Qaimkhani followed Kamal’s footsteps to Dubai. According to news reports, he left the party and the country after Altaf criticised and rebuked him over Kamal’s departure.

Over the period of time, former minister of IT, Raza Haroon, also distanced himself from party politics and is said to be in the UK these days. Though he worked in the international secretariat and has not left the party, he has become inactive.

Waseem Aftab, who was an incharge of the Karachi Tanzeemi Committee and then became member of the Rabita Committee, also disappeared from party politics after the general elections.

Another KTC in charge, Hammad Siddiqui, fled to Dubai in May 2013, with the party terminating his membership. Siddiqui is wanted in cases of land grabbing, china cutting, and an attack on Sindhi activists.

For their part, an MQM official said that unnecessary hype was being created regarding his departure and denied that he had left the party. “Before leaving, Faisal had informed the party in accordance with our rules. He will be returning this month.”

Published in The Express Tribune, August 9th, 2015.

"jo quaid ka ghaddar hai woh maut ka haqdar hai"
i pray for faisal subzwari and mustafa kamal's security. may Allah protect them.

You guys use to Abuse him when he was representing MQM now all of a Sudden Sympathies. MQM Leadership are Shifting to USA in Large Number and he is part of it so dont worry about him he would be in contact with MQM.

false accusations. these 2 are the only people in mqm i have always respected because of their strong character and persona. you will never find a post by me which has bashed out at these 2 men.

well then why was bhai saab crying in his address, sub chore ke mujhey chaley gye to me kia karoon.
Its time you should get wise and flee the party too :)

Plz include Babar Ghauri too in you prayers .......

Mar to nai gya? Chalo acha hai mar jae to.

well then why was bhai saab crying in his address, sub chore ke mujhey chaley gye to me kia karoon.
They might not receiving his call on their personal numbers or they might not be available in MQM's meeting in Nine Zero this may cause Bhai to be worried about them. You know his Mental Condition.
false accusations. these 2 are the only people in mqm i have always respected because of their strong character and persona. you will never find a post by me which has bashed out at these 2 men.
Mustafa Kamal was once Accused of Azeem Ahmad Tariq's Murder(He is nephew of Azeem Ahmad Tariq) when he was active in MQM and as for Faisal Subzwari he was once called Decent face of Bhatta khors.

UK was much safer.

USA laws about money laundering etc, are much more strict.

Altaf would have been given death sentence by now if he was in USA.

So hiding in Canada or USA is the worst possible decision.

When it comes to Political lawlessness, even Pakistan is safer than USA

Just my 2 cents.

USA is much more strict towards political instability (either at home or abroad).

Decent face of Bhatta khors.

Rangers rounding up MQM goons has definitely reduced bhatta khori for now.

Let's how long it takes for Altaf to activate 4th or 5th tier of Bhatta Khors

That was all drama. Our media is too gullible.

Altaf is miles ahead in terms of devious planning

UK was much safer.

USA laws about money laundering etc, are much more strict.

Altaf would have been given death sentence by now if he was in USA.

So hiding in Canada or USA is the worst possible decision.

When it comes to Political lawlessness, even Pakistan is safer than USA

Just my 2 cents.

USA is much more strict towards political instability (either at home or abroad).
There are lot of supporters of MQM in USA as there are sizable Urdu Speaking Karachi Based Pakistani Community located in USA and Canada and Baber Ghouri is also have lots of contacts in USA as well so they wont have much problems regarding Money in USA.

There reason are most probably to LOBBY HR and UN against Operation against them in Karachi. In the mean time we would observe lots of Muhajir related Statements from Altaf because he would make it sure that this operation is PERCEIVED to be against Muhajirs rather then Criminal Elements within Karachi. Its Dirty Politics but their survival is at stake as well.

Rangers rounding up MQM goons has definitely reduced bhatta khori for now.

Let's how long it takes for Altaf to activate 4th or 5th tier of Bhatta Khors
I think you are outdated in terms of Bhatta related Activity of MQM.

MQM left that since 2002 and Bhatta khori in Karachi was dominated by Lyari based Gangsters and TTP elements in Karachi.

LOBBY HR and UN against Operation against them in Karachi.

One of the most anti-Karachi activity.

Karachi needed peace and stability. Now rangers have brought it about
and the so-called Mohajir reps are talking $hit against it.

One of the most anti-Karachi activity.

Karachi needed peace and stability. Now rangers have brought it about
and the so-called Mohajir reps are talking $hit against it.
They are not entirely against Operation their Aim is to DIVERT the Operation elsewhere like towards PPP(Accountability and Land Grabbing related) or other Elements in Karachi.

it already is.

In reality, MQM was expecting Mush like thing, where MQM gets all meetha meetah, and everyone else gets karrwa karrwa

I think you are outdated in terms of Bhatta related Activity of MQM.

MQM left that since 2002 and Bhatta khori in Karachi was dominated by Lyari based Gangsters and TTP elements in Karachi.

I wonder where do you guys come up these kind of statements from?
I have some acquaintances and their immediate and far relates active members of MQM
and EACH OF THEM acknowledges extortion - one of them even being a significant portfolio holder
within party, though he believes Altaf doesn't have anything to with extortion but elements in Raabta Committee.
But it amazes me where do some people come with claims like 'There's no extortionists within MQM'.

it already is.

In reality, MQM was expecting Mush like thing, where MQM gets all meetha meetah, and everyone else gets karrwa karrwa
They dont get Meetha Meetha for nothing they work hard for it and Creating a Situation where they can work together or develop common Interest. It is an art of diplomacy sometimes and Pressure tactics other times.