Extremism in India

Peregrine

Shiv Sena (Devanāgarī: शिव सेना Śiv Senā, meaning Army of Shiv, referring to Shivaji), is a far-right political party in India founded on June 19, 1966 by Balasaheb Thackeray. It is currently headed by Thackeray's son, Uddhav Thackeray.

Sive Sena's Acts of extremism
he Sena has been accused of being involved in coordinated political violence in order to propagate its ideologies and attack opposing ideologies. For this reason, it has sometimes been described as a militant right-wing group.

In the 1970s, Shiv Sena members were accused as responsible for killing, Communist Party of India (CPI) Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) from the Parel neighbourhood in Central Mumbai. However, the attackers were not indicted for murder. On February 8, 2006, Sena workers, led allegedly by Sena's student wing, attacked the office of the Zee TV channel, ransacking and damaging the office. The attack came in response to a satirical skit titled 'Kaka mala Vachva' (Marathi for 'Uncle, protect me'), staged during the awards function hosted by the channel at the Bandra-Kurla complex. The skit was reportedly a comment on the power tussle within the Thackeray family, which ultimately resulted in the exit of Thackeray's nephew Raj from the party some time ago.

In addition to its campaign against non-Maharashtraians in Mumbai, the Shiv Sena protests have been known to break down into violence and force in public in the name of protecting Hindutv from what it deems as corrupting western influences. The party has been involved in organized protests, pickets, market shutdowns and strikes that have been known to degenerate into violent clashes and in some instances riots. For instance, Shiv Sena activists have attacked shops in Mumbai selling gifts for Valentine's Day as part of the party's campaign against 'vulgar' western influences on youth. Likewise, in 1998, Shiv Sainiks attacked movie theatres in Mumbai screening director Deepa Mehta's Fire, a highly controversial film based on a lesbian theme on the grounds that such films violated Hindu ethos and were immoral for Hindus to watch. As a result, the screening of the movie was withdrawn. Later, members of the Sena's Varanasi branch launched aggressive protests against the filming of Mehta's Water, on the grounds that such films were made with the designs of intentionally defaming Hinduism by portraying Varanasi and other holy cities in an inaccurate and negative light. As a result of the protests, the location for shooting the film was shifted to the neighbouring Sri Lanka.

Targeting actors
Shiv sena has targettted SRK at number of occasions.Menacing dictates came from the Sena chiefs to stop the release of the film (My Name is Khan)following comments by the actor in support of inclusion of Pakistani players in the Indian Premier League, 2010, as well as his comments where he had stated that he was an "Indian first" as opposed to being a person of the state first. His being a north Indian (v.s.) and belonging to the Muslim community added to his plight in the city that is "controlled" by the Sena, though not ruled by it.
And recently Raj Thackeray's Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS), has called on foreign white actresses to go home.

Anti Pakistan stance
as part of their efforts to hamper any collaboration between India and the Muslim dominated Pakistan, Shiv Sainiks have resorted to damaging cricket pitches in stadiums where the Indian and Pakistani cricket team were scheduled to play. The two most prominent instances of the Sena's targeting pitches are the destruction of the pitch at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium in 1991 and the vandalizing of the Feroz Shah Kotla Grounds pitch in national capital Delhi in 1999.

Note: whatever the content that i have posted here is not based on my personal view so kindly refrain from getting personal, Thanks

the video provides proof that the target is not SRK but also Australian cricket team.

I think most people on PDF know about the Shiv Sena. Whats your purpose behind starting this thread? And if you don't have your own views or can't add anything then why just reproduce articles?

This is going to end up in a flame war.

Lol.. Shiv Sena again. Arey bhai, this was just a political stunt. It was all sorted out, and we have seen australians playing in Mumbai already.
Talking about IPL, you guys do not have to worry about safety of your players yaar. Lol.
Shiv sena is just a political party, which is not even in power. Why are you takin these guys so seriously, when even we don't?

Hi Robbies,
yes the purpose is to highlight Shev Sina's latest extremist move by targeting British actors working in India, i am sure you are aware of that, i have not discussed India i have discussed Shev Sina. Secondly 99% article on PDF are copied and pasted, so don't make that an issue, i could have written this my self but then it would have been subjected to more criticism by members like you as being biased so i selected a neutral source

yes they are shiv sena..... God Shiv is God of Destruction.... They truly call themselves as shiv sena i.e. army of shiv..... They are infamous for destroying the public properties

Lol.. Shiv Sena again. Arey bhai, this was just a political stunt. It was all sorted out, and we have seen australians playing in Mumbai already.
Talking about IPL, you guys do not have to worry about safety of your players yaar. Lol.
Shiv sena is just a political party, whih is not even in power. Why are you takin these guys so seriously, when even we don't?
Hi, totally agree with you but shev sena's latest act for calling a ban on British actors working in India is just bullying

Ummm... i think its not shiv sena but MNS that has done that.

And that too they have asked for ban on ILLEGAL assignments, which is a no brainer really. And its just a political demand, it becomes bullying when they try to use force, not that they are above that.

Hi Robbies,
yes the purpose is to highlight Shev Sina's latest extremist move by targeting British actors working in India, i am sure you are aware of that, i have not discussed India i have discussed Shev Sina. Secondly 99% article on PDF are copied and pasted, so don't make that an issue, i could have written this my self but then it would have been subjected to more criticism by members like you as being biased so i selected a neutral source

I may understand your intentions, but many others on this forum won't. Further shiv sena thing is an internal matter. People would take exception to that. As for me finding issue with your thread, I dont. I just avoid threads like these where there's a high possibility of people digressing and not indulging in a healthy debate. Anyways good luck and hope ur thread steers away from any flame wars.

Hi
yes you are right but MNS was formed by Raj thackery who was part of Shiv Sena till 2006.
Actually i don't think legal work permits have anything to do with this, as its pretty obvious from thackerays's history of extremism that they want Bombay to live by their rules

Hi
yes you are right but MNS was formed by Raj thackery who was part of Shiv Sena till 2006.
Actually i don't think legal work permits have anything to do with this, as its pretty obvious from thackerays's history of extremism that they want Bombay to live by their rules

Then you should give examples where they are trying to make mumbai live by their rules and not raise issues that have nothing to do with extremism. its a low priority issue for me too but the issue of illegal work permits is a valid one as govt is losing revenue. In fact the whole bollywood operates above the tax net and other parties should also raise these issues.

hi,
i think if u had read the my first post you would have found the proof, However in this regard Tendulkar said that " Bombay belongs to India" you can very much understand why Tendulkar said this im sure this was valid enough its also mentioned in this video that i attached, I think working without work permits make sense for a logical excuse but that's not why the foreign actors are being targeted, there is a thread devoted to this recent demand by Raj Thackray so i dont want to copy and paste stuff from there, if u can check that up in the article there is nothing that mentions illegal working

hi,
i think if u had read the my first post you would have found the proof, However in this regard Tendulkar said that " Bombay belongs to India" you can very much understand why Tendulkar said this im sure this was valid enough its also mentioned in this video that i attached, I think working without work permits make sense for a logical excuse but that's not why the foreign actors are being targeted, there is a thread devoted to this recent demand by Raj Thackray so i dont want to copy and paste stuff from there, if u can check that up in the article there is nothing that mentions illegal working

You may be right abt that, they do try conservatism among other things to push their agenda.