Erdogan: Islam needs to be updated. You cannot apply Islam with laws from 14 centuries ago.

Economic and cultural relations between ancient India and Anatolia date back to the Vedic age (before 1000 BCE)
India and Turkey also have a cultural overlap. The Turkic impact on India in areas such as language, culture and civilization, art and architecture, and costumes and cuisine was considerable. There are also over 9,000 words common in Hindustani and Turkish languages.

More recent historical contacts between India and Turkey were reflected in the medical mission led by renowned Indian freedom fighter, Dr M A Ansari, to Turkey in 1912 during the Balkan Wars. India also extended support in the 1920s to Turkey’s War of Independence and the formation of the Turkish republic. Mahatma Gandhi himself took a stand against the injustices inflicted on Turkey at the end of World War

In contemporary times, relations between India and Turkey have been strained due to Turkey's religious mutuality with Pakistan. Until a decade ago, Turkey was a vocal advocate of Pakistan's position on the Kashmir dispute. Turkey was also one of the few opponents to India's inclusion into the Nuclear Suppliers Group.

However, in recent years, the relations between the two countries have warmed due to common strategic goals, and there is a growing bilateral cooperation in the fields of education, technology and commerce. We perceive Turks as smart & intelligent people but I feel there is some barrier in the minds of the Turks than Indians, that both have not explored our cultural exchange & trade potential.

Although we both are members of the major economies group G20 & share the same group, our trade has been very moderate. We hardly do 5-6 Billion $ business. Turkey should engage more with India with more to & fro visits. This will bring us again closer & boost our trade.

Remember India has a huge population who travel. Our tourists visit many friendly countries be it Dubai, Europe or America just for holiday apart from business expeditions. So I think we all should try & put more efforts towards cultural exchanges & trade.

What is with Indians and your obsession with Tunisia? Just so you know, Tunisian women are heavily discouraged both in society by other Tunisian females and from their families from marrying outside their religion. Just because it's legal, doesn't mean that it's going to start happening.

Tunisia is still heavily conservative which I admit is a problem but just because the government gets rid of a ban doesn't mean that Tunisia is magically over night turned into a liberal Secular democracy.
Love your avatar. :)

lols had we followed Islam to tye dot we would still be ruling the world! had we not sold our souls to $$$ we would still be kings of the world!!
how about just following Islam and not call each other kafir and actually practice and follow life of Prophet (SAW) and his companions? we ruled when we bowed down to Allah and we became beggers when we started bowing down to greed and $$$!

lols had we followed Islam to tye dot we would still be ruling the world! had we not sold our souls to $$$ we would still be kings of the world!!
how about just following Islam and not call each other kafir and actually practice and follow life of Prophet (SAW) and his companions? we ruled when we bowed down to Allah and we became beggers when we started bowing down to greed and $$$!
Excellent point and I agree with you. Muslims should follow the Qur'an and the Sunnah.

the problem i see with Muslims of today is we are scared of missiles and bullets we wet out pents when we see f35 flying over our heads if it was always about numbers how did 300 Shahbas wons the battle of Ahud against 1000...how we ruled from arabia to parsia if it was always about numbers and technological advancements! it was never about numbers or bullets it was always about Emaan!!

first words from Allah to Prophet (SAW) are Read have we actually tried educating ourselves (not this bs education we get today in our elites educational institutions) real education of Religion and world!!

we strayed from the path and now all the stray bullets are hitting us our heads!!

I myself am not a practicing Muslims but atleast i know whats right and whats wrong!!

Allah 1400 saal phalay bhi tha ajj bhi wohi hai ajj faraw hum Musalman Allah wallay nai rahay bas! molvi kafur keh fatwun say farigh nai hoota aur dunia ka admi paisay ki bhook say farigh nai hoota!

the problem i see with Muslims of today is we are scared of missiles and bullets we wet out pents when we see f35 flying over our heads if it was always about numbers how did 300 Shahbas wons the battle of Ahud against 1000...how we ruled from arabia to parsia if it was always about numbers and technological advancements! it was never about numbers or bullets it was always about Emaan!!

first words from Allah to Prophet (SAW) are Read have we actually tried educating ourselves (not this bs education we get today in our elites educational institutions) real education of Religion and world!!

we strayed from the path and now all the stray bullets are hitting us our heads!!

I myself am not a practicing Muslims but atleast i know whats right and whats wrong!!

Allah 1400 saal phalay bhi tha ajj bhi wohi hai ajj faraw hum Musalman Allah wallay nai rahay bas! molvi kafur keh fatwun say farigh nai hoota aur dunia ka admi paisay ki bhook say farigh nai hoota!
Well Muslims need to be educated in the religious and the worldly life.
Then Muslims will be successful.

Muslims need to educate themselves in the practical skills and education.

Well Muslims need to be educated in the religious and the worldly life.
Then Muslims will be successful.

Muslims need to educate themselves in the practical skills and education.
exactly my point!!

we were the most educated and mastered many skills from astrology to medicine to philosophy and scholars of that time were not only masters in worldly matter they were practicing muslims! but look at us now...our madarsahs have become tools and rather than teaching Islam and how to apply and intaract with world according to Islam all they care about is number of students and chanda khairat!!

our educational institutions what are they teaching our kids! rather than making them a quality individual in society they are teach them principles of capitalism teach them how to make money and leave your morals aside just care about money!!

its all fked up and its frustrating to see how we have fallen behind rest of the world!!

we have the perfect system in quran a system thats fair with everyone muslim or non muslim an idol who led by example Prophet (SAW) and yet we look at west to lead us!!

First muslim leader in modern times brave enough to say that. Kudos.
Islamic scholars would contradict the title of this thread and say that Islamic laws from 1400 years ago are applicable as they were as they are now. lol

Are you saying cutting the hand of a thief is outdated? Or stoning an adulterer is outdated?

Because these elements are part of Islam.

I wonder what you are trying to say?

exactly my point!!

we were the most educated and mastered many skills from astrology to medicine to philosophy and scholars of that time were not only masters in worldly matter they were practicing muslims! but look at us now...our madarsahs have become tools and rather than teaching Islam and how to apply and intaract with world according to Islam all they care about is number of students and chanda khairat!!

our educational institutions what are they teaching our kids! rather than making them a quality individual in society they are teach them principles of capitalism teach them how to make money and leave your morals aside just care about money!!

its all fked up and its frustrating to see how we have fallen behind rest of the world!!

we have the perfect system in quran a system thats fair with everyone muslim or non muslim an idol who led by example Prophet (SAW) and yet we look at west to lead us!!
There are appears to be two extremes. On one side Madrassas focus more on religion, and the secular private universities only teach practical skills and no or little bit of religion if you take courses on Islam in a country like Pakistan.

You need both in order to be successful in this Dunya or life.

Renewal, reforming etc. are no new concepts in Islam!!!! Opinions, with the best intention, based on the accumulated knowledge and experience of a given time are sure to change as time progresses!!!! Reformers are called "Mujaddid" and are highly esteemed in Islam. It's believed that every century is heralded with one or multiple Mujaddids as per the requirement of time. Please note that fundamentals of Islam remain same, only secondary opinions change as the Hakikat (reality) takes new hues and colors as accumulated human knowledge, technology, experience etc. progress on. As time gets older, the Kuran-i Kerim gets younger; therefore, it requires new Tefsirs (interpretations)....

According to a Hadis-i Sherif, the Last Prophet (PBUH) relayed one-third of the knowledge he was bestowed with, another one-third would be kept on being conveyed by the rightly guided Ulema and Evliya till the End of the Time, and the rest one-third won't be disclosed in this Dunya....

Islamic scholars would contradict the title of this thread and say that Islamic laws from 1400 years ago are applicable as they were as they are now. lol

Are you saying cutting the hand of a thief is outdated? Or stoning an adulterer is outdated?

Because these elements are part of Islam.

I wonder what you are trying to say?

There are appears to be two extremes. On one side Madrassas focus more on religion, and the secular private universities only teach practical skills and no or little bit of religion if you take courses on Islam in a country like Pakistan.

You need both in order to be successful in this Dunya or life.
Pakistan has no direction and we are a confused nation!

nationalists will hate me for saying that but it will be miracle if we our country survives!

People here are missing the point. Everybody keeps harping on about 'Islam' as if it is objective entity that we all can see and agree what it is. The fact is Islam is one thing to one person and another thing to another person. For instance TTP are fighting for Islam and their belief in the interpretation they hold is so strong that they are prepared to die for it. So it is across the Islamic world there are dozens of interpretations all vying against each other. All the proganists claim their interpretation is the Islam. This simple but profound point is being overlooked by many here. whose Islam. Mine, yours, Taliban;s, Erdogans, Iqbals etc the infinite spectrum of perspectives goes on.

And it has been so for most of Islamic history. Killing each other while claming they held the true version of Islam. And it goes on today.

Pakistan has no direction and we are a confused nation!

nationalists will hate me for saying that but it will be miracle if we our country survives!
Well the practising Muslims will say follow the Qu'ran and the Sunnah. And ofcourse be educated in the practical skills and knowledge.

That is the path to success.

there is another member that brought TTP into this.

TTP are terrorists. They should not be attacking the state.