End of story? Dastaan may be pulled from Indian airwaves

Shamain

So a drama on partition is going to rile indian audiences and I & B ,and 'further' modifications will be made to it to soothe the viewers.
Such intoleramce.

And indian posters here get so bent out of shape to criticize pakistanis and seeking ' MORE' (god knows how much more they still want ), freedom of speech on this forum.

End of story? Dastaan may be pulled from Indian airwaves - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

Indian viewers might love Fawad Khan for his looks and acting, but his 1947 Partition themed drama Dastaan has still raised quite the furore.

Upset viewers have reported the drama series to I&B ministry and broadcast redressal authority Broadcast Content Complaints Council (BCCC), which was resulted in the issue of a notice to the channel Zee Zindagi, reported Times of India.

Although Dastaan has been edited for Indian viewing and renamed Waqt Ne Kiya Kya Haseen Sitam, it appears that viewers still felt that it was portraying Pakistan’s version of the Partition.

5551a27467597.jpg

Sanam Baloch and Fawad Khan in 'Dastaan'.
Based on Razia Butt’s novel ‘Bano’, Dastaan is based on the separation of a young couple due to the 1947 Partition. Starring Fawad Khan as Hasan and Sanam Baloch as Bano, the drama series shows Bano’s abduction and forced marriage to a Sikh and has instances that have shown Hindus as the perpetrators of the carnage.

Still, there have been viewers in India who were not offended with the serial. Speaking aboutDastaan, one Zindagi channel official has said that it was a ‘beautiful, timeless’ love story.

He further added that the response to the drama series has also been positive: “The soap could be set against the backdrop of any country that underwent the harsh reality of Partition. The show was telecast as Dastaan in Pakistan and we have made necessary changes to telecast it for the Indian audience. We have followed all broadcast guidelines.”

While the channel’s executives are to be summoned for a hearing on May 22, a Zee official said that they haven’t received any notice so far. The I&B ministry has not taken any action but notified the concerned authorities. Zindagi channel might be asked to modify the drama further or be advised against its re-telecast in India.

I actually agree with that.
But star plus nonsense has been around for way too long now.

But my point of thread was something else.

The double standards shown while requesting freedom of speech.
So you attribute grievances of Indian posters to the actions of ministry of Information and broad casting of Republic of India.... Much similar to say that actions of the moderators here reflect decisions taken at Ministry of Water and power in Pakistan.
Have to give it to you, that is impeccable rationale.

So you attribute grievances of Indian posters to the actions of ministry of Information and broad casting of Republic of India.... Much similar to say that actions of the moderators here reflect decisions taken at Ministry of Water and power in Pakistan.
Have to give it to you, that is impeccable rationale.
No dont get me wrong.
There is nothing wrong in using an analogy in pointing out an error. And besides that i have seen indians on all other social media paltforms touting the same horn.making same demands, heck even regarding insulting cartoons on prophet they said this same nonsense.

Anyways, u are free to think whatever the way u want and analyze whichever the way you wish,

Views of an educated cross section of a soceity do reflect the mindsets of that particular society at large.

there is absolutely no need for airing Pakistani content in India and vice versa. that is my view
Both countries are airing each other's content via local channels.... what's your point?

they shouldn't. that's it. Overwhelming majority of Pakistani members thing so, and I am just promoting the same view.

No dont get me wrong.
There is nothing wrong in using an analogy in pointing out an error. And besides that i have seen indians on all other social media paltforms touting the same horn.making same demands, heck even regarding insulting cartoons on prophet they said this nonsense.

Anyways, u are free to think whatever the way u want and analyze whichever the way you want.

Views of an educated cross section of a soceity do reflect the mindsets of that particular society at large.
Do you think Indians of the forum represent general views of Indians...?

I will make a small point and then you can make up your mind. general membership of PDFin 2013 was around 51K assuming it grew to a 70K today, and for benefit of the doubt lets say 65000 of those members are indians.. Give a second thought to what percentage of 1.285 Billion it represents - 65K/1.285 billion ... i.e. 0.000005058% of of Indian opinion...

Now about the Indians you have come across various platforms, think of how many opinions you have come across, put a number on it and then do the same divide it by 1.285 billion andevaluate for yourself the statistical soundness of your opinions.

My remark was directed for one very simple thing that..... Opinions on PDF, news papers, cannot be interpolated to the general populace.
When I say that ban all cultural exchanges, similar to Horus, it is exactly what it is, an Individual's opinion from India, or a Individuals opinion from Pakistan. it's not the opinion of India or Pakistan neither is it representation of PDF Indian members or any other subset, because even there the statistical anomaly of 1 in 65K stands true.

thats that.

Indian double standard show off ,if indian movies palys its roll in Pakistan they enjoy their bollywood culture spreading and when Pakistani dramas gets in their home they start crying again Pakistani channels are not allowed in india from long time, when they gets some entertainment from Pakistan which is actually pure family entertainment, can watchable for all ages i think that makes them nervous that it will become popular and change their nude and vulgar culture of bollywood.
Its Pakistani and offcourse it will and sud highlighs Pakistani point of view..those who wanted to bycout can go ahead cuz quality always better than quantity.

they shouldn't. that's it. Overwhelming majority of Pakistani members thing so, and I am just promoting the same view.

Do you think Indians of the forum represent general views of Indians...?

I will make a small point and then you can make up your mind. general membership of PDFin 2013 was around 51K assuming it grew to a 70K today, and for benefit of the doubt lets say 65000 of those members are indians.. Give a second thought to what percentage of 1.285 Billion it represents - 65K/1.285 billion ... i.e. 0.000005058% of of Indian opinion...

Now about the Indians you have come across various platforms, think of how many opinions you have come across, put a number on it and then do the same divide it by 1.285 billion andevaluate for yourself the statistical soundness of your opinions.

My remark was directed for one very simple thing that..... Opinions on PDF, news papers, cannot be interpolated to the general populace.
When I say that ban all cultural exchanges, similar to Horus, it is exactly what it is, an Individual's opinion from India, or a Individuals opinion from Pakistan. it's not the opinion of India or Pakistan neither is it representation of PDF Indian members or any other subset, because even there the statistical anomaly of 1 in 65K stands true.

thats that.

Itni lambi analysis.?? anyways, ihave witnessed lot of indians online and even here demanding the freedom of speech like a broken record but dont believe in reciprocating. I stated and shared what was observed.

As of taking it down to detailed statistical analysis etc , do as much indepth one u want to,but that wont change facts,these perceptions werent built in a single day, It is a fruit of many years infact decades long efforts of ur gov and countrymen.

There is a journo on ur side called praveen swamy,extremely liked for anti pk rhetoric he spews, but he ended up writing with suspicion abt terror boat drama,wat ur ppl did,:

http://m.firstpost.com/india/pakist...journalist-praveen-swami-in-delhi-2030783.htm

Do concentrte on highlighted red bit.:

Even as the debate continues on whether the boat that exploded off the Gujarat coast on 31 December was a 'terror' boat or not, protesters sporting saffron scarves burnt photos of Indian Express' National Editor,Strategic and International Affairs Praveen Swami outside the daily's New Delhi office.

This, after Swami, in his article, 'Doubts mount over India's claims of destroying 'terror boat' from Pakistan' on 2 January in The Indian Express argued that the crew of the boat may not have been suspected terrorists as claimed by the Defence Ministry.

An ANI report on Monday quoted one of the protesters as saying, "How can he say something like that? He is talking like one of the people from other side of the border. You live in India and write against it; we are not going to tolerate that. We will teach him a lesson."

While Swami had argued there may have been 'use of disproportionate force', the Defence Ministry had said that said it was confirmed that it was a terror attack.

The Defence Ministry in a statement had claimed that the Coast Guard ship had warned the fishing boat to stop for further investigation of the crew and cargo after an intelligence tip off. However, the boat increased its speed and tried to escape from the Indian side of the maritime boundary. The hot pursuit continued for nearly one hour and the Coast Guard ship managed to stop the fishing boat after firing warning shots.

Swami said in his article that, "new evidence has begun to emerge that those on board might have been small-time liquor and diesel smugglers, ferrying bootleg cargo from the port of Gwadar to other fishing boats which were to have carried it into Karachi's Keti Bandar harbour."

Four persons were seen on the boat who allegedly disregarded all warnings by the Coast Guard ship to stop and cooperate with investigations.

However, it was not just Swami's article, DNA too had reported that intelligence officers were confused by why the boat was chased in the first place. The DNA report said, "According to UN convention, a nation can chase or intercept suspicious vessels if they prohibit the passage of the host nation's passage or if they (suspicious vessels) loiter above or under the surface of the sea. That was not the case here, officials say."

The Pakistani fishing boat said to be carrying explosives was intercepted by the Indian Coast Guard off the shores of Gujarat in a midnight operation in the high seas on New Year's Eve, but the vessel exploded and caught fire before sinking along with four occupants.

The incident, which occurred some 365 km off the coast of Porbander, generated strong speculation that it was another attempted attack of the kind Mumbai witnessed in 2008, when 10 terrorists landed in South Mumbai from the sea and killed over 160 people at the Taj, the Trident and the CST train terminus.

While Pakistan rejected such reports, the Defence Ministry said they had received intelligence information that helped them intercept the boat.

Dastaan and Akbari Asghari are the only dramas of Fawad i liked

Sounds like a good serial shamain ji. Maybe it would still be available on internet. As for 1947 partition the carnage was committed from both the sides.

It is not only pakistani serials being targetted. Some sections of Indian audience attacked ekta kapoor's office for the show jodha akbar which they believe "wrongly" depicted their history. People also protested against Aamir Khan movie PK. So such protests are nothing new shamain ji. Aap bhi baat baat pe gussa ho jate ho. :o:

Its okay to broadcast nuetral shows like daily soap, light comedies but such serials ends up bieng contentious...

Indians compained to the govt.So GoI took the action.
So this was not a Govt decision.
Indians wont tolerate things that against their patriotism.

Itni lambi analysis.?? anyways, ihave witnessed lot of indians online and even here demanding the freedom of speech like a broken record but dont believe in reciprocating. I stated and shared what was observed.

As of taking it down to detailed statistical analysis etc , do as much indepth one u want to,but that wont change facts,these perceptions werent built in a single day, It is a fruit of many years infact decades long efforts of ur gov and countrymen.

There is a journo on ur side called praveen swamy,extremely liked for anti pk rhetoric he spews, but he ended up writing with suspicion abt terror boat drama,wat ur ppl did,:

http://m.firstpost.com/india/pakist...journalist-praveen-swami-in-delhi-2030783.htm

Do concentrte on highlighted red bit.:

Even as the debate continues on whether the boat that exploded off the Gujarat coast on 31 December was a 'terror' boat or not, protesters sporting saffron scarves burnt photos of Indian Express' National Editor,Strategic and International Affairs Praveen Swami outside the daily's New Delhi office.

This, after Swami, in his article, 'Doubts mount over India's claims of destroying 'terror boat' from Pakistan' on 2 January in The Indian Express argued that the crew of the boat may not have been suspected terrorists as claimed by the Defence Ministry.

An ANI report on Monday quoted one of the protesters as saying, "How can he say something like that? He is talking like one of the people from other side of the border. You live in India and write against it; we are not going to tolerate that. We will teach him a lesson."

While Swami had argued there may have been 'use of disproportionate force', the Defence Ministry had said that said it was confirmed that it was a terror attack.

The Defence Ministry in a statement had claimed that the Coast Guard ship had warned the fishing boat to stop for further investigation of the crew and cargo after an intelligence tip off. However, the boat increased its speed and tried to escape from the Indian side of the maritime boundary. The hot pursuit continued for nearly one hour and the Coast Guard ship managed to stop the fishing boat after firing warning shots.

Swami said in his article that, "new evidence has begun to emerge that those on board might have been small-time liquor and diesel smugglers, ferrying bootleg cargo from the port of Gwadar to other fishing boats which were to have carried it into Karachi's Keti Bandar harbour."

Four persons were seen on the boat who allegedly disregarded all warnings by the Coast Guard ship to stop and cooperate with investigations.

However, it was not just Swami's article, DNA too had reported that intelligence officers were confused by why the boat was chased in the first place. The DNA report said, "According to UN convention, a nation can chase or intercept suspicious vessels if they prohibit the passage of the host nation's passage or if they (suspicious vessels) loiter above or under the surface of the sea. That was not the case here, officials say."

The Pakistani fishing boat said to be carrying explosives was intercepted by the Indian Coast Guard off the shores of Gujarat in a midnight operation in the high seas on New Year's Eve, but the vessel exploded and caught fire before sinking along with four occupants.

The incident, which occurred some 365 km off the coast of Porbander, generated strong speculation that it was another attempted attack of the kind Mumbai witnessed in 2008, when 10 terrorists landed in South Mumbai from the sea and killed over 160 people at the Taj, the Trident and the CST train terminus.

While Pakistan rejected such reports, the Defence Ministry said they had received intelligence information that helped them intercept the boat.

And that precisely is referred to as cherry picking, I can do the same with with the fate of journalists in your country but I wont go there. It is the same freedom of speech where anyone in the Indian establishment i.e. Journalists to simple civil servant can challenge the writ of government. That includes questioning the every governmental organisation from military to the politicos, that is the extent of freedom we have which is a fundamental right, but then again you dont se Indians holding up contests to insult particular religions. Freedom of speech has some boundaries in India to maintain Bonhomie, not to put a muzzle on the narative itself. Coming back to the topic, the protesters that you highlighted in your post represents a small faction and statistically are irrelevant. Do remember on of the most popular guests in India Today Conclave for years has been Gen. Pervez Musharraf.

My example still stands. Like for every voice of Anti-Logic , Anti- reason rhetoric from pakistani members there is a @Irfan Baloch or a @Pfpilot for example.

Might I refer you to a interview done a few years with Gen. Musharraf and Jaswant Singh, you see what a balanced narrative looks like.

My humble sugesstion is treat internet like internet. Sensationalism attracts clicks and revenue, anti-who ever , or specific bashing does the same, anonymity gives way to the language that would never have been used in a real life conversation, and thus you see what you see. If you start cherry picking the other lot where you come across good quality in discourse engage there, If you see otherwise here the report button. for any where else- close the page.

I agree with the post #2
There isnt any need for that.
Far too long have our women been obesed because of that.
NEVER AGAIN!

Stand with me, People.

I agree with the post #2
There isnt any need for that.
Far too long have our women been obesed because of that.
NEVER AGAIN!

Stand with me, People.