Electric Vehicle Policy: 30% Cars Will Be Converted To Electricity By 2030 In Pakistan

Path-Finder

electricity production will be there for it? the most damaging is the trucks and lack of professional mechanics to maintain them and ABSOLUTELY NO CONSCIOUS IN THE PUBLIC ABOUT EMISSIONS.

Electric Vehicle Policy: 30% Cars Will Be Converted To Electricity By 2030 In Pakistan

Climate change and a non-systematic approach towards the issue has been a cause of concern for environmental experts in Pakistan.
By Eminraja On Sep 20, 2019
oq.jpeg

To fight climate change and tackle threats posed by it, Ministry of Climate Change is working to formulate an extensive Electric Vehicle Policy. It is likely to be put forward in the next cabinet meeting for approval.

Adviser to the prime minister on climate change, Malik Amin Aslam, said that under the said policy, 30% of the vehicles in Pakistan will be converted to electricity till 2030. He expressed his views while addressing a conference “Combating Air Pollution, Saving Lives, Saving Planet”.

The said conference was arranged by Department of Environmental Sciences, Quaid-i-Azam University (QAU), collaborating with Foundation for Progress and ministries of climate change and national health services in the federal capital.

Climate change and a non-systematic approach towards the issue has been a cause of concern for environmental experts in Pakistan. They attempted to bring the attention of the government, political leadership and policymakers towards the issue through this conference and requested for substantial measures reducing air pollution and short-term climate pollutants.

Environmental damage was discussed in detail, along with the different implications it has on human life and social settings. The adviser to the prime minister, Malik Amin Aslam, told the gathering that they were taking essential and sizable measures to fight the crisis in the sector of transportation.

There has been a trend that around 60 percent of the world countries started shifting automobiles to modern electric cars which release around 70 % fewer emissions. However, countries like China and India among others have set targets for 2030,” the adviser previously said.

”Therefore, the prime minister has been apprised to devise a mechanism for setting up targets and policy-making to adopt electric cars. There are four major benefits of electric cars: the import of oil will be reduced and the country will be able to save US$2 billion in terms of oil expenses, eco-friendly technology to reduce vehicular emissions to a reasonable level, opportunity to become electric car exporter like China which is a leader in this market, it can help generate green economy.”

Lithium Ion batteries are another potential component in green energy solutions which is getting cheaper day by day and has become a useful technology applied in electric cars.

Lithium Ion batteries, he said, are another potential resort for green energy solutions. With being a sustainable solution, they are also cheaper. Pakistan will soon he indulging in manufacturing the batteries and CNG stations will be changed into e-charging stations.
https://blog.siasat.pk/30-cars-converted-electricity-2030-pakistan/

i think it seems unrealistic ,at present we are unable to produce lithium batteries for moblie phones,building such batteries for cars is much more difficult task,there is no homework and proper infrastructure for such cars manufacture from scratch

i think it seems unrealistic at present we are unable to produce lithium batteries for moblie phones,building such batteries for cars is much more difficult task
That's because you live in stone age.. It is more than a decade which is quite a lot...10 years ago how many people were using phone or internet?

how much phones or batteries and internet servers and software giant companies we have made in last 10 yrs,I think we should focus on realistic goals and targets based on our real capability,our education budget is much lower and there is no sign we will achieve such high technology based targets in 2030
That's because you live in stone age.. It is more than a decade which is quite a lot...10 years ago how many people were using phone or internet?

how much phones or batteries and internet servers and software giant companies we have made in last 10 yrs,I think we should focus on realistic goals and targets based on our real capability,our education budget is much lower and there is no sign we will achieve such high technology based targets in 2030
For me the realistic goal is more than 50%

i think it seems unrealistic ,at present we are unable to produce lithium batteries for moblie phones,building such batteries for cars is much more difficult task,there is no homework and proper infrastructure for such cars manufacture from scratch
look, the biggest makers of batteries (of all sorts) are the Chinese! They will shift production here and then will you be happy? Plus they have their own electric vehicle project too which is incredibly advanced.

I think tesla batteries are best in world for cars and are mostly manufactured by japan panasonic company.chinese electric cars durability has not earned customer confidence yet and is in premature status at present
look, the biggest makers of batteries (of all sorts) are the Chinese! They will shift production here and then will you be happy? Plus they have their own electric vehicle project too which is incredibly advanced.

I think tesla batteries are best in world for cars and are mostly manufactured by japan panasonic company.chinese electric cars durability has not earned customer confidence and is in premature status at present
by how much are they better? The Chinese make almost all the lithium battery! Plus their own electric vehicle battery will surface too.

But this is just getting bogged down in technicalities unnecessarily, Its not like BMW's and Mercedes etc are common on the Pakistani roads!! At most car is a utility in Pakistan!

I think a competent government could deliver this. Is our government competent/will it be competent until 2030 - Allah only knows.

What must we consider;

1. Do we have enough electric cars being made/imported?
2. Do we have market incentives to buy these cars/bikes?
3. Do we have the infrastructure to fuel them?
4. Do we have the skill sets to maintain them?

The answer to all these questions right now is no. We are taking some steps towards it and other steps can be taken towards it

For example.

1. They are inviting companies to manufacture electric bikes in Pakistan. Some of these bikes can do 100 miles per charge, some of these could do 400 miles per charge. I think 90% of users could make do on 100 miles per charge and certainly 99.9% of journeys on a bike can be done on 400 miles. The same is true for rickshaws. If we can get Rickshaws running on batteries alone (stick a solar panel on the roof to help recharge during the day) this would be a big change.

Imagine how much cleaner the air in our cities would be if all bikes and rickshaws were electric! This is a quick win, the tech is already there. Charging can be done at home (will go onto this later).

2. This will be the tricky part. The consumer won't trust the new product, it's not likely to be cheaper than the existing product, so where is the incentive to buy? Offer buy back schemes for existing bikes, set a deadline to make them illegal, raise taxes on them, tax break incentives, offer interest free finance for people wanting to buy an electric bike, put pollution charges in cities and towns for existing bikes. First offer the carrot, then follow gradually with the stick. The country can't afford quick change.

The aim should be that a new buyer, should look at the interest free loan option and think to buy an electric bike rather than a petrol one. Once you get a few on the roads, users will build up confidence and incentives can be taken away.

3. We are increasing energy capacity, this will need to continue. Each petrol station will need electric vehicle charging points, home setup kits will need to be available, we'll need addas for rickshaws with charging points, new charging points will need to be setup. The focus should be on urban areas first and rural later. The electric switch should be driven by urban demand, rural areas should get another 10 years at least. This is an opportunity for new jobs, training, infrastructure.

4. We need to train people to build them, we need to develop a market for spare parts, we need showrooms by companies to fix them, we need to re-train mechanics to learn the new tech. This is an opportunity, but also a business opportunity. If the state wants it's policies to be a success it will take the initiative. Smart businessmen (we lack those) might also re-train their staff early, or aquire staff with a dual skill set.

For me the realistic goal is more than 50%

You're overly optimistic. This is Pakistan not Sweden. Government and beaurocracy is slow, the private sector is not fluid and doesn't drive change. Also governments don't plan for longer than an election cycle, A will start something, B will abandon it. Why would anyone invest big and think long term in such an environment? It's high risk. That's why all our money is in the property market.

the main problem with chinese electonics is their small useful life and it is not feasible for cars as they are capital assets and are expected to remain operational for decades otherwise if they behave like hair cutting machines made by chinese companies whose battery and electric circuit get short if you use them frequently and not remain operational for more than one year it will become burden on our economy,major risks associated with electric cars based on chinese companies is that its battery and electric motor may short if car is used more and it may overheat so we should also look for other companies developing such cars with high quality and ensure quality controls of such companies and their products
I think a competent government could deliver this. Is our government competent/will it be competent until 2030 - Allah only knows.

What must we consider;

1. Do we have enough electric cars being made/imported?
2. Do we have market incentives to buy these cars/bikes?
3. Do we have the infrastructure to fuel them?
4. Do we have the skill sets to maintain them?

The answer to all these questions right now is no. We are taking some steps towards it and other steps can be taken towards it

For example.

1. They are inviting companies to manufacture electric bikes in Pakistan. Some of these bikes can do 100 miles per charge, some of these could do 400 miles per charge. I think 90% of users could make do on 100 miles per charge and certainly 99.9% of journeys on a bike can be done on 400 miles. The same is true for rickshaws. If we can get Rickshaws running on batteries alone (stick a solar panel on the roof to help recharge during the day) this would be a big change.

Imagine how much cleaner the air in our cities would be if all bikes and rickshaws were electric! This is a quick win, the tech is already there. Charging can be done at home (will go onto this later).

2. This will be the tricky part. The consumer won't trust the new product, it's not likely to be cheaper than the existing product, so where is the incentive to buy? Offer buy back schemes for existing bikes, set a deadline to make them illegal, raise taxes on them, tax break incentives, offer interest free finance for people wanting to buy an electric bike, put pollution charges in cities and towns for existing bikes. First offer the carrot, then follow gradually with the stick. The country can't afford quick change.

The aim should be that a new buyer, should look at the interest free loan option and think to buy an electric bike rather than a petrol one. Once you get a few on the roads, users will build up confidence and incentives can be taken away.

3. We are increasing energy capacity, this will need to continue. Each petrol station will need electric vehicle charging points, home setup kits will need to be available, we'll need addas for rickshaws with charging points, new charging points will need to be setup. The focus should be on urban areas first and rural later. The electric switch should be driven by urban demand, rural areas should get another 10 years at least. This is an opportunity for new jobs, training, infrastructure.

4. We need to train people to build them, we need to develop a market for spare parts, we need showrooms by companies to fix them, we need to re-train mechanics to learn the new tech. This is an opportunity, but also a business opportunity. If the state wants it's policies to be a success it will take the initiative. Smart businessmen (we lack those) might also re-train their staff early, or aquire staff with a dual skill set.

You're overly optimistic. This is Pakistan not Sweden. Government and beaurocracy is slow, the private sector is not fluid and doesn't drive change. Also governments don't plan for longer than an election cycle, A will start something, B will abandon it. Why would anyone invest big and think long term in such an environment? It's high risk. That's why all our money is in the property market.

Very cool. what about the charging station?

the main problem with chinese electonics is their small useful life and it is not feasible for cars as they are capital assets and are expected to remain operational for decades otherwise if they behave like hair cutting machines made by chinese companies whose battery and electric circuit get short if you use them frequently and not remain operational for more than one year it will become burden on our economy,major risks associated with electric cars based on chinese companies is that its battery and electric motor may short if car is used more and it may overheat so we should also look for other companies developing such cars with high quality and ensure quality controls of such companies and their products

Bhai ji, you get what you pay for. Top quality maal be China se milta hai, aur bekar cheez be waha se milti hai.

I think Chinese goods have an image problem in Pakistan because of our market dynamics. We aren't a particularly wealthy nation, so the Chinese goods we import are often cheaper goods, and the cheaper goods are often cheaper because of lower quality. The problem is that we don't have domestic brands manufacturing in China and Chinese brands are unknown in Pakistan.

I don't know which Chinese car company is as good as Toyota and which is rubbish.The Pakistani consumer doesn't know either. All we really know is that Chinese goods in Pakistan are cheap. So if someone brings Chinese products into the Pakistani market which are not as cheap as others - they won't sell as well because the branding of that product hasn't been done - people don't associate it with quality yet. This is a seperate challenge for businessmen.

Why people behave idiot..there must be a start somewhere...atleat they set the goal. Just think for a moment if nawaz is in office.. what was he thinking?

I think tesla batteries are best in world for cars and are mostly manufactured by japan panasonic company.chinese electric cars durability has not earned customer confidence yet and is in premature status at present

The Tesla Gigafactory 1 is a lithium-ion battery and electric vehicle subassembly factory near Reno, Nevada. The facility is owned and operated by Tesla, Inc. to supply the battery packs for its electric vehicles and stationary storage systems, next time instead of making stuff up google it.