Electric bike was officially launched in Karachi

I wonder, if Tesla comes, what would it cost. Certainly, the biased policy of government of so called “luxury tax”, will make it cross 12m

Great, however yaar first bring electric to the people talk about this bike and other things later.
:D:enjoy::enjoy:

In 2019 Pakwheel Tesla 85D S Model User said around 17.5 to 20 Million.
Yea, auto industry is really f’ed up. Selling crap like corolla and civic for 3-5m and making their variants as if the variants really are a big deal. Really laugh at people when i ask “Konsi car hai” and the reply is “gLi”/“gRanDe”/ “X” like wth. Buying a grande or gli keeps you under the basic umbrella of a taxi level corolla. Sick...

But coal is dirt cheap in comparison to gasoline

Correct, but you don't burn coal in an electric car or electric motorbike. First coal is burnt to make electricity, then it is transmitted through the national grid to the town/village in the 132 kV line. A transformer station then converts it to the usable 220 volts & 3 amps and feeds it to the distribution system. It is only then electricity generated from coal can be used to charge the automotive vehicles.

Hence comparing the price of coal with that of gasoline is invalid.

Running cost studies have been done in the UK with Tesla Model S. Using a standard public charger point, where power costs about 30p per kWh, a full charge from empty to full would cost close to £30. It will carry you about 250 miles on a single charge.

The most popular small UK car Ford Fiesta will take you 821-miles. Fiesta in the UK has 42 liters tank. At $1.30 per liter, it would cost close to £56 on a full tank. To cover that same distance you need to charge Tesla 3 times. The efficient way would be to pay for a Charger unit installed at home and charge your car at night where the power cost comes down to 12p per KWH, hence it would only cost £12 for a full charge. There would be cost savings provided you do not travel more than 250 miles during the day time.

I have worked in the oil/petroleum industry for more than 40 years and know all about economics & running costs of the automotive industry. Kindly take my word for it; more than anything else, the primary benefit of electric vehicles is the reduction of pollution in urban areas.

Yea, auto industry is really f’ed up. Selling crap like corolla and civic for 3-5m and making their variants as if the variants really are a big deal. Really laugh at people when i ask “Konsi car hai” and the reply is “gLi”/“gRanDe”/ “X” like wth. Buying a grande or gli keeps you under the basic umbrella of a taxi level corolla. Sick...
Lol, we had the same thing with Toyota's locally made corollas in China back in nineties. When cash finally started coming to the working class, and people started wanting nicer cars, no trick in the world could've restored Toyota's ruined image. Everybody were and still are remembering "special crap versions" that Toyota sold in nineties

I really am a fan of some of those chinese brands. Mann, the designs are soo futuristic, changhan for example, cherry is quite a popular brand as well in some other countries. Build quality is great

Wanna buy a license to make them from knockdown kits?:woot:

Correct, but you don't burn coal in an electric car or electric motorbike. First coal is burnt to make electricity, then it is transmitted through the national grid to the town/village in the 132 kV line. A transformer station then converts it to the usable 220 volts & 3 amps and feeds it to the distribution system. It is only then electricity generated from coal can be used to charge the automotive vehicles.

Hence comparing the price of coal with that of gasoline is invalid
Electricity is not that expensive in Pakistan, but gas was. That's my conclusion from 1 month stay there 2 years ago, when I was there with a water treatment company.

At 150cc electric and petrol engines are at a relative parity. Any much sizeable battery will offset gains from lighter motor, but it is as close as you can get. Power to weight of a well engineered bike peaks at around 150cc-170cc, stays relatively flat until around 400cc, and starts to diminish after. So electric invariably wins on performance above and below that range. Believe me, I spent many nights torturing linear programmer to verify that when I worked in an electric bike company.

The problem is following: electric definitely looses on cost outside that range too. Small 2 strokes are dirt cheap, and the cost of battery to deliver satisfactory range with 50kw+ motor will still be too high to compete with cheaper 400cc+ bikes/scooters.

So the competition is in 150cc-400cc range, which is the mainstream market, and people do buy into electric there. Most like electric for its maintenance free nature, and quick acceleration from nil.