Drone delivery startup in Pakistan

I want to start a drone delivery service in pakistan in selected areas as a pilot project. Need your thoughts on this.
If you are talking about regular deliveries than it's a boo-boo, you can try a niche where drones deliver in difficult terrains or situations.

Wth

You are quite dim aren't you. Go and read what drone delivery is and what it can be used for.
Oh I fully understand what drone delivery is and where and how it is being used or not used.

I suggest you to tell us where were you thinking of using it and what drones were you going to use for that purpose.

If you really want to spend money on a project you should ( and you have ignored my questions to you on this a few times ) fund your Pakistani written-from-scratch OS project that you had announced on PDF last year. What's the news on that ? This will be more profitable to you and useful to your country ( think governmental, scientific and military application ).

Here is the news despite of me having 100s of followers on Maarkhor os lroject on facebook i had just one half hearted response. I wanted the pakostani young IT professionals to join forces but it was disappointing to see no response. I guess ifni were offering free aata cheeni a lot of people would have replied
If you are talking about regular deliveries than it's a boo-boo, you can try a niche where drones deliver in difficult terrains or situations.

Thank you

Oh I fully understand what drone delivery is and where and how it is being used or not used.

I suggest you to tell us where were you thinking of using it and what drones were you going to use for that purpose.

Reaching remote areas, delivering medical supplies and food to vulnerable people. Using them fire fighting purposes

I was thinking of providing tbis service to retailers in very posh areas. delivered on roof tops. Reducing time to deliver and manpower needed, carbon footprint.

Postal services is another avenue.

Amazon is working on this in UK but iits early days. We should be able to use some modified form of it in pakistan as well.

Having said that in pak the major xoncer will be security. What if someone delivers a bomb.

Drone delivery service is indeed a great idea, just not in a country like Pakistan where recipients may be more interested in the drone than their delivery.

However, Drone Transport is another business that you can look at; steep investment though!

The drone will not land on lroples roof tops. It will drop the packet from 10 feet above and there has to be some laws or regulations. Its not a loot sale of drones

People can always be taught that its a drone that doesnt belong to them

I want to start a drone delivery service in pakistan in selected areas as a pilot project. Need your thoughts on this.
In Pakistan license of drone is really difficult to obtain. I think there is not enough market for such a high end service.

just not in a country like Pakistan where recipients may be more interested in the drone than their delivery.

:rofl:

Here is the news despite of me having 100s of followers on Maarkhor os lroject on facebook i had just one half hearted response. I wanted the pakostani young IT professionals to join forces but it was disappointing to see no response. I guess ifni were offering free aata cheeni a lot of people would have replied

That is disappointing. And I suppose that has to do with Facebook being generally a non-serious gathering place for many things.

After that did you try networking on LinkedIn with software professionals or anyone with interest ? Or other OS dev sites that I don't know of ?

I will tell you my little story about one project :

Some years ago I had written a simple OS by learning x86 Assembly on a Windows computer ( running the Debug program ). I styled the OS on message-passing IPC mechanism for synchronous IPC and it had UNIX-style Signals mechanism for asynchronous IPC. It also had timers whose expiry would generate a Signal. There were five simple text commands. There was no time-slicing so for task-switching the message-passing would do the switch or the keyboard task would switch to because of its higher priority. The screen would also constantly display the status of the tasks and other things. This simple OS was written on Linux using the BCC ( Bruce's C Compiler ) tool chain and emulated on Linux in the Bochs PC emulator.

I did this in some months. I showed the result to a friend of mine who then told of this to a friend of his who told it to an acquaintance of his. This third person met me and saw the OS. We agreed that something big should be done about it. Two or three months later he brought a bunch of computer engineering students who had written a floppy disk boot loader module and we together adapted it to the OS. A few months later this person said he was ready to arrange an OS to start a small company to commercially develop the OS. So a few days later he and I traveled to a office furniture and workstation sales company and gave order for purchase of chairs, workstations and also for construction of an office cabin and a glass-walled conference room. And then purchased computers at cheap rates. A few days later the office was arranged on one side of a big hall on 4th floor of his house and this hall already had his cousin running a small corporate- advertisements pamphlet and booklet design company. And then we gathered a small group of software engineers and hardware engineers who were paid every month with small salaries. My funding co-founder also got visiting cards printed for each worker including me. I wasn't getting further ideas so the office continued for some months. In between my co-founder's father who had been part of one of India's major aircraft development organizations had spread word about this company and his former colleagues who were still working there and in related places came to see the OS and asked some questions. At that time I wasn't very clear in answering. They must have been disappointed. Unfortunately, misunderstandings arose after a while between we two co-founders and the company dissolved.

But I must tell you one more thing. I had gotten in contact with the assistant manager and manager of the specialized-talents acquisition team of one of India's biggest IT companies and they saw my OS and they asked me if I could teach how the OS was written / worked to a few manager-level group from their company and that to be done on the two-day weekend holiday at the timeline of my choosing. They offered my 1.25 lakhs for this training. I asked time to think about this but ultimately declined the offer saying that the payment was too less. 1.25 lakhs for a two-day training program wasn't bad and they would have acknowledged my name is any project they would build on that OS but somehow the money seemed less to me.

What I want to tell you is that your OS project will be unique in your country, especially if you design it to be reliable ( microkernel architecture ), real-time, multi-user secure, general purpose and generally simple. You can even been able to acquire foreign customers ( about a month or so ago I read the website of a East European company - I forgot the name - which has developed a RTOS for small applications like smart electricity and water meters ).

You should persevere with your OS idea and network with the right people ( developers ) since you are ready to fund the project yourself.

@fitpOsitive, any advise to Baz ? And please do read my technical and company experience above about my previous OS project.

In Pakistan license of drone is really difficult to obtain. I think there is not enough market for such a high end service.

Demand has to be created. In UK you cant even fly a drone wkthout license and in pakistan every kid is taking aerial footage. You think its easier in western countries to obtain licenses?

Run a cost/benefit analysis of Capex+Opex of drone vs Capex+Opex of hiring a delivery boy, you will get your answer.

My advice - don't fix a problem that does not exist!

:rofl:

That is disappointing. And I suppose that has to do with Facebook being generally a non-serious gathering place for many things.

After that did you try networking on LinkedIn with software professionals or anyone with interest ? Or other OS dev sites that I don't know of ?

I will tell you my little story about one project :

Some years ago I had written a simple OS by learning x86 Assembly on a Windows computer ( running the Debug program ). I styled the OS on message-passing IPC mechanism for synchronous IPC and it had UNIX-style Signals mechanism for asynchronous IPC. It also had timers whose expiry would generate a Signal. There were five simple text commands. There was no time-slicing so for task-switching the message-passing would do the switch or the keyboard task would switch to because of its higher priority. The screen would also constantly display the status of the tasks and other things. This simple OS was written on Linux using the BCC ( Bruce's C Compiler ) tool chain and emulated on Linux in the Bochs PC emulator.

I did this in some months. I showed the result to a friend of mine who then told of this to a friend of his who told it to an acquaintance of his. This third person met me and saw the OS. We agreed that something big should be done about it. Two or three months later he brought a bunch of computer engineering students who had written a floppy disk boot loader module and we together adapted it to the OS. A few months later this person said he was ready to arrange an OS to start a small company to commercially develop the OS. So a few days later he and I traveled to a office furniture and workstation sales company and gave order for purchase of chairs, workstations and also for construction of an office cabin and a glass-walled conference room. And then purchased computers at cheap rates. A few days later the office was arranged on one side of a big hall on 4th floor of his house and this hall already had his cousin running a small corporate- advertisements pamphlet and booklet design company. And then we gathered a small group of software engineers and hardware engineers who were paid every month with small salaries. My funding co-founder also got visiting cards printed for each worker including me. I wasn't getting further ideas so the office continued for some months. In between my co-founder's father who had been part of one of India's major aircraft development organizations had spread word about this company and his former colleagues who were still working there and in related places came to see the OS and asked some questions. At that time I wasn't very clear in answering. They must have been disappointed. Unfortunately, misunderstandings arose after a while between we two co-founders and the company dissolved.

But I must tell you one more thing. I had gotten in contact with the assistant manager and manager of the specialized-talents acquisition team of one of India's biggest IT companies and they saw my OS and they asked me if I could teach how the OS was written / worked to a few manager-level group from their company and that to be done on the two-day weekend holiday at the timeline of my choosing. They offered my 1.25 lakhs for this training. I asked time to think about this but ultimately declined the offer saying that the payment was too less. 1.25 lakhs for a two-day training program wasn't bad and they would have acknowledged my name is any project they would build on that OS but somehow the money seemed less to me.

What I want to tell you is that your OS project will be unique in your country, especially if you design it to be reliable ( microkernel architecture ), real-time, multi-user secure, general purpose and generally simple. You can even been able to acquire foreign customers ( about a month or so ago I read the website of a East European company - I forgot the name - which has developed a RTOS for small applications like smart electricity and water meters ).

You should persevere with your OS idea and network with the right people ( developers ) since you are ready to fund the project yourself.

@fitpOsitive, any advise to Baz ? And please do read my technical and company experience above about my previous OS project.
@Baz2020 can you make a complete Linux destro? If yes then just forget this national thing. Develop it, and present the idea to some software company. If they accept it then negotiate for some division or design center within their company. And lead the product. My advice will be: don't offer people what they don't want.
@jamahir I will say just present your idea to anyone, and if they accept your idea and give you job, accept it. At job you will learn further development tools and processes. Sometimes I feel that you are trying to achieve things quite prematurely.
Don't do that.

@Baz2020 can you make a complete Linux destro? If yes then just forget this national thing. Develop it, and present the idea to some software company. If they accept it then negotiate for some division or design center within their company. And lead the product. My advice will be: don't offer people what they don't want.
@jamahir I will say just present your idea to anyone, and if they accept your idea and give you job, accept it. At job you will learn further development tools and processes. Sometimes I feel that you are trying to achieve things quite prematurely.
Don't do that.

IT expoets from pakistan are booming. What are they exporting 😊. Idea was to get people in pak do the real work rather than dling seo and making logos. Anyway i hear you. F××× this national thing. I can go and do it myself
Run a cost/benefit analysis of Capex+Opex of drone vs Capex+Opex of hiring a delivery boy, you will get your answer.

My advice - don't fix a problem that does not exist!

A chinese comoany will come in and start doing it and guess what. All of thr nay sayers will be like wow this is so cool we shoild do it too. This is the general **** mentality never do anything new.

Anyway i hear you. F××× this national thing. I can go and do it myself

Sorry, do what yourself ? Build the OS yourself or build a Linux distro or not do any OS at all ?

@jamahir I will say just present your idea to anyone, and if they accept your idea and give you job, accept it. At job you will learn further development tools and processes.

That is one good way yes. :tup:

Sometimes I feel that you are trying to achieve
things quite prematurely.
Don't do that.

Hmm.

IT expoets from pakistan are booming. What are they exporting 😊. Idea was to get people in pak do the real work rather than dling seo and making logos. Anyway i hear you. F××× this national thing. I can go and do it myself

A chinese comoany will come in and start doing it and guess what. All of thr nay sayers will be like wow this is so cool we shoild do it too. This is the general **** mentality never do anything new.
Yes, if you created 5 new jobs in Pakistan, it will be a great service from you to your country. And people need jobs.
Sorry for being too blunt. But that's how I talk to my family and friends. You are talented and visionary, but channelize it. Don't let it become a barrier for you. I am sure you will be a great developer.
P.S never mention anyone, I repeat anyone in your company and friends what you really want to achieve. If you did then trust me, you will never know what hit you.

Idea Acha Hai. But govt have not regulated many things. So you will feel difficulties in doing your business.
I am sorry but that's the sad reality of Pakistan.