The other side, hmmm we can say they avoid getting into Politics and that is their job, so I won't praise them for doing something which is Obvious and basic.
Yeah I would like to see some evidence of those Billions, Army also have business and corruption, which no one can question so all their " good deeds " doesn't matter if their existence is hurting Pakistan as a country, Army belongs to Pakistan, Pakistan doesn't belong to Army.
And what about those Plots ? Land Grabbing's ? Creating a lavish gated community surrounded by poor neighborhoods, enforcing your own laws with many restrictions on surrounding areas with accountability ? bro I just came to USA, I spend 30 years in Pakistan
Generals are product of this system that produce some of the nasty people in this country, and then supported the corrupt Politicians, Army as an institution by its core is wrong/corrupt and has to be rebuild, because its relic system of British left over brown boot polisye Jee huzoor, our Generals live like Kings and have servants for not just them for their kids and begum's, you remember that song Quote, Saeen tu Saeen... Saeen ka kutta bhi Saeen!!! General Sahab ka kutta bhi General hota hai...
I am talking about the System of Army, not how they operate... I am talking about a mafia group that is looting and harming Pakistan, and you are praising their discipline and ability to loot Pakistan in a amazing way, both are two different arguments.
Successful ? where and when ? if you mean by wars then the foot soldier fight the battle not the Generals, 71 was purely a product corrupt Generals and their twisted mindset, and yes yes bhutto was responsible to but there is more than enough evidence of Pakistan Generals treating Bangli's worse than humans, and mistrusting them... similar pattern we see in Karachi against the Urdu speaking community. if a institution create 9 bad apples out of 10 and 1 good, than that institution is already failed.
I don't have to paint an Image of them, I know most of them are drunkards, my Aunt lived in Malir Cantt for more than 15 years and her Husband due to his position was well connected to high ranking Generals, often invited to their Parties etc, while awam die in hunger these Generals get rich. I asked you a question, Have you ever see a poor Major or Captain ? or Brigadier ? I never did. Everything you are talking about is duty of Military as a institution but only in Pakistan, Army runs media/Govt/SC/Establishment foreign policy/Business and regime change, if Army was confined to borders and fight the internal and external threats they would have respect, like they used to in many Pakistani's eyes but this institution has done so much damage to no just political system but society in general and is showing no sign of regret, they are irredeemable.
Not an Arguments but reality check.
Do I have to know their morning routines to know if there are Generals in Pakistan Army who drinks Alcohol ? we have Generals who drink, have sexual affairs, Gamble in USA, and much more than never come to light, as I said there is no accountability in the institution, and Govt or investigative agencies have no access to what happen in the Army.