Does India need anti Submarine warfare carrier?

Screambowl

I was going through some list of aircraft carriers and I found that US had built anti submarine warfare carrier accommodating helis.

We know that submarines possess threat to any aircraft carrier , so does for IN too as India is building its fleet of CBG with ACs. In counter to that, to safeguard these battle groups, India should make vessels which can accommodate if not 20 but 3 helis capable of anti submarine warfare to extend the operation range of the vessel. Those who posses threat to IN have been investing on submarines and stealth frigates too seeing In requires high grade anti submarine warfare technology.

Anti-submarine warfare carrier - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Any ideas?

with pakistan having or trying to have 6 and china already havingmore than 60 subs yes we need a anty sub warfare AC

highly unlikely P8i and Tu-95 do the job efficiently and are light on pocket

We should concentrate on building Hunter killer SSK and SSN Submarines to have credible defence against submarines from China and Pakistan .

I was going through some list of aircraft carriers and I found that US had built anti submarine warfare carrier accommodating helis.

We know that submarines possess threat to any aircraft carrier , so does for IN too as India is building its fleet of CBG with ACs. In counter to that, to safeguard these battle groups, India should make vessels which can accommodate if not 20 but 3 helis capable of anti submarine warfare to extend the operation range of the vessel. Those who posses threat to IN have been investing on submarines and stealth frigates too seeing In requires high grade anti submarine warfare technology.

Any ideas?

There was a tender for 4 LHDs or LPDs can't we use them for this role,we can place some ASW helicopters on them

Any ideas?
The days of single-role ships are long gone. All the IN has to do (and id trying to do with varying degrees of success) is induct state of the art ASW helos onboard its frontline warships, coupled with the LRMPAs and ASW capabilities of the IN's warships. ACCs will be protected by their escorts (with NMRH ASW helos), the IN is looking to induct 4 LHD/LPD .

There was a tender for 4 LHDs or LPDs can't we use them for this role,we can place some ASW helicopters on them

the pakistan navy , lets forget about chinese subs as they are huge in numbers, are fitted with SM39 exocet missiles, anti ship with max 180kms range. So It can be a threat to our CBG. That's why air borne ASW will be an advantage.

you are correct, there is a 2.6 billion dollar program for ASW carrieer, for Heli landings under IN multirole support vessel program. It's just on wiki

Indian Navy Multi-Role Support Vessel programme - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The days of single-role ships are long gone. All the IN has to do (and id trying to do with varying degrees of success) is induct state of the art ASW helos onboard its frontline warships, coupled with the LRMPAs and ASW capabilities of the IN's warships. ACCs will be protected by their escorts (with NMRH ASW helos), the IN is looking to induct 4 LHD/LPD .

are you talking about this?

Indian Navy Multi-Role Support Vessel programme - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

the pakistan navy , lets forget about chinese subs as they are huge in numbers, are fitted with SM39 exocet missiles, anti ship with max 180kms range. So It can be a threat to our CBG. That's why air borne ASW will be an advantage.

you are correct, there is a 2.6 billion dollar program for ASW carrieer, for Heli landings under IN multirole support vessel program. It's just on wiki

are you talking about this?

Well let's hope the tender for Naval choppers doesn't get stuck & we should also invest more in Hunter killer submarines

Bhai yahan normal carrier bhi lene ke vandey hai aur tujhey carrier me bhi SPECIFIC type ka carrier chahiye..........!! :rolleyes:

Any ideas?

Actually we need them more than we need propper aircraft carriers, since the biggest naval threat we face is the Chinese sub fleet. An aircraft carrier can of course do the same, since it's just a matter of carrying a number of helicopters beyond the costal area and support them for a certain time, but you neither need high numbers of helicopters, nor a 40Kt carrier for this roles. The Japanese Hyuga class helicopter destroyer (they call them so because they are not allowed to have propper carriers), serves the same ASW purpose and given by the larger area IN has to cover in the ASW role, such carriers are important for us. However, LHD's, LDP's or JSS's can be used in that role too, if their layout support the use of enough helicopters and are far more cost-effective than a propper carrier.

Indeed, for 4 LHD/LPD, will boost the IN's ability to conduct ASW, amphibious operations, humanitarian support, C&C support, joint task force ops etc etc

In case of blockade created by IN CBG near gulf of oman or in the Indian ocean , how is IN going to deal with submarine threat and specially submarine launched exocet SM 39 missile, as we know it has a range of 180km, with current arsenal?