Does Imran Khan stand a chance in the 2018 General Elections?

You're arguing with school going emo kids. Total waste of bandwidth. Let them find all reasons to satisfy their inner selves.

It is not Imranistan. That member is troll, and using Imranistan as cover to make Imranistan look bad.

Now this is some statement. Can't stop laughing.
Pak politics have a lot of players and stake holders .PML N actual strength is not more than 27 seats .They won last election we all know how and Zardari won we also know how so vote matter but have less value than those stake holders .
Little thing last election My village total vote for MPA candidates were far less than total votes of MNA candidates .Who did not vote for those MPAs but voted for MNA s is a mystery but we all know how that happened .

Does Imran Khan stand a chance in the 2018 General Elections?
By Shar Published: March 21, 2017

15 CommentsPrintEmail
47880-imrankhanbannerx-1490098110-863-640x480.jpg

Supporters of Pakistani politician and former cricketer Imran Khan stand next to electoral poster of Khan at the venue of an election campaign meeting by Khan's party Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) in Islamabad on May 9, 2013. PHOTO: AFP

The Nolan brothers are a great team; they have teamed up for some impressive films such as The Dark Night Trilogy, producing ground-breaking action cinema. What intrigues me even more is that some of the lessons from their films are also applicable in the factual world. When Bane cornered Batman in The Dark Knight Rises, beating him to a pulp, he uttered the movie’s famous lines,

“Peace has cost you your strength, victory has defeated you…”

A tired and peaceful Batman had won his victory and thus gave up the struggle that made him who he was.

There are some parallels that can be drawn here between Batman and Imran Khan. I am not saying that the latter is Pakistan’s ‘Dark Knight’ but rather that he stood up for justice in his own unique way, making the nation believe again, similar to what Batman did for Gotham City. Of course, Bruce Wayne and Imran are rich and have a way with the ladies and yet remain painfully single. However, this is as far as this similitude goes.

Imran’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) was formed way back in 1996 but had little success during its early years. It took him years of hard work to actually win a seat in the National Assembly and was at the point of being considered a political failure. However, through his years of campaigning and some new found “friends”, Imran held sway in the 2013 General Elections by winning the second highest number of votes by any political party. At this point in his political career, Imran had won the hearts and minds of the Pakistani nation. Considered an outsider in politics, he had made his way to the highest echelons, playing the majority in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) and the opposition at the centre. With political heavy weights such as Shah Mahmood Qureshi and Javed Hashmi by his side, Imran looked unassailable.

From this apparent pinnacle of political pizzazz, PTI’s fortunes started going downhill. Apparently, nobody informed Imran that winning the election is half the battle. Every party must perform once in power in order to win the following elections, which are always tougher than the first. Like every politician, Imran unfortunately went back on his word in quite a few facets of his announced political strategies.

His first apparent blunder was to downplay the youth candidates when extending party tickets. The youth had responded passionately to Imran’s call for justice and thus alienating them once they were all geared up to move forward and help build the country, was seen as utter betrayal. The second, and perhaps the worst, mistake that Imran could make was to trust the system to help him get a positive decision on the Election Commission Pakistan (ECP) contested seats cases that he had filed after the elections.

Furthermore, the dharna did give the nation something to focus on for a while, and perhaps Imran had thought that some of his “friends” might help him topple the government, but it was not meant to be. His concentration on absorbing more power or removing the Sharif government (which are practically synonyms) allowed for the resurgence of terrorism in K-P.

Despite what Imran’s partisans may think, he was directly responsible for what transpired as the worst terrorist attack in Pakistan’s history – the Army Public School (APS) massacre. His quest to retake power in the centre, albeit on solid ground, led to the negligence of the province, which his party was governing. The aftermath of the APS tragedy branded Imran as more of a rabble-rouser than an activist for justice. If he couldn’t deliver being in power in K-P, what was his excuse for blaming the Sharifs for their blatant shortcomings.

However, it was the end of an era for PTI, when Javed Hashmi contracted differences with Imran and left the party. Victory had defeated Imran.

Given the circumstances, Imran’s PTI has a tough election ahead of them. The urban areas within Sindh and Punjab, where they had garnered a considerable following, will be harder to penetrate again. PTI put up a good show in Karachi, which was only won by the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) through its infamous ‘extracurricular activities’. This time round, however, it seems harder for PTI to win the same amount of support, simply because Karachiites are tired of his troublemaking persona. They also have Pak Sarzameen Pakistan (PSP) to look forward to. It wouldn’t be a surprise if the Lahoris also follow suit.

What must be mentioned here is that since we are discussing Pakistan, legacy or inexplicable loyalty votes – the kind Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) ends up receiving each election – are a political reality. Therefore, even if Imran hasn’t performed too well so far, he may still be receiving considerable amount of votes in the next election. I hate to say this but it would probably be a good time for Imran to play the ‘Pakhtun card’ in K-P. He is going to win a number of return seats, thanks to the political stalwarts he has in his party.

Despite what the media might say about the Panamagate case and Imran’s role in the whole affair, the people of this country actually need solutions to their issues rather than hollow government bashing Imran is infamous for. Imran is a fighter for good and justice, albeit a fallible and fractured one. He actually needs to put his fights to rest and get to work on delivering in the places where he already has control. Unless he can pull off a miracle in K-P till the next elections, he will definitely give the PPP a chance for a comeback – and believe me, nobody wants that to happen.

15 CommentsPrintEmail
on Twitter, become a fan on Facebook
2765.jpg

Shar
The author holds an MPhil in Public Administration and has taught Politics and Public Policy at the University of Karachi.

The views expressed by the writer and the reader comments do not necessarily reflect the views and policies of The Express Tribune.
Pmln will loose if they set up maryam as their candidate, if shahbaz, nisar contest for next elections pmln will win but not by a very large margin, pti will gain major ground in punjab and will emerge as the second largest party of pakistan but if baby maryam contests than imran will win for sure..

you go my man, you show them how its done

View attachment 385613
Lol savage

Pmln will loose if they set up maryam as their candidate, if shahbaz, nisar contest for next elections pmln will win but not by a very large margin, pti will gain major ground in punjab and will emerge as the second largest party of pakistan but if baby maryam contests than imran will win for sure..

Lol savage
Why doesn't pml-n put forward shahbaz Shirif
.. Or did their daddy cut the cake as to nawaz you get pm and shabaz you get Punjab????

Shabaz seem a bit smarter of the two. ... and even that is pushing it...

In Last general election practically there were no election in karachi it was "Selection" rather than election, PTI had won 50% of NA seats in karachi but MQM was given free hand to manipulate and rigg elections as much as they can and it all happened infront of us the people of karachi we are the eyewitness of rigged elections, honestly speaking i dont trust this political and electoral system anymore..... this system cannot bring change.
Its was no election in punjab either it was selection of Nawaz sharif its actual strength is 27 seats .They always depands on cruches of DPO DCO and military nothing more one time they faught without them 2003 and they won 25 seats that what theior actual strength is .

Will imran khan get more seats then before? yes
does imran khan will hold a majority to be PM, ? depends on panama leaks decision .
Khan will win election InshaAllah Mark my words .Does not matter what Pajama leaks verdict comes ik made NS crook like Zardari in public eye that dent wont go away .politics is al about perceptions .Now ppl beleive Zardari was bacha jamura infront of sharif corruption .

Why doesn't pml-n put forward shahbaz Shirif
.. Or did their daddy cut the cake as to nawaz you get pm and shabaz you get Punjab????

Shabaz seem a bit smarter of the two. ... and even that is pushing it...
Shahbaz is not only smarter but he seems to be a man that isnt a full blown traitor n can actually work with the establixhment, nisar is the best choice ofcourse, zabardast bnda hi but i dont think he will get the cradle, even if shahbaz takes pmln riegns and the other major party is pti with ppp totally washed out, this is the best scenario for pakistan..

No, no punjabi or sindhi is going to vote for "khan sahab"
What the hell!!!

I have only posted few sources. Not only that, we are talking about holding dharna in the cities and towns as hostage for the whole months, forcibly closing down businesses against their wills, jammed the traffic thus the shipments were delayed. The whole month? That gotta hurt. Obviously, PTI was responsible for that. Unless you are going to deny PTI didn't even burn infrastructures on massive scale and forcibly closed down local businesses against their wills?

Because Dharna finished, hence the increase in KSE. During the on-going dharna, KSE suffered like the local businesses.

Within few months later, KSE topped the chart. Why? Because there hasn't been dharnas for a while.

I am wishing you the long and healthy life and you are condemning me to the death. And i have obsession with death? Strange nature of Imranistan. :D

Things like u still exist, we must strive more to make u extinct...

What is with Imranistan making me extinct, first with RIP and now this? Granted the one with RIP was troll, but this is becoming habit. Lovely shining of Tabdheeli traits here!!! :D

A guy who negates the two nation theory is ok for u??, recently he said Allah and bhagwan are the same thing are u okay with that??? i really dont knw whats wrong with u people, to hell with maturity, maturity in what??, looting, bieng a traitor etc etc, u are okay with corrupt dynastic goons???, shun that slave mindset, will u be okay with pmln if nawaz puts maryam as candidate for pm, will u vote for maryum than??, whats wrong with u....
I asked for source because i dont blindly believe in everything
here is what they are misinterpreting for their political propaganda..shame on them

[video]

What this has anything to do with violating two nation theory? He is just saying that people follow their own Gods and has their own culture. here is full speech where he is addressing to Pakistani Hindus. Now tell me whats wrong in it if listen from 16.10 onward

[video]

Corruption cases are in court and let the court decide it but i guess your supreme judge is Imran khan and all those sabir shakir passing their fatwa on Insaf Tv 2

and what about praises of IK for modi

[video]

when imran talk about good relation and business with india then all is well ..go watch his interviews in ajj takh

[video]

The financial irregularity cases against Nawaz Sharif are quite strong and the Passport scandal with PPP government has just created a possibility that PTI will do well next election

hqdefault.jpg

The financial irregularity cases against Nawaz Sharif are quite strong and the Passport scandal with PPP government has just created a possibility that PTI will do well next election
After Dawn leaks i dont think military beleive on sharifs anymore .Anybody betting Maryam as new PM candidate is nothing but a crazy fella the key person behind the leaks i dont think she has chance either .This govt may complete her term reason they came in power with deal with NS or without its about to be seen .

From where you took this shit? Insaf propaganda Tv?
It was ptians who compare Quaid with this immature kid who is their quid of so called naya Pakistan. You can bash nawaz as much as you want but for me he is still more mature politician than kid imran
So are you denying that he said those things. Plus we can see his maturity when he needs a freakin paper to read from when he meeting other dignitaries or when he is asked questions in a world forum. Or witness his honesty when he lied on the parliment floor and in his address to the nation but then his lawyer called it a siyasi biyan.

In all his time in power, PMLN has not been able to fix just one issue in Pakistan. He is a failed politician, the only thing he has been successful in is amassing huge amount of wealth for his family thats it.

You can bash nawaz as much as you want but for me he is still more mature politician than kid imran

If corruption is what you consider maturity in politics, than i agree Nawaz Sharif is the most mature politician in the world. I really hope Imran Khan stays immature in your eyes and lives a corruption free lifestyle which involves earning a Halal Income, something you corruption lovers hate.

What a mature politician.

So are you denying that he said those things. Plus we can see his maturity when he needs a freakin paper to read from when he meeting other dignitaries or when he is asked questions in a world forum. Or witness his honesty when he lied on the parliment floor and in his address to the nation but then his lawyer called it a siyasi biyan.

In all his time in power, PMLN has not been able to fix just one issue in Pakistan. He is a failed politician, the only thing he has been successful in is amassing huge amount of wealth for his family thats it.
I exposed your liar sabir shakir and bhatti in previous post. People can go as low as possible to degrade their political opponents by twisting their statements. I can post the videos where imran khan is praising abudul kalam azad and mahatam gandhi but it will serve no purpose. I am not here to defend Nawaz corruption and as said earlier i will be happy if he or any politicians get punished for any of his crime if proven guilty in court of law but its job of court to decide this and not the job of your ilazam khan or sheeda, bhattai or sabir shakir . Court is also aware of any byaan of nawaz in parliment so leave it for them to deal with it

What Ik has done in KPK? Has kpk became swizerland under his leadership? He was criticising Nawaz for building motorway and then went for building one in sawat kpk. Is not it stupid to claim different and unique when you have same corrupt left overs of others corrupt parties surrounding you on any big stage? I am 100% sure you all would be bashing khattack, jhangir tareen, mahmood quesrhi, haleem khan etc if they were all still present in any others political parties ..

If corruption is what you consider maturity in politics, than i agree Nawaz Sharif is the most mature politician in the world. I really hope Imran Khan stays immature in your eyes and lives a corruption free lifestyle which involves earning a Halal Income, something you corruption lovers hate.

What a mature politician.

If we all consider Imran/ptians as supreme judge of Pakistan and take their verdict on corruption then sure no doubt about it . make it simple :D

17361851_1295623500475066_2299678571344352780_n.jpg

and I am sure if tomorrow nawaz join PTI then he will suddenly become corrupt free lol

In my humble opinion it is little too early to talk about elections in 2018, Census is going on in the country next in line will be new Halqa bandi (Revised or new Constituencies) based on figures calculated in census plus there will be electoral reforms......without doing all these things elections would be yet another joke with the country and nation after 2008 and 2013