Dhaka wants to restore 1972 constitution

Al-zakir

United States

What the hell he is thinking. Disrespecting Islam in this Manner. What will we have left if there is no presense of islam in our constitution If we have secular constitution than what is need of existance of Bangladesh. Why these hindu minded half baked so called muslim want to play with fire. These dalals are loosing their infected brain.

Dhaka 8 (IANS): The Bangladesh government wants to "restore the constitution" framed in 1972, a year after independence, to reinforce the spirit of secularism, rule of law, human rights and democracy, a minister said.

Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Shafique Ahmed said his ministry would take steps to restore the 1972 constitution "in order to re-establish the spirits of secularism, the great liberation war, rule of law, human rights and democracy in the country".

"As a lawyer and human rights activist I have certain commitments to the people. The government is also committed to restore the constitution of 1972. If those commitments are fulfilled, the religious militancy and terrorism that emerged in recent years in the country will be rooted out," he told The Daily Star newspaper.

Ahmed's comments come amid accusations of a rise in religious militancy and growth of terrorist outfits, especially since 2001, when religious minorities and political opponents of the government were targeted.

The Khaleda Zia government (2001-06), that had Islamist allies sharing power, remained in a state of denial till there was an outcry at home and the US Congress threatened economic sanctions.

The Zia government proscribed four of the 29 Islamist outfits and brought to book some of its leaders like Siddiqul Islam alias Bangla Bhai.

The caretaker government that ruled for nearly two years (2007-08) sought to curb these organisations.

Bangladesh's 1972 constitution upheld the four principles of nationalism, democracy, secularism and socialism.

The regime of president Ziaur Rahman replaced "secularism" with the expression "by the grace of Almighty Allah".

Bangladesh is a Muslim majority nation of 140 million.

Shafique Ahmed said his ministry will take all necessary legal steps to try the war criminals who committed genocide, rape and torture against the people of the country during the liberation war in 1971.

The war criminals should be tried in the special tribunal under the International Crimes Tribunal Act 1973, he said.

"War criminals" are those who collaborated with then East Pakistan Government in the killing of unarmed civilians during the 1971 freedom struggle.

They allegedly include top leaders of Jamaat-e-Islami, the largest Islamist party, part of the alliance led by Zia that fared badly in last month's poll.

The Hindu News Update Service

What the hell he is thinking. Disrespecting Islam in this Manner. What will we have left if there is no presense of islam in our constitution If we have secular constitution than what is need of existance of Bangladesh. Why these hindu minded half baked so called muslim want to play with fire. These dalals are loosing their infected brain.

Were you intellectually challenged just now regarding the necessity of BD staying as an independent nation? Brother please gets this! When this unfortunate entity was emptied by W PAK forces for Indians to hand it us as an 'Independent state' then the INDEPENDENT word became the biggest casualty of the truth. We were 100 times more independent under PAKISTANI federation than now because of a very basic reason, which was W Bengali dadas and Indian forces were neutralized in Eastern front/our border areas. And when the security gets replaced by empty rhetoric of Tagore's song, Panta eating and TOI RAZAKAR word then the whole nation has to suffer. Aren't we now?

This will definitely make the current government unpopular to the west and the rest of the Muslim world. Socialism is close to communism; we are NOT West Bengalis where communism thrives which hampers development. Socialism is something that is looked down upon by the western powers. Socialism is the nationalization of major industries in Bangladesh. With Bangladesh's current economic situation socialism will take Bangladesh back 20 years.

The Bangladesh military will not approve of this. Minister Shafique Ahmed is asking for some major problems by taking Islam out of the constitution.

And what next will he do, band the azan from the public like Mustafa Ataturk Kemal did with Turkey. We are a Muslim nation, the constitution should stay how it is.

This will be very dangerous and unpopular. They have no mandate to do this as I have remarked before.

Apparently they want to live in the past, they still think their leader Mujibur Rahman is with them. The Bangladeshi people will always choose Islam over AL. On top of that I think AL is just preparing more and more to sell Bangladesh back to India like Mujibur Rahman.

Also, Sheik Hasina's South Asian Task Force is a dangerous component to Bangladesh's sovereignty. The task force will allow Indian soldiers come through Bangladesh legally. In doing so it's just like a chess game, setting up your pieces for checkmate. With Indian soldiers in position they can easily dissolve away Bangladesh's sovereignty and annex the land to the Indian Federation.

Why is AL like this, why can't they figure out that without Islam Bangladesh is worthless. If Bangladesh was an official non-Muslim country then I would never send money back there to help out.

What BNP and JI and other nationalist forces need to do is to educate the people and organize opposition to these anti-Bangladesh policies.

When BNP and JI attack Bangladesh's minorities then they totally loose people's faith in them. A report of a British law student who is of Bangladesh origin went to a madrasa in Bangladesh. He spoke to one of the students of the madrasa, and to his surprise and to the viewers that madrasa student spoke very good English.

AL needs to get out of BD. They want to dissolve Bangladesh's sovereignty. If Hasina had common sense then she would learn that History may repeat it self and she's walking to her fall like her father.

Apparently they want to live in the past, they still think their leader Mujibur Rahman is with them. The Bangladeshi people will always choose Islam over AL. On top of that I think AL is just preparing more and more to sell Bangladesh back to India like Mujibur Rahman.

Also, Sheik Hasina's South Asian Task Force is a dangerous component to Bangladesh's sovereignty. The task force will allow Indian soldiers come through Bangladesh legally. In doing so it's just like a chess game, setting up your pieces for checkmate. With Indian soldiers in position they can easily dissolve away Bangladesh's sovereignty and annex the land to the Indian Federation.

Why is AL like this, why can't they figure out that without Islam Bangladesh is worthless. If Bangladesh was an official non-Muslim country then I would never send money back there to help out.

Could you please expand on this south Asian task force idea. i find this very interesting. I think your current prime minister is acting like zardari doing nothing but bowing down to the commands of the indians. as far as the secularism thing goes i would support that but i am not Bangladeshi. i know i would support that in Pakistan though

South Asian Task Force is AL's leader proposal of a new Desi Army composed of all of South Asians. With this, only Indians will dominate South Asia on legal grounds. The South Asian Task Force is to destroy terrorism, according to Hasina. Sheik Hasina always bowed to India just like father who wanted to sell Bangladesh to India for the presidency of India.

It looks as if AL is more anti-Bangladeshi then the rajakars of 1971.

Dude thats crazy how much majority do they have in the parliament?
but i dont think that the Bangladeshi Army would allow their countries sovereignty to be trampled by the indian army

The AL has 231 seats in parliament and a further 27 if you include the Jatiya Party's numbers. The parliament consists of 300 seats so the AL alliance has 3/4ths majority and so can do anything.

The South Asian Task Force and the return to the 1972 constitution are both threats to the sovereignty of Bangladesh. As for the BD military they have been neutralized by the incompetent and treacherous leadership of Gen. Moin U. Ahmed. He is a man of little ability and understanding but extremely shrewd and cunning and he managed to betray everyone around him just to secure his position.

Dude thats crazy how much majority do they have in the parliament?
but i dont think that the Bangladeshi Army would allow their countries sovereignty to be trampled by the indian army

Yeah they secured nearly 85% of the seats in parliament with their allies of Jatiya Party and 77% just by themselves, that's 85% of the total power of Bangladesh.

AL can re-write the constitution on legal grounds since they control parliament now. And they may weaken Bangladesh's military more and more to dissolve the country's sovereignty.

Look how Indian government officials called Bangladesh and congratulated AL's ministers; they're up to something.

When is this general going to retire. i cant seem to find anything about him on the internet. Who is going to replace this guy and does anybody knows what his views are.

This General was supposed to retire last July but his tenure was extended for 1 year. He is likely to retire in July 2009. His comments suggest he is pro-Indian and pro-AL but he was promoted during the BNP regime. He was at one time our DA in our High Commission in Islamabad.

This shows the non tollerant nature and the disrespect we have for other religions..!!! Secularism means everyone is free to practise their own religion equally..Government and Religion should be seperate..!! How does that become a threat to islam..??? or Against islam??? It is the fastest growing religion in the wide secular world.. so what is the point of worry..???There is no wonder why many people hate india..?? They hate india because they hate the word secularism..!! I support the move by the bangaldeshi government..!! I hope the people of bangaladesh too do the same..!!! And brother i don't think any indian would be even remotely thinking about annexing bangladesh..!!! Don't You think the same could been done in 1971 itself if it was the thought..!!! Both countries are sovergien and india defenitely would be wanting to have a strong stable peaceful and prosperous bangaladesh at her side.. because many of our indian states are troubled by the influx of bangaldeshi immigrants..!!!!