Dhaka concerned as India plans to build 2 more dams

You can not control flood in the rainy season with Dam. Dam is meant to hold water in Dry season. In rainy season it is wide open. We already built enough embankment (No Dam) to control flood. So dont worry about flood.

Jiyo Einstein... Dams are made to store surplus water in Rainy season and releasing it in summer as well.. Dams are made to regulate water, generate electricity. By the time summer end, the dam water level go to minimum mark, In rain the dam get water, end of rainy season dams are almost full , or sometime over flow...

If there is heavy rain (very heavy rain) then god only can save.

Dams
Main article: dam
Many dams and their associated reservoirs are designed completely or partially to aid in flood protection and control. Many large dams have flood-control reservations in which the level of a reservoir must be kept below a certain elevation before the onset of the rainy/summer melt season so as to allow a certain amount of space in which floodwaters can fill. The term dry dam refers to a dam that serves purely for flood control without any conservation storage (e.g. Mount Morris Dam, Seven Oaks Dam).
[edit]

Most dams also provide flood control, and some are used to facilitate navigation. Dam reservoirs are essentially storage areas that can hold large amounts of rainwater and runoff when heavy rains hit. Dams have a series of gates, called spillways, that provide a tunnel or throughway for water from the full reservoir to be emptied into the river below, at a controlled rate. On a large river, like the Tennessee, the dams work in synch to keep each reservoir level stable, pouring water through the spillways, all the way downriver, as the elevation drops. In this fashion, no one reservoir bears the brunt of heavy rains.

Jiyo Einstein... Dams are made to store surplus water in Rainy season and releasing it in summer as well.. Dams are made to regulate water, generate electricity. By the time summer end, the dam water level go to minimum mark, In rain the dam get water, end of rainy season dams are almost full , or sometime over flow...

If there is heavy rain (very heavy rain) then god only can save.

Dams
Main article: dam
Many dams and their associated reservoirs are designed completely or partially to aid in flood protection and control. Many large dams have flood-control reservations in which the level of a reservoir must be kept below a certain elevation before the onset of the rainy/summer melt season so as to allow a certain amount of space in which floodwaters can fill. The term dry dam refers to a dam that serves purely for flood control without any conservation storage (e.g. Mount Morris Dam, Seven Oaks Dam).
[edit]

You have no idea of what you are talking about. The amount of water the big river like Bhramaputra/Barak carry in the rainy season, no Dam in the whole freaking world can hold. Within a week in rainy season you got to open every gate. You can do some flood control in canal like river which does not carry much water.

Flood Control DAMS - YouTube

You have no idea of what you are talking about. The amount of water the big river like Bhramaputra/Barak carry in the rainy season, no Dam in the whole freaking world can hold. Within a week in rainy season you go

t to open every gate. You can do some flood control in canal like river which does not carry much water.

"What ever you say officer"....

Controlling flood with dam is a hoax. Read my previous post and educate yourself or come up with better logic.

You are only partially correct. And incase of subcontinent you are mostly wrong. Dams do prevent flooding especially in the subcontinent where most of the season is dry and rains are restricted to a small widow. Most of the dams are relatively empty by the time the monsoon hits in India. So it does cushion the impact of heavy rains to a great extent.

And the benefits that it provides to irrigated areas is an add on. Offcourse there are Dams have there own set of drawbacks but considering the population explosion we are facing we can't let all of our rivers water to flow into Bay of Bengal.

You can not control flood in the rainy season with Dam. Dam is meant to hold water in Dry season. In rainy season it is wide open. We already built enough embankment (No Dam) to control flood. So dont worry about flood.

But you have not answer mega dam on brahmaputra by china which is endanger whole Bangladesh.

Controlling flood with dam is a hoax. Read my previous post and educate yourself or come up with better logic.

Please read article about dam if you think dam can not control flood.

www.icid.org/dam_pdf.pdf

If there are any reservations in BD regarding this, India would be very happy to have joint studies and solve and clear out the issue. We have done so with Pakistan as well.

I think India should make BD equal stakeholder in it and can station BD engineers there to ensure trust. people should benifit.

If there are any reservations in BD regarding this, India would be very happy to have joint studies and solve and clear out the issue. We have done so with Pakistan as well.

There is absolutely no need for this nice guy attitude. Water flowing through India is Indian resource and should be used for the betterment of Indians. Bangladesh has the highest per capita fresh water availability in South Asia. So its India which needs the water more than anyone else.So no need for any equal stakeholdership , worry about their objections and all that jazz. You should see how much water USA gives to its southern neighbor.

Bangladesh is going ahead with the construction of nuclear plant very close to major population centers of Assam, West Bengal, Tripura and Bihar. Do you think they bothered to consult with India or worry about Indian concerns? Ironically, the vociferous anti nuclear brigade of the Kundakulam fame has not made a whimper about this issue, wonder why (paid agents)

Playing the nice guy has not gotten us anywhere and will not in the future either. Our neighbors will always hate India and Indians simply because we are a "Hindu" Infidel country in their eyes. So no matter what exceptions, favors you do them, it won't achieve anything.

Its best to focus on our own people, and make sure we utilize all our natural resources to full potential for the betterment of our people, its our right. Indus Water Treaty was a blunder that should never be repeated.

You have no idea of what you are talking about. The amount of water the big river like Bhramaputra/Barak carry in the rainy season, no Dam in the whole freaking world can hold. Within a week in rainy season you got to open every gate. You can do some flood control in canal like river which does not carry much water.

I am no engineering specialist but I do not trust Indians.

What do you suggest is a suitable solution to accommodate both Bangladesh and Indian interests?

There is absolutely no need for this nice guy attitude. Water flowing through India is Indian resource and should be used for the betterment of Indians. Bangladesh has the highest per capita fresh water availability in South Asia. So its India which needs the water more than anyone else.

These are extremist view backed up by bully driven indian policy. This goes to prove earlier point I had made; india has no intention to respect international convention on river and any engagement with discussion, survey and what not are part of indian deception tactics and waste of time only to benefit india. Bangladesh has to do anything necessary for survival of its people. And when survival is at stake Bangladeshis had taken great responsibility and burden through out history. I would not discuss specifics but there are many ways to achieve our goals and thwart continuous indian destructive move against Bangladesh.

Well said.

Aur bano China ki rakhel :D Lagta hain bhool gaye ki apki pani ki line hamare ghar se jati hain. jab chahe rok sakte hain. Kya karoge babu moshai?? :D

Though full points for BD enthusiasm for bringing on the liberation war again. I think BD as part of liberation will detach itself from the asian continental shelf and float away to form the island nation of BD in BoB :D

jaise bade log choti bate karte ache nahi lagte, waise hi chote bache badi bate karte bhi ache nahi lagte :D

There's not much the indian regime can do, it's cloak of friendship is the greatest hoax. Everybody in BD except the BAL thugs, knows this by now. Another 1971 is coming.

Now dint get all emotional and press the "N" key on your keyboard. Have'nt you heard "barking dogs seldom bite".