Deja vu of Corruption -- So all the corruption money now can be declared legal

The Accountant

PDF THINK TANK: ANALYST
https://www.dawn.com/news/1383600/pm-announces-plans-for-foreign-assets-amnesty-scheme

Here we go again , So PM and all the ministers looted money for 5 years and now at the end of term they are bringing a scheme to disclose assets at a small amount of taxes, so it means all the bribery and money laundering will be brought into the legal books by paying 1% tax ... A deja vu of 92 ...

We should understand these tactics and should have a strong opposition to this method of corruption ...

@PakSword @Farah Sohail @El Sidd @Zibago @Arsalan @war&peace @Garfield @Shane

Alhumdulilah

That is why there is little faith in this country for honest and straight forward people..unless these tax amnesty beneficiaries are fined heavily and also punished severely, the trend will not stop. Everyone feels at impunity doing corruption because they know a legal loop hole will be created to escape the arm of law.

PDF should make a political party like in Maalik

they will be buried with this money ? qaroon ki aoulad

"ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi announced on Wednesday the government’s intentions to offer an amnesty scheme for Pakistanis to declare their foreign assets, and reduce tax rates to broaden the tax base and address challenges on the external and fiscal fronts, ahead of next year’s budget and the upcoming general elections.

“We will bring a one-time amnesty scheme,” said the prime minister, confirming recent reports that the government was working on a scheme to allow Pakistanis to declare their assets abroad.

Speaking at an event organised by the Pakistan Business Council (PBC), he said there was a need to lower tax rates, bring wealthy individuals into the tax net and push deeper tax reforms.

Another way could be the use of technology, with the help of the National Database and Registration Authority (Nadra) to identify prospective taxpayers to address the country’s fiscal challenges, he said."

------------------------------------------------------

The PM is talking about lowering of the tax rates in general for everyone to broaden the tax base .... and I agree with that.

I haven't read anything saying that you will pay 1% tax for declaring your foreign assets. And introducing an amnesty scheme can be a tool in a country like Pakistan to broaden the tax base. We need to understand that it is better to pay taxes which are documented ........ than to pay more taxes indirectly which don't get documented to your credit ....... and people keep telling you that you don't pay taxes.

Promote this everywhere as much as you can. On social media, in public life, sitting with family etc etc etc.
Ye sale BC k bache janey se pehle sub kuch bech kha k jana chahte hain. Don't let them.

If anyone on this forum has media contacts, contacts in any governemnt agency, military. Spread this everywhere especially media. Demand them to stop.

They are going to close one gate for corruption and open 1000 more.
"ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi announced on Wednesday the government’s intentions to offer an amnesty scheme for Pakistanis to declare their foreign assets, and reduce tax rates to broaden the tax base and address challenges on the external and fiscal fronts, ahead of next year’s budget and the upcoming general elections.

“We will bring a one-time amnesty scheme,” said the prime minister, confirming recent reports that the government was working on a scheme to allow Pakistanis to declare their assets abroad.

Speaking at an event organised by the Pakistan Business Council (PBC), he said there was a need to lower tax rates, bring wealthy individuals into the tax net and push deeper tax reforms.

Another way could be the use of technology, with the help of the National Database and Registration Authority (Nadra) to identify prospective taxpayers to address the country’s fiscal challenges, he said."

The PM is talking about lowering of the tax rates in general for everyone to broaden the tax base .... and I agree with that.

I haven't read anything saying that you will pay 1% tax for declaring your foreign assets. And introducing an amnesty scheme can be a tool in a country like Pakistan to broaden the tax base. We need to understand that it is better to pay taxes which are documented ........ than to pay more taxes indirectly which don't get documented to your credit ....... and people keep telling you that you don't pay taxes.

Promote this everywhere as much as you can. On social media, in public life, sitting with family etc etc etc.
Ye sale BC k bache janey se pehle sub kuch bech kha k jana chahte hain. Don't let them.

If anyone on this forum has media contacts, contacts in any governemnt agency, military. Spread this everywhere especially media. Demand them to stop.

They are going to close one gate for corruption and open 1000 more.

O bai jazbati honay say phelay khabar to poori parh lo ........ article ka link dia hy click karo parho smajho aur phir bat karo ........... khamkha may her cheez ko ulta q lay laitay ho ............... Pakistanio.

But who has most amount of foreign assets?? These same mafias
O bai jazbati honay say phelay khabar to poori parh lo ........ article ka link dia hy click karo parho smajho aur phir bat karo ........... khamkha may her cheez ko ulta q lay laitay ho ............... Pakistanio.

But who has most amount of foreign assets?? These same mafias

You never know ........ I have seen enough idiots riding big cars, not of nowhere. And what other method is there to bring it to light? And broaden the tax base based on the declared assets? Do you want your country to play panama iqama forever? Hadn't we have enough of time wasted on panama and iqama? Don't you realise these leaked disclosures obstruct everything for a common Pakistani ..... from Justice to policing ..... and their everyday life as everyone gets occupied with shiz and common Pakistani gets raped and killed everyday.

Normally, these kind of amnesty schemes are brought to save some big wigs.. If it is an amnesty scheme, the tax rate will be extremely low (if not 1%). Pakistani residents having properties abroad declare these assets by merely paying very low tax.. however, a side effect that comes with this amnesty is no one.. i repeat no one can question the source of assets.. Now that we have a verdict (IK Vs Government) in which SC stated that IK didn't do any crime when he declared his assets in the amnesty scheme, this verdict will give licence to everyone to do the same..

In comparison, undeclared assets means that either they are earned through haraam money, or the money which wasn't taxed, but laundered abroad.. These kind of assets should be confiscated all together.

You never know ........ I have seen enough idiots riding big cars, not of nowhere. And what other method is there to bring it to light? And broaden the tax base based on the declared assets? Do you want your country to play panama iqama forever? Hadn't we have enough of time wasted on panama and iqama? Don't you realise these leaked disclosures obstruct everything for a common Pakistani ..... from Justice to policing ..... and their everyday life as everyone gets occupied with shiz and common Pakistani gets raped and killed everyday.

Wealth tax ki base tou bari hojegi.. income tou yeh log phir bhi declare nahi karaingay... lekin nothing can be compared to the confiscation of such assets..

These kind of assets should be confiscated all together.

Based on what, that in a country like Pakistan with its medieval laws? I think both of us know where our nation stands when it comes to moral courage and being just.

Wealth tax ki base tou bari hojegi.. income tou yeh log phir bhi declare nahi karaingay... lekin nothing can be compared to the confiscation of such assets..

Its not that easy now ....... good thing somehow we went online for taxation and its filing. The annual income limit for filing wealth reconciliation can be removed and made mandatory for everyone to file. The resultant statements would pretty much give the idea of how much one must be earning.

That is why there is little faith in this country for honest and straight forward people..unless these tax amnesty beneficiaries are fined heavily and also punished severely, the trend will not stop. Everyone feels at impunity doing corruption because they know a legal loop hole will be created to escape the arm of law.
But how to deal with it ? Most of the politicians are beneficiary

Sir if you dont have any idea about how these things work then kindly do not comment as you are Elite member..

Let me put important part again ..

"Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi announced on Wednesday the government’s intentions to offer an amnesty scheme for Pakistanis to declare their foreign "assets, and reduce tax rates to broaden the tax base and address challenges on the external and fiscal fronts, ahead of next year’s budget and the upcoming general elections."

Reduction in tax rates has nothing to do with amnesty scheme, you can reduce tax rate whenever you want. Reduction in tax rate was second part of the sentence.

First part clearly says AMNESTY SCHEME to DECLARE FOREIGN ASSETS ...

AMNESTY SCHEMES: are a forgiveness schemes.
DECLARATION: Are for something which were not shown as income earlier hecne something whose income are not from declared source.
FOREIGN ASSETS: It is specifically for foreign assets hence nobody will be able to track the source of income ... Prime beneficiary will be those who have bribery money laundered and now they can pay some tax and then consider it halal income ...
Lets put it this way, I get 10 million as bribery, I launder it to Dubai at a cost of 5%, and then I am asked to pay 35% (highest tax rate) under amnesty scheme, still I will be having 6 million as my legal income and nobody can say that I earn it through bribery, my assets will keep on increasing through my legal income while source of these will be bribery and cost of which was being paid by us in the form of taxes ...

Sir buhut ullu bana liya awam ko , I am talking with all the authority as an expert on the subject ...

So this is another Choona to the bewaqof jahil awaam ...

Sir if you dont have any idea about how these things work then kindly do not comment as you are Elite member..

Let me put important part again ..

Read it again ....... and then second time. Both times slowly and separating one sentence from another. What you did was pure sensationalist approach.

"Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi announced on Wednesday the government’s intentions to offer an amnesty scheme for Pakistanis to declare their foreign "assets, and reduce tax rates to broaden the tax base and address challenges on the external and fiscal fronts, ahead of next year’s budget and the upcoming general elections."

Obviously the PM is talking about Income tax and not any other tax ........ and income tax is basically on your annual income and not on your wealth (I can understand a layman confusing this but you?). So reducing the tax rates to broaden the tax base ... means? ..... G ... reducing the tax rate in general and making more people pay income tax.

And thank you for reminding me of being an Elite member here ........ that is one achievement that really reminds me of my uselessness.

It is a good step, wont help with past black money, but may stem generation of fresh black money. Plus, at least past black money wud now become white.

India tried the reverse approach in 2016, but the penal rates were so high that only a few thousand crores were realised. It was a complete flop.

MNS is approaching the problem in a more practical manner.

Regards