Deep Religiosity, Extreme Ignorance!

Karl Max is supposed to have said:

Religion is the sigh of an oppressed creature.
Also
Religion is like an alluring sun which revolves around a man until he begins to revolve around himself.

IMO these saying apply to those who believe more in the following the rituals and less what is in fact “essence” of religion.

Over the ages religion has been exploited and misinterpreted by various scholars, mostly to their benefit or benefit of their benefactors. Christianity is the worst. Pray tell me how can one honestly justify Crusades when Christ has supposed to have said that you should offer your second cheek to the one who slapped you. Christ also said numerous times that ‘Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth’. The Neo Cons believe in retribution instead.

Regret to say that Islam has fared no better. I have not come across any where that wealth or living in comfort is un Islamic. On the contrary “forsaking the world and taking up religion alone, in other words, monasticism and celibacy is un Islamic. However you hear ever so often that this world is only a short passing phase so you need to worry about next everlasting life only.

To my simple mind this goes against essence of Islam. Looking at the life of the holy Prophet (PBUH) and some of his followers; one would come to conclusion the Islam teaches you to enjoy this world as well as ensure going to heaven thru good deeds. Islam therefore wants you share your wealth, give alms to the needy, perform Hajj, practice Adl and treat others kindly. Islam allows eating and drink (not wine) as long as you don’t overdo it and allows you to legally enjoy four women at a time. There are very few examples of actual cruelty during the Rashideen.

Salafeen and Wahabis only follow Isalm as interpreted by Imam Hanbal rather by the Imam ibne Timiyah who came 500 years after the Rashideen. Thus you see nothing but cruelty and ruthlessness. Takfiris have reduced Islam’s teaching to nothing but “Qataal” or shedding of blood of anyone who holds different views.

Until Sheikh Syed Qutub of Egypt (died 1966); Suicide was considered 'haraam' in Islam. Now it is an everyday occurrence. Pray tell me, would you follow teachings Quran and the Prophet (PBUH) or those of Syed Qutub? Did you see any JI or any Deobandi scholar condemning suicide bombing?

Taliban obviously feel that Syed Qutub takes precedence over the holy Prophet (PBUH).
Don’t think education will make any difference, because to these people education means getting certificate from a madrassah.

I therefore believe that Islam as practiced by Taliban, JI and the extremists is a version which only stresses on ruthlessness and oppression. You call it ‘deep religiousness’ I call it bigotry. If my views make me a kafir, so be it.

Actually, it's probably niether. They are probably using Islam as a political force because they control the education- for example, Islam does not tell you that women aren't allowed to go to school, but what do the Taliban teach?

They might full well know what Islam teaches them, but its called hypocrisy.

Christianity and Americans DONT go together. In fact, Christianity probably feels offended being associated to Americans.

The average American doesn't even know the meaning of Christmas and the only reason they take part is for 'gift-giving' and 'Santa Claus' and other mumbo-jumbo that has nothing to do with Christianity.

They have to make a religious event "fun" so that people would take part. For example on Easter, a holiday that has NOTHING to do with eggs, the whole country paints a bunch of eggs and hides them around and start egg-hunts. AS IF THAT HAS ANYTHING TO DO WITH JESUS'S RESURRECTION. LOL. ...........
In other words, lazy, spoiled, and just plain embarrassing to Christianity.

Yeah, you have a point there. Most early settlers to the British North American colonies from Europe were driven out of Europe due to religious persecution. The early settlers were driven out due their non conformism. Although England renounced religious persecution in 1689, it persisted on the European continent. Religious persecution, as observers in every century have commented, is often bloody and implacable and is remembered and resented for generations.

This is the foundation of religious non conformism, on which the social structure of USA is based. It does not mean that they do not believe in Christianity, they do. But they are simply not too fussy about it.

In a way this lack of rigidity in their religious beliefs is what has made
America a great multicultural society. So nothing wrong there. I think they are in step with the times.

Christianity and Americans DONT go together. In fact, Christianity probably feels offended being associated to Americans.

The average American doesn't even know the meaning of Christmas and the only reason they take part is for 'gift-giving' and 'Santa Claus' and other mumbo-jumbo that has nothing to do with Christianity.

They have to make a religious event "fun" so that people would take part. For example on Easter, a holiday that has NOTHING to do with eggs, the whole country paints a bunch of eggs and hides them around and start egg-hunts. AS IF THAT HAS ANYTHING TO DO WITH JESUS'S RESURRECTION. LOL.

There is a sizable percentage of those who do go to church, who do take part in prayer and congregation, and even do fast. Sure, a bunch do believe in Jehovah/God/Upper-being, and the concept of Hell and Heaven, but do nothing further than that. No fasting, no prayer, but a giant gold cross hanging from their necks to show off.

In other words, lazy, spoiled, and just plain embarrassing to Christianity.

HEY, just because we dont kill each other over religion or have blasphemy laws, blow up mosques or lot of other things Pakistan does, dont mean we dont take religion serious.

Here's an excerpt of how the BBC is reporting the Ayodhya verdict:

In a majority verdict, judges gave control of the main disputed section, where a mosque was torn down in 1992, to Hindus.

Other parts of the site will be controlled by Muslims and a Hindu sect.

Allahabad High Court is trying to create a false appearance of Solomon's wisdom by ordering what is being advertised as "split-the-baby" verdict.

In reality, though, the court has wrongly sided with the violent Hindutva outfits in practice by giving the main site where Babri masjid stood to Hindus.

Let's hope and pray that this latest verdict does not lead to more innocent blood being shed because of an unwise and unjust court ruling favoring the Hindu provocateurs and perpetrators of the crime of demolishing Babri mosque in 1992 and subsequent massacres of Muslim minority.

BBC News - Ayodhya verdict: Indian holy site 'to be divided'

In a majority verdict, judges gave control of the main disputed section, where a mosque was torn down in 1992, to Hindus.

Allahabad High Court is trying to create a false appearance of Solomon's wisdom by ordering what is being advertised as "split-the-baby" verdict.

In reality, though, the court has wrongly sided with the violent Hindutva outfits in practice by giving the main site where Babri masjid stood to Hindus.

Let's hope and pray that this latest verdict does not lead to more innocent blood being shed because of an unwise and unjust court ruling favoring the Hindu provocateurs and perpetrators of the crime of demolishing Babri mosque in 1992 and subsequent massacres of Muslim minority.

This is the quality of journalism in BBC? Tell this fellow to become a literate first. The verdict pronounced is a title suit, it has nothing to do with demolition or other crimes associated with it. Those cases are still under trial. The title suit is different and is around a hundred year old case.

P.S. At least, spare the judges of your "deep religiosity and extreme ignorance" encirclement.

Your tone and you prayers are contradicting each other. India has matured and progressed a lot since 1992, Contrary to the expectations of some on this forum, by and large the situation is peaceful. And whoever is disappionted with the verdict has the right to appeal in the supreme court.

Advani and other major Hindutva leaders have welcome the verdict and vowed to build "Ram Temple" on two-thirds of the disputed land awarded to them by an extremely unwise and politically motivated decision of the Allahabad Court.

Here's the Breaking News report:

Breaking News! Veteran BJP Leader LK Advani, who spearheaded the Ram Mandir (Ram Temple) movement in the 1990s, welcomed the Allahabad High Court's verdict on Ayodhya land. Advani hailed the High Court for acknowledging the disputed site as Lord Ram (Ram Lalla)'s birth place.

BJP welcomes Ayodhya Verdict, Advani terms it Historic

It's clear that justice has not been done in this case. Whoever may have the title to the land, the fact is that this place had a standing masjid which was demolished illegally by Hindu hooligans. Hopefully, the Supreme Court will do a better job in its review.

Advani and other major Hindutva leaders have welcome the verdict and vowed to build "Ram Temple" on two-thirds of the disputed land awarded to them by an extremely unwise and politically motivated decision of the Allahabad Court.

Here's the Breaking News report:

Breaking News! Veteran BJP Leader LK Advani, who spearheaded the Ram Mandir (Ram Temple) movement in the 1990s, welcomed the Allahabad High Court's verdict on Ayodhya land. Advani hailed the High Court for acknowledging the disputed site as Lord Ram (Ram Lalla)'s birth place.

Where exactly did you read "vowed to build a temple". Putting up incomplete parts of the report to mislead readers amounts to lying by ommission. Here's the full version-

Breaking News! Veteran BJP Leader LK Advani, who spearheaded the Ram Mandir (Ram Temple) movement in the 1990s, welcomed the Allahabad High Court's verdict on Ayodhya land.

Advani hailed the High Court for acknowledging the disputed site as Lord Ram (Ram Lalla)'s birth place. The HC divided the land into three parts - among Nirmohi Akhara, Babri Action Committee and Ram Lalla.
"BJP is grateful to the country for accepting the historic verdict. It's a positive verdict. The verdict will open a new chapter for national integration," said Advani.
Advani also said that the Ayodhya judgment upholds the Hindus' rights to build a Ram Temple in Ayodhya. He also pointed to the fact that the verdict was based on the ASI survey, which was set up the BJP-led NDA government.
Meanwhile, Gujarat CM Narendra Modi has welcomed the Ayodhya Verdict and said that decks have been cleared for the construction of a Ram Temple in Ayodhya.

Moreover the BJP's stand is not to politicise the issue. What should we say: Twisting facts to support your cause?

BJP will not play politics with Ayodhya, says Gadkari

Where exactly did you read "vowed to build a temple". Putting up incomplete parts of the report to mislead readers amounts to lying by ommission. Here's the full version-

Moreover the BJP's stand is not to politicise the issue. What should we say: Twisting facts to support your cause?

BJP will not play politics with Ayodhya, says Gadkari

With mass murderers like Modi welcoming the Allahabad court verdict, it brings nothing but shame to India's judiciary and the much-hyped secular democracy.

HEY, just because we dont kill each other over religion or have blasphemy laws, blow up mosques or lot of other things Pakistan does, dont mean we dont take religion serious.

>implying any of that has anything to do with being religious